The Punisher (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
349 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Best Netflix series
ben210410 October 2018
Whilst I really loved the new Netflix series MANIAC

the punnisher starts off slow Then builds to become a powerhouse of glorious revenge The acting is superb Gore is great. Better than both movies that were released previously

Waiting for HELLBOY series if it ever arrives
31 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well written but not for a younger audience
northfacingphotography11 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I have enjoyed most of the Marvel Netflix series. In Daredevil season 2 part of the side story involves meeting Frank Castle. I don't know if that is a spoiler but the box is checked just in case. I am very familiar with the comics and find people who "demand" it to be just like the comics difficult to deal with because there are different versions and years of source material to accommodate. This Punisher seems to fit well into the TV universe that Marvel and Netflix have created. I found the characters engaging and the use of characters like Karen Page welcome. It has been my favorite of the non Daredevil shows. Luke Cage, Jessica Jones, and Iron Fist all seemed lacking to me yet I did enjoy them. The Defenders was good but not Punisher good. This isn't for a younger audience but for adults this is a great narrative of a tragic vigilante that just wanted justice. Jon Bernthal was a perfect cast for this role and I can believe and relate to the character the way he portrays him. The previous film versions lacked that. I hope they keep Punisher in the rotation for new series.
47 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Real Punisher
turixrios8 November 2018
John Berthal is THE punisher; what else can I say? He is a great actor that portrays the characters emotions perfectly.

Also, this show is written very well, and includes great fight scenes. From the Marvel/Netflix shows, this is my second favorite. I love the dark tone.

S1- 9.0 S2-

My rating: 9/10
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great live action representation of The Punisher
zombielilith8 September 2018
I'm a huge fan of The Punisher comic books so I was a little wary of a live action version given previous disappointments. I was impressed with how the introduction of the character in Daredevil contained scenes straight out of the comic. The Punisher tv series also didn't disappoint. I think the casting of Jon Bernthal was perfect and he plays the role brilliantly. Although not completely true to the written version, the tv version of Frank Castle and his story is enjoyable (and brutal) and I look forward to watching season 2. Ben Barnes is also great as Billy 'the beaut' Russo aka Jigsaw.
31 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Read the comics for 20 years
justinlawcoomer22 December 2017
Finally Punisher done right! After so many fails from other film companies Netflix decides to go all out and almost perfect it. They almost pull him right out of the comic which could not have been easy, from the deep yells as he unloads his guns on the bad guys to the twitch of a man who is now disturbed but slightly keeping it together to the tie in of the Punishers mane nemesis. This show is the best Netflix Marvel show hands down. All of the main characters are great!
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fantastic dark first season
alindsay-al24 December 2017
After his brilliant role in daredevil season 2 it was clear that the punisher was set for great things and now his show has aired and it is fantastic really delivering on the character. The premise of the the season sees a former marine on the hunt for the people responsible for the death of his family. Jon bernthal reprises his role of Frank Castle and he totally owns the character, he nails the depth and complexity of the punisher and how it really takes a tole emotionally on him. He doesn't hold back whether it is the dramatic scenes or the action scenes you just know he loves this character and how he can delve right into it. Ben Barnes plays Billy Russo on the show and ex army ally of Castle and he was a really interesting character on the show. He clearly has his own agenda but you can see he cares about Frank and how there relationship progresses is a major highlight of the show. Another major highlight of the show is the chemistry between Castle and micro played by ebon moss bachrach, they bounce off of each other really well and add some good humour between the two of them. Amber rose revah plays a member of homeland security and she is good in the role, at first I wasn't particularly invested in her character but as time goes on she becomes more and more interesting. The story is a simple revenge tale that no matter how dark Frank gets you always are on his side which is done really well by the show. The show also deals with PTSD very well and shows that it is a real issue in everyday society not just in this universe. However, I found as the episodes went on the story becomes a little bit predictable and it does hurt the suspense sometimes as it isn't there. The script is really good with the dramatic dialogue all really working especially with the serious subject matters that are treated well. As mentioned before the humour is surprisingly really well done to add humanity too the majority of the cast which really helps. Onto the style which may be the star of this show, the action scenes are sometimes breathtaking with the action feeling real but keeping in contact with its comic book origins. Also this film is the most bloody that marvel has ever done and it is completely ideal for this character. Overall I love this first season of this show and if you love this universe and the character of the punisher this is a must watch.
42 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just see it
avishekchakrabortty9 October 2018
Wonderful action, brilliant story and it's totally worth of time. The suspense and and the character 'punisher' is just awesome. But Billy Russo was totally unexpected...
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent, Finally a good Marvel season on Netflix again
hansjs2 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It took me a couple months to finally watch this because of some bad reviews I read. I was also pretty disappointing with the Iron Fist and Defenders series, so I was pretty much ready to check out of the Netflix Marvel franchise altogether. Turns out, this was a great series. They did a good job of telling a story, while also repeatedly reminding you why Castle becomes who he does. Easily the most violence in a Netflix Marvel series so far, but a level of storytelling more on par with Season 1 of Daredevil or Jessica Jones.

