Lady Bird (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
552 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
a touching throwback to the adolescent years
Special-K8811 March 2018
In the year 2002, Catholic high school senior Christine McPherson, self-named 'Lady Bird,' is an impetuous girl literally from the wrong side of the tracks who is at a critical stage in her life: she's continually at odds with her mother, she despises her mundane life in Sacramento, and she wants to go to college on the east coast in a city with culture. Her ordinary life suddenly takes a turn when she has to deal with popularity, discovering boys and romance, and coping with the problems of people other than her own. Cute, quirky, and thoughtful coming-of-age story is one everyone can relate to, with the all-important themes of teen angst, adolescence, and ambition; colorful dialogue, well-drawn characters, and believable situations are only elevated by a talented cast of actors. Twenty-three-year-old Ronan perfectly embodies the spirit of a self-absorbed teenager in all her complexities, making it easy for viewers to recall a similar time period in their lives. ***
66 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A truly remarkable coming-of-age comedy
tmpsvita19 February 2018
A truly remarkable coming-of-age comedy, above all for its sincere, credible nature and it is not at all easy to be honest and sincere with a film of this kind, for the simple reason that in most cases these "coming- of-age "are often filled with clichés, stereotypes and commonplace, and more often than not they base their foundations precisely on these things. In doing so they are not credible and absolutely forgettable. Well this is not the case. The merit of an extraordinary script that is impeccably written, it is a mature, intelligent, often ironic, sweet, credible, intense and also very emotional script. Greta Gerwig manages this script in a superb way, despite her little experience (this is her second film as a director but first soloist) is extremely aware of the intensity of her film. The interpretations are also particularly notable and not only that of the protagonist, played by the talented Saoirse Ronan that with this role, in which she identifies perfectly, reaches its 3 nominations at the Oscars at only 23 years, it could be called a new Meryl Streep; but also the interpretations of the rest of the cast: from the young and promising Beanie Feldstein, to the most mature, and in this movie is also very good (so much to receive a nomination, the first in her career), Laurie Metcalf, up to two young masculine promises Lucas Hedges and Timothée Chalamet, both discovered only in these two years (the first in 2016 with his performance in "Manchester by the Sea" is the second this year with "Call me by your Name". Unfortunately, however, from an extraordinary beginning, extremely ironic, fun, fresh, the film lost itself a little towards the middle, which is a little heavy, and then it recover itself in the final. Watching it, it came back to me, given their similarity in terms of the theme and the rhythm, another coming-of-age of 2016, "The Edge of Seventeen", also an excellent film that unfortunately was relatively forgotten and ignored.
38 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A teen's life, in all its annoying realism
Semisonic5 March 2018
Fighting with your parents over your freedom to decide for yourself, struggling with financial difficulties, trying so hard to impress others to actually feel like people care about you and pay attention, doing the stupidest things out of fear of being rejected otherwise.

These things, and a million of other ones, are what an almost grown up human being's life is about. Well, maybe not everywhere and not for everyone, but most of us could surely relate to what Christine "Lady Bird" McPherson goes through. What Saoirse Ronan did to her character is no small feat. With her porcelain doll beauty and those pale blue eyes, she goes out of her typical closed and emotionally restrained character and becomes someone who yells and screams and laughs and cries and breaks things on screen, making Lady Bird so intense that it's unbearable at some points.

Making the character of Lady Bird so intense and hard to handle is probably both the film's best feature and its most serious flaw. In all the multitude of coming-of-age movies, the kid characters are mostly childish and they do dumb things often - but then some uncanny wisdom comes upon them and they grow up in our eyes and suddenly become reasonable and - let's be honest about this - tolerable at last. Lady Bird takes a slightly different road of dropping that sugarcoating and leaving Christine what she is - conflicted, hysterical, inconsistent and, damn, annoying! Just like the character of Christine's mother struggles to write her a letter and to choose words that would both be kind and ring true, so does the audience have a hard time accepting Lady Bird's edgy self. I certainly found it hard to do.

It's curious why we people love the coming-of-age stories. The kids watch them to see that someone does understand and does care about who they are, to see someone else who'd tell them that they are not alone. And we adults watch them to seek hope that those chaotic and erratic creatures we once gave birth to are indeed our kin and that sometime soon you'd get on the same page and would be able to actually talk to each other like responsible people.