Minor spoiler.....I was thrilled that they didn't shoehorn Rosario Dawson into this series.
24 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This Marvel series is beyond EXCEPTIONAL
cocada-736842 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I binge watched this show the day that it came out because I'm a huge fan of Jon Bernthal's career, and this Netflix original isn't an exception. First things first, Bernthal is the perfect person to play the depressed, bloodlusted, confused Frank Castle. His vocal performance and his facial expresssions are amazing. SPOILER ALERT there's a scene where he's reminiscing in his bed and his wife starts to have a conversation with him because he's just gotten home from war. When she goes to leave the room, she's then shot by two masked men and it doesn't show her getting shot but it cuts to Frank's face and he just shocked and filled with sheer terror when his wife's blood sprays on his face. This is one of those moments where I believe that Bernthal found the best role he'll ever play. And the conversations that he has with his partner Micro are sometimes hilarious and sometimes dark for the both of them. There one conversation where they're both extremely drunk and Micro just loses it and starts peeling back Franks layers like an onion. SPOILER ALERT Micro then says that he's going to the police and all the things that he says about Frank only having a war and violence inside of him because his family was murdered is correct because Frank goes up to him and knocks him out to stop him from telling the police so Frank can end it all by himself through murder. There are some episode where it may seem slow but at least for me it always has my attention. My favorite episode by far was the eighth episode because it introduce multiple plot lines involving terrorism, political and social issues suck and vets coming home and not having a place in the world anymore and then there's what the policy of of marine is and what they'll do to fight for its. This subplot goes on to episode eleven then it goes back to the main storyline. The big finale is episodic and well worth the wait. Frank is always one step ahead of his opponents and he has everything in place for the ending that he wants, SPOILER ALERT he wants to die but have enough evidence to put the people that killed him and his eniemies in jail for life. This is not the ending that he gets because his friend Micro betrays his promise and tell homeland security where this big finale is occurring at and they arrive there after one of Frank's old friends (who's one of his enemies now, Billy Russo) let's Frank go to kill one of the men who was beating Frank's senselessly. Billy is about to shot Frank for telling the police but he's sot in the arm and runs away. Frank is then fading away and going to the light which is his wife but Micro doesn't let him and bring him to help which is one of the homeland security members parents. Frank then most lye gets fixed up then goes on a big chase after Billy Russo which lead him through some of Frank's friends then to a spot that is very important to the both of them, a carnival carousel where Frank and his family and Billy would go. Billy then finds two workers and SPOILER ALERT ties them up to the Carousel with they're wrist slit as bait for Frank to try to save them. Frank's tried to save them but Billy just starts shooting Frank time after time and he has the upper hand for a while until Frank gets some help. Homeland agent Madina then arrive and gets shot instantaniously by Billy Russo. When he turns around to shot her, Frank's gets the upper hand and stabs him in the stomach with a shard of glass, he then repeatedly knocks Billy's head on a carousel mirror about seven times, then he drags Billy's face down the mirror in the most brutal fashion. He turns Billy around and Billy tells Frank to just kill him because of how horrifying he looks. SPOILER ALERT Frank almost kills him but then second guesses himself and tell Billy that he's the only one of his targets who's not going to get off so easy with death because he betrayed him and got his family killed. Frank then knocks Billy out on the glass and a shard gets stuck in his grotesque face and we get a close up. What I enjoyed so much about this scene if Frank is exerting his revenge into someone who betrayed him and you can really feel all of the emotions hat Frank is feeling because of everything that's happened to him because of Billy. He then goes on to save the kids and Madina and her family repays him with is previous alias of Pete Castilliogne so that he can keep on living his life because of the justice he served. Frank's heals quickly and so does Madina,but as they're talking about Billy we see that his head is wrapped in gauze because of how disfigured he is. They also talk about how he lost most of his brain functionality but they hope that when he wakes up (if he ever does) that he'll remember everything that Frank and Madina did to him. Frank is then asked to go to dinner with Micros family but he ditches and goes to this Veteren group that had them talk about what it like to live in a world where they don't belong anymore and Frank gives his speech and the shows first season is over. I know that this isn't the most thorough review but it's what I believe is the best part of this series provided as what I believe is the best Marvel series to ever happen.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
savage!
Here_2_Review22 October 2018
I feel that there coulda been less of a drama show tone, but most of this show still manages to be savage, dark, and super gritty! This is the Punisher that we need! Bernthal is the PERFECT Punisher in every possible way. His battle cries are amazing, his fighting is brutal and graphic, among several other things The acting from the cast is FANTASTIC! I have not seen any other version of Punisher in live action, but as far as I am concerned, Jon is my Frank Castle!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Punishment has begun
PoetriesMelody29 December 2017
Well written, well acted. with great scenes and action sequences it is hard to not like this series, as a guy whom has read many many comics over the years it certainly lifts them up as the show brings something towards the comics. a great performance done by Jon as The Punisher. since i have seen him in other TV shows/movies i knew he could play the role well.