In terms of promising the older generations a magical realm in which their progeny will be delivered to their hands all mature and stuff, Lady Bird isn't too reassuring. Nor does it promise us that kids secretly understand everything and it's just a lack of communication - because it's just not true. But there's one thing about this story that redeems all the facepalm moments you experience watching those kids do their kid stuff. That, just like the kids are not alone in their struggle, so aren't their parents. So there's no reason to blame the world on yourself and drown yourself in guilt and anger begotten by it - 'cause you're no more guilty than the other guy.

So, if you have a bird you love - just set it free, and if it loves you back, it will return some day and somehow.
55 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What All Movies Should Strive For- Brilliance
daveakarng21 March 2018
With such a vague description, I didn't know what to expect when watching Lady Bird. I had seen that it was nominated for some Oscars, so figured it must be good. It isn't good, it's fantastic.

Not everyone will enjoy this film as it's just not for everyone. Where Lady Bird stands out and why I believe it warrants 10 stars is that it mentally transports you to Lady Bird's world. You forget you're watching a movie because everything is done so well. I found myself feeling as though I was in the same room with the characters in this movie.

This is why we watch movies- to mentally go outside of our living rooms. Lady Bird achieves this. Best movie I've seen in a while.
59 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Character Is The Thing
damian-fuller18 December 2017
How refreshing and invigorating to meet new people. Familiar and new all at the same time. Familiar because the extraordinary Saorise Ronan connected me to her soul, as soon as she appeared on the screen. Remarkable. She is, without question, one of the best actresses of her generation. She has exceptional support here, Laurie Metcalf as the mother determined to keep her feelings at bay, Lucas Hedges, providing one of the most moving, truthful moments in the film and allowing Saorise Ronan to give us a masterful class in empathy. Timothee Chalamet proves in a very short space of time that he is here to stay. His Elio in Call Me By your Name will be considered one of the great breakthrough performances in film history. Tracy Letts plays the father with irresistible humanity and then, of course, a heartfelt congratulations to the writer, director Greta Gerwing -
136 out of 191 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Directorial debut !
Lewis_Heather78729 December 2017
When you hear all the fantastic praise that a new Oscar bait film is getting, you should probably watch it. Even though I'm personally not the target audience or demographic for this film I still ended up liking the film quite a bit.

The biggest accomplishment and positive in the film is the directing by Greta Gerwig, which for a first time directing is an outstanding achievement. You honestly would not be able to tell if this was directing by an all time great or a newcomer. She has done an amazing job directing the film in this regard it has no faults at all. With this being her first film she has an extremely bright and interesting future ahead and I'm definitely now keen to see what she does next.

The other main positive of the film are the performances which across the board are fantastic, however there are a couple of standouts. Firstly Saoirse Ronan who is fantastic in the film and brings such heart to the character of Lady Bird. For me personally this is one of her best performances that she has done and only increases her reputation. Hopefully this will open up the door for her to get bigger roles more often, she is brilliant. The other standout in the film is Lady Bird's mother played by Laurie Metcalf, she is again incredible in the role and brings elements to her character that I think everyone will recognise in their own mother. She hopefully will get some awards buzz and maybe even a nomination.

Unfortunately though and I know that this is my own personal problem and fault that I feel this is film maybe a little overrated. This is partially to due my fault because well this isn't my type of film, I know thats not the films fault. I could never really connect to the story of the film but again thats my own opinion and fault, but I can understand how and why people really do connect with the story. Lastly the film is good is just nothing amazing or ground breaking in any sense so thats where I'm a little......not disappointed...... let down by the film because I was expecting a lot more considering the praise.

Overall its 70% out of 100 or 7 out of 10 its a good film and its a brilliant starting point for Greta Gerwig's directing career. As well as bringing us great directing it gives us two great performances that will really leave an impression on you after watching it. However because I couldn't connect to the film that much it didn't hit me as hard as it should emotionally, but again thats my problem really not the films. Best directing Oscar Nomination?
49 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A beautiful coming of age movie
chaz-7686229 March 2018
I went into seeing this movie without any idea what this movie was about. I knew that it was a coming of age tale but that was about it. As I walked away, I knew I had just seen something great.

Firstly, the script was amazing. The dialogue between the characters was very flowing and felt very real. I felt invested in the characters and the situations they were going through because the script showed them as honest human beings. When a film does that, you know its good.

Secondly, the acting. The acting was so honest and down to earth that the characters became even more developed and towards the end I began to feel for them. They really sold the comic moments and the felling of growing up and discovering yourself.

Finally, the cinematography. While I was watching this I didn't pay too much the the cinematography, partly because I was more invested in the story, but upon thinking about it, it was beautiful. I was shot in a way that kept the audience interested for its whole run time and at no point was I thinking about anything else.