we explore what makes the Punisher and what he is made of in this series. we see his back grounds and we see his perspectives as the show continues. the chemistry between characters is done well especially with Karen. All in all a great series and is right up there in the front lines with Daredevil and i look forward to the next season for sure
40 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Almost perfect
lereniu29 November 2017
I would've given this show a 10 out of 10, however the SJW lines kinda cut me off in 2 or 3 places, luckily not to many. It seems that the SJW language is pushed lately by Hollywood and associates to brainwash the new generations.

Regarding the character Jon Bernthal nails it, I cannot imagine anyone playing it better then him. He shapes the character in the smallest details, every emotion is real.
203 out of 431 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
close to perfect
Bennett_899 February 2018
I can't believe the amount of negative reviews on here. The same people moaning that this is slow and boring are the same people that would moan if there was no character building or if there was a lack of storyline or decent plot.

Shows can't just go in all guns-blazing with no context. It wouldn't make sense! even if the show is about a vigilante hell bent on taking down everyone that has ever done him wrong or crossed him in any way. I actually have read reviews from others saying it is boring and they gave up after a couple of episodes! how can you judge a show on a couple of episodes? not even giving it a chance to develop and I feel sorry these people. If they don't give shows more of a chance and judge that early in then they're going to miss out on a lot of epic scenes and lots of fantastic finales (trust me when I say that The Punisher provides one epic finale). even if you are in agreement with others and feel The Punisher is a little slow to start I would urge you to carry on as the rewards are huge!