Overall, this film will go down as one of my favourites for being real, heart felt and beautiful.
44 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sacremento could be anywhere
billymeachen27 February 2018
The mother and daughter dynamic in this film is something I related to deeply in the context to the relationship I have with my father, this may have lead to me being a little bias in the affect the film goes for. Regardless, I must say, this is the best coming of age film I have seen in a long time. It has both as humbling scenes as it does tear shedding ones and throughout many of the situations and themes highlighted create this idea of being content with what you're given in life. You could argue that this is the "rich-people's problems" of melodramas, however, I would argue that as someone living in a border-line middle class family, that this reflects many people out there. The film highlights themes of, being outdated and replaced as well as, coming to terms with growing and accepting those who care for you. The one major detractor I would say the film has is a sub-plot whereby Lady-Bird tries to be part of the 'cool kid' group and has it come to spite her in the end. Overall though, I would say that as this film had such a personal effect on me I would highly recommend it to anyone. And like I said, you might possibly feel like you're living in the dull town of Sacremento too.
57 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Surprisingly enjoyable coming out of age tale
nikhilrampal28 February 2018
This may be the most poorly marketed movie. Awful trailer. Awful poster.

And so, I thank both the academy and golden globes (Something I've always wanted to say) for forcing me to watch this movie due to its accolades because i wouldn't have otherwise.

I would definitely recommend this movie. Quietly funny, emotional and very relatable.
58 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sorry...
enterprise7714 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I wish I could agree with the high-scoring reviews, but I cannot. This movie seemed flat, monotone, mildly entertaining. The lead was perfunctory...another disgruntled teen who desperately wants to get out of her home town and fly to the East Coast "where there is culture". New Hampshire and culture? Hmmm... Lady Bird clashes with her mom (Laurie Metcalf...who deserves 10 stars by herself). So, a teen clashes with her mom...wow...news flash. Dad loses his job...and seems to be just fine with that, even though they are running out of money. Weird. The supporting cast seems to be chosen to complete a requisite menu of characters: the overweight but beautiful-inside best friend, the gorgeous and wealthy but shallow new friend, the handsome but...surprise...gay boy. Somehow this lack of originality does not drive a strong story line. The crash and burn ending is, well, the only twist in this story...so, back home she goes, and realizes she really does love Sacramento. Perhaps Sacramento is a metaphor for almost every town in America, but the story never hints at that. So, sorry, this one just did not resonate with me.
284 out of 428 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Dream Start To Greta Gerwig's Directorial Career
CinemaClown16 March 2018
Exuding passion, affection & honesty throughout, Greta Gerwig's solo directorial debut is a labour of love that's heartfelt, nostalgic, whimsical, amusing & above all, genuine. Crafted with care, told with sincerity & radiating a sense of warmth from the first frame to the last, Lady Bird is an amalgamation of everything that one would imagine Greta Gerwig to be.

Set in 2002 in Sacramento, California, the story of Lady Bird follows a 17-year old high school senior who longs to attend college in a city that has culture. The plot covers her final year at high school where she participates in a theatre program, has a series of first-time experiences, and starts applying for out-of-state colleges in order to get away from her family & small town life.

Written & directed by Greta Gerwig, every aspect of Lady Bird screams her name right down to the bone. Every moment, every character, every interaction, every creative choice carries her signature. It's so tightly knitted with Gerwig's persona that the film defines her and she defines this film. And that gives it a uniqueness, an authenticity & an originality that's rarely found in a debut effort.

All the characters & their respective arcs exhibit sufficient depth & richness, their interaction carries a real vibe too, and their actions are just as relatable. The early 2000s setting is wonderfully recreated with era-specific fashion & musical trends and it captures that cusp of adulthood moment with finesse. Also present in high dosage is the quirkiness & effervescent wit that one associates with Greta Gerwig.

Despite all the coming-of-age elements, the core ingredient that drives Lady Bird from start to finish is the mother-daughter relationship and though we see them both arguing about the smallest of things, their underlying love is deeply felt at all times. Gerwig has created something that's personal, nostalgic & reminiscent of our own life and no matter how small or big, some part of it will strike a chord with almost every viewer.

Coming to the performances, Lady Bird packs a committed cast in Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Beanie Feldstein, Tracy Letts, Lucas Hedges & Timothee Chalamet, with Ronan & Metcalf impressing the most. Ronan brings a charm of her own to infuse life into a character that's tailor-made for Gerwig herself. Metcalf is even better and the mother-daughter chemistry between the two is electric. The rest of the cast is no slouch in their given roles and play their part responsibly.

On an overall scale, Lady Bird is a dream start to Greta Gerwig's directorial career and isn't just one of the best films of its year but is impressive enough to rank amongst the finest examples of its genre. A cinematic equivalent of joy that's as lively, friendly, cheerful, jubilant, gleeful, lighthearted, adventurous & vivacious as its creator, Lady Bird commences a new chapter in Greta Gerwig's life on the best possible note with a promise of greater things to come. Definitely worth a shot.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"Charming" - if you pay the right kind of attention to it.
asifahsankhan5 March 2018
"Lady Bird" is Greta Gerwig's beautiful and insightful film, the first for which she is solely credited as writer and director. Gerwig, a Sacramento native herself and member of her heroine's generation - the movie takes place mostly during the 2002-3 academic year - knows her characters and their world very well. Her affection envelops them like a secular form of grace: not uncritically, but unconditionally. And if you pay the right kind of attention to "Lady Bird" - played by the lovely Saoirse Ronan (already, at 23, one of the most formidable actors in movies today) - absorbing its riffs and digressions as well as its melodies, it's choral passages along with its solos and duets - It's a worth- watch for the the constant stream of early 2000s nostalgia that runs through the entire movie and a few powerful moments: the hug between Lady Bird and Danny O'Neill (you'll know it when you see it) and the mother's drive through.

Yes, Lady Bird has its moments. You will almost certainly love it.

It's hard not to.
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Thoughtful Coming of Age Tale
anselmdaniel2 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This review contains spoilers.

Lady Bird is directed and written by Greta Gerwig and stars Saorise Ronan as the titular character, Lady Bird. Lady Bird is a coming of age tale of a teenager preparing to enter college. Along the way, Lady Bird and her family encounter problems of their own.

Lady Bird is expertly written. Each of the characters feels distinct and has their own motivations and personalities. The writing and dialogue is the greatest positive the movie has to offer. Greta Gerwig has outdone herself by capturing her hometown feelings of Sacramento into the script. The story's heart and soul are in two characters, Lady Bird and her mother. The movie starts with these two discussing colleges. It is here that Lady Bird makes it clear what her intentions are. She dreams of leaving her past behind and going to college on the East coast. However, her mother does not agree with the plan as she sees Lady Bird as being selfish. The family had undergone financial crisis with much of the parental backstory being told through dialogue. The movie pulls at heart strings of bad teenage mistakes, family troubles, and parental failings. It is the ability to merge through the writing that elevates each of these individual tropes into a solid package.

I did find the movie a little blandly directed but that does not detract from the overall experience. I highly recommend Lady Bird.

Four stars out of four stars.
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sweet bird of youth...
mhmt_korkmaz25 February 2018
Everything seems so cliche but flows so naturally and profoundly. Character development, sisters and brothers, moms and dads, friends and lovers.. This movie sucks you into a well forgotten past, full of memories of youth. Story very well told, mission accomplished.
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Mothers and Daughters and growing up in Sacremento.
graupepillard19 November 2017
Greta Gerwig, usually disappoints me - as an actress and now in her writing and directorial debut, LADY BIRD, a coming-of-age film about a seventeen-year-old girl growing up in Sacramento "…the Midwest of California…" (the best line in the film,) and the love/hate relationship she has with her working-class family and peers. Social distinctions figure prominently in Gerwig's cinematic world of "ironic class strivers." I keep wondering why I am left cold by her words and her characters and eventually understood that LADY BIRD is too self-consciously trying to be inclusive - inclusive of every contemporary issue - touching upon a diversity of characters and situations with momentary episodic flashes.The touch is light, illustrating concerns rather than delving into them, giving us tokenism - glossing over deep pain and longing with a CliffsNotes diminution.

Saoirse Ronan is excellent as Christine "Lady Bird" McPherson - a nickname she gives herself to appear distinctive. I am sympathetic to the aspirations of a young, self- involved teenager searching for a path to glamour and excitement. Youth is an innocent time - one open to endless fantasies - reality has not yet penetrated the hermetic world of dreams. The "firsts" of the teen years - first kiss, first sexual experience leading to the loss of virginity, first self-awareness of one's own ethical and moral values, and the critical realization that the world is not always spinning for you alone - solely for your personal gratification.

The film opens with Lady Bird and her mother - a wonderful performance by Laurie Metcalf - who is driving and listening to Steinbeck's Grapes of Wrath