But I digress. The main reason I wanted to write this review was to say that I feel they got the casting of the Frank Castle spot on, Jon Bernthal plays the role extremely well. You can see the pain in his eyes, he brings out all the emotions associated with the Castle/the punisher. He is a man that will stop at nothing to take down the men that have done him wrong, he has nothing to lose and doesn't care if his actions result in his demise. I loved him when he appeared in Daredevil which meant i couldn't wait for this series to hit Netflix. There is one scene in particular in Daredevil where Bernthal's acting blew me away, he really did make you understand what he felt, which isn't easy considering he is portraying a man who has lost everything he has and lives only for revenge. Going back to this and Bernthal's own screen chemistry with ally David Leiberman (Ebon Moss-Bachrach) is really great. They share some great scenes together and even provide some comedic moments. Ultimately though it is a raw, brutal series. There is some brilliant bits of gore as well, especially in the last 2 episodes of the season, with some incredibly intense scenes. overall it doesn't hold back, I would say it is very much in the same mould Marvel's other Netflix series. For me Daredevil and The Punisher are far superior to the other Marvel options available with Jessica Jones coming in 3rd.
43 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This punisher is the best one ! I love it
ruhsa27 December 2017
This is quite possibly one of the best Netflix series ever made. Easily the best when it comes to the marvel offerings.The story is woven brilliantly painfully. Some of the items are a bit predictable, but thats the case with Hollywood. This is one of the most action-filled shows I've ever seen. struggling now to figure out whats "next" to watch. Frank Castle/The Punisher is one of the best anti-hero characters ever written.The Punisher, as portrayed by Jon Bernthal, is an excellent and realistic rendering of a Marvel comic vigilante. Finally, someone really took the time to develop a character that we can relate to as a human.I understand why people voted this low. They have no brains, they don't care for storytelling, and they don't like movies with guns and knives.

The people that called this show slow are the people that like Michael Bay movies. They want fast, fast, fast payoff to everything. They don't understand how a story is built--especially an origin story. Ben Barnes was great as Billy Russo. Ebon Moss-Bachrach was a well done Mi cro. Amber Rose Revah was solid as the Homeland agent Dinah Madani. Paul Schulze was good as the CIA baddie Rawlins, and really everyone else in the cast was solid to great. I also loved seeing Deborah Ann Woll return as Karen Page (only wish they had her pop up more during the season).

All-in-all this is one of the best shows from the Marvel Netflix line up. And I'm always going to be a bigger Punisher fans.
43 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
lucaskauffman12 September 2018
This is probably the best if not the greatest portrayal of The Punisher I have ever seen.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing show(The punisher)
ruhsa28 December 2017
This is quite possibly one of the best Netflix series ever made. Easily the best when it comes to the marvel offerings.

This is definitely the first time that Frank Castle has been portrayed well. He's a multi- dimensional character living through the pain, sorrow, and regret of his past. He's fighting with the demons of whats left in his life. The Punisher, as portrayed by Jon Bernthal, is an excellent and realistic rendering of a Marvel comic vigilante. Finally, someone really took the time to develop a character that we can relate to as a human, Amazing show, really worth every second. Hope this one will get all the credits it deserves. It keeps on going with a really good and fascinating, exciting way of building up tension, and is never boring.

Everyone should watch this new top show!

My rating is 10/10
39 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Welcome back, Frank.
woodgatejack-sfr3 December 2017
I had reservations when I heard that they were going to do a series of The Punisher. In my opinion, he can be a pretty one-note character:- Find the bad guys, kill them in a variety of gruesome ways, and repeat. Not only that, but I find he works best when he guest-stars in another characters comic or TV show, either to have is askew morality and brutal methods go against those of heroes like Spider-man, Captain America or, as was the case with the Netflix series in which this incarnation of Frank Castle debuted, Daredevil. Otherwise, just for the effect of "OMG, The Punisher's turned up! It's just got real!" Not only that, but after recent events, how well would I warm to a series that could potentially glorify gun violence.

However, I was pleasantly surprised by Netflix's The Punisher. This incarnation gave us a version of the character that was nuanced, without feeling the character had been (too) diluted.

The story also deals with the political questions that may be raised by such a character and doesn't shy away from the issue, but at the same time doesn't offer simple moral solutions or preaching.

Some fans may be unhappy that every episode isn't just Frank killing bad guys in inventive ways. I'm of the opinion that less is more and when the violence does come into play it's all the more effective because of it.
39 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best Marvel show out there.
vonepe31 December 2017
What can i say, the show is good, great story, great action, good effects. Best Marvel show out there at this point, after this DareDevil, then Luka Kage. Be sure to look DareDevil first, i hope Marvel will keep this show running for a while. It has a great fan base, great rating on many sites. John is the perfect chosen Frank Castle char. out there!
32 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing show, must-watch
xiegerry18 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Hats off to Jon Bernthal for adding depth to the man behind the Punisher, portraying Frank in the way that he does. Deep, flawed, and human, Bernthal expresses Frank's turmoil and anguish without turning him into some one-dimensional asshole. The supporting cast, especially the interaction between him and his "sidekick", and that with the HS agent and the other dude.

The story itself is exceptionally well-paced, had me on the edge of my seat, the scenes well-cut and supporting cast well-acted. The series remains faithful to the revenge plot the Punisher is known for, but what I found more interesting and deserving of the high rating is how we see the stories of veterans and those suffering PTSD and how they deal with them woven seamlessly into the overarching story.
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Back to reality. This is exactly what the Marvel TV universe needed
manginoya3 December 2017
Ever since Frank Castle appeared in Daredevil, I and a lot of other fans were waiting for a solo outing of The Punisher.

Good news is it doesn't disappoint at all.

Background: We all have been following the Marvel TV universe Daredevil made a smashing debut. I have mentioned in my 'The Defenders' review that the quality was deteriorating as the shows progressed. Daredevil and Jessica Jones were great. In fact, Daredevil season 2 is still the best of the lot. But then Luke Cage was very average. Iron fist and The Defenders were disastrous.

Now onto The Punisher.

Acting: Jon Bernthal was born to play this role. He is great in the emotional scenes, action and in the lighter moments with a hacker Micro played by Ebon Moss-Bachrach. A great performance by him too. The scenes where he is watching his family through cameras are heartbreaking. But Ben Barnes playing Billy Russo was the standout. He added layers to his performance episode after episode. Amber Rose Revah is not good as the Homeland Security agent. She was the weakest link here. The role had potential, but the actress was just not good enough.

Direction and Editing: The direction was also good, there are not a lot of different directors used so the continuity is maintained throughout. Editing could have been better in the initial episodes. It's a bit of a slow burn. But if you are binge watching then it doesn't matter. After the 4th episode it is a roller coaster.

Story and screenplay: We know that this is all about revenge. And revenge needs a good build up. The story here builds up Frank's frustration and anger really well. It also touches upon the PTSD, not just for Frank but also all war veterans through a masterly handled side story of a 26 year old ex marine who is not able to cope with the normal life in the city. It also touches upon the gun control issue and I must say it was quite neutral which is good. There is healthy debate and some good points from both sides. In my opinion it was handled very well.

Cinematography and Action: The camera-work, especially in the action scenes is amazing. It revels in the gore. The action itself is pretty brutal and realistic. That's how it should be, because Frank is not a superhero like the Defenders. There are plenty of gun fights, snipers and hand-to-hand fights, all handled very well.

All in all, it is a return to form for Marvel TV universe. You can definitely binge watch this over the weekend. Take my word, you will not regret it.

Just a word of caution: If you cannot handle gore, it will be difficult for you to watch this.
37 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A series being both violent and romantic, with different ending solutions
BeneCumb5 January 2018
I was rather cautious of watching the series in question as the keyword MARVEL does usually not represesent the things I like; its different comics with superheroes - often unvaried - have congested cinemas and TV channels throughout the world, but I tend to like beating evil using mind and tools, not supernatural qualities. Luckily, The Punisher is a real action thriller, with multi-level conspiracies, seeking revenge, betrayals, love and hate, and many other strong feelings usually present and enabling to create a versatile work if played and directed well. The plot was not always smooth and included some unnecessary scenes (could have apparently been 1-2 episodes less), but good performances, inclusion of certain bombing, and low number of predictable scenes maintained the level of thrill and realistic atmosphere often fading away in many similar creations. And regarding the origin (comic) and the country of production (USA), I can easily rate The Punisher with 8 points and recommend it to all fond of similar works.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Best live action Punisher interpretation i've seen, but beware of Netflix virtue signaling
fgomme19 November 2017
First episode pulls you in instantly and makes you want to know more. I only watched Jessica Jones (tried to watch defenders but too boring) of the Netflix hero shows and it seems this comes close to it. But I have to mention, even in the first episode, Netflix lays it on thick "cracka" this, "white Christian" that and all that good stuff... I hope they let off on it in future episode or this one is going in the bin with the defenders.
251 out of 623 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Punisher Season 1 is Top Notch
Punter_Hunter15 September 2018
This is the 3rd marvel series i watched , i dont know what is their obsession with 13 episodes. Reducing few episodes can make it much more interesting. Its not much of the problem in The Punisher Season 1 but Daredevil Season 1 was too stretched that it could have ended well in 8 -9 episodes at max.

Moving on to Punisher, It starts with a bang. Punisher has killed all the cartel and goons and then living all on his own as a construction worker living in same ghost of past. He gets followed by David Lieberman who tells him that his family was killed because of what happened in Kandahar and then starts his mission along with David Lieberman to find the real culprit and avenge the death of his family. The series moves on as mission from one link to other and than to the real man or the head .

What differentiate this from Daredevil season 1 is that Punisher maintains its pace except at few places. There are twists and surprises that keeps one on their toes. Last 4 episodes are the best episodes . They are fast , things happen at great speed and makes one remain on the edge of the seat. I wasnt happy with one side track of Lewis Walcott but the way it ends was fab and made all my complains go away.

Everyone has acted very well. I loved the Background music and the loud music during the starting credits. Screenplay is good except that they would have made it shorter by an episode but its a minor glitch.

Jon Bernthall's act and the screenplay is so good that in the end when he beat and kill the villains i felt a big rush of adrenaline . All the blood and gory shown looks justified , such is the level of empathy that it feels like we got our revenge.

Some of my favourite scenes Scenes Between Frank and David's Kids David's reaction when He finds Frank almost dead Madani and Karen conversation Madani and James Marion conversation Frank- Punisher, killing the Last 2 culprits Lewis attack on Karen and senator Stan Ori

Most of these are in last 4 episodes and it will be really criminal if i exclude anything from those episodes as best moments.

Its dark and probably little slow but the screenplay and the acts of Jon Bernth, Ebon and Ben Barnes makes it a thrilling and an exciting ride with good twists and turns which give a good adrenaline rush. Would rate it 9/10 Waiting for season 2 :)
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Right up there with Daredevil
thegoatandhammer17 November 2017
Marvel's The Punisher is a brooding, greedy and brutal.

It's no secret to the fans of the character, that the image of Frank Castle has never gotten the proper treatment on the big screen. After seeing Jon Bernthal take on the role of Castle in the second season of Daredevil, I knew that I have finally witnessed the Punisher come to life in all of his glory. Jon Bernthal makes you forget the bad dream that was the 2004 movie with Thomas Jane, and even Ray Stevenson in the 2008 movie that had a good character, but was just a bad movie in general.

Jon Bernthal brings Frank Castle to life like we've never seen before; Brutal, focused, calculating, effective, but this human, still flesh and blood. He's broken, he's full of guilt, and you want him to win.

The show does a great job of making the character work, and the chemistry between Castle and Ebon Moss-Bachrach's David Lieberman really makes it stand out, and creates a source of comic relief in an otherwise very serious show. Just how dark and serious are we talking here? Well, the first laugh I had was around episode 4, and the show maintains a serious tone all the way through, reminding you that you're not watching the Disney version of Marvel, and not even the last Marvel shows on Netflix, this is Frank Castle, The Punisher, this is not for the faint of heart, this is not a kids show, this is not a family show. The Punisher was always the Marvel hero for young adults, never intended for children, it's bloody, brutal, and violent.

The show also talks about really heavy things that not a lot of shows dare to, like war veterans and how the system fails them, PTSD and how it's not treated properly, and stolen valor, something that people don't talk about enough, it's heavy, and hard to watch at times, but it's also incorporated very well into the script.

I'm glad this show didn't fall victim to the PC culture, this is currently one of the best shows on Netflix, and the best adaptation of The Punisher to date. If you're a fan of the Punisher, you must watch this show, but stay away if you didn't yet watch Daredevil, just to cover all the plot points.

My only problem with it, is that it gets a little predictable, not hiding the plot twists very well.
181 out of 451 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show
zombiji14 October 2018
So glad this score had picked up - it's likely the ones disliking this show had other expectations for it that it did not meet. See it as a standalone show! It's amazing, especially the combat sequences and I love the gritty noir vibe. Can't wait for the 2nd season
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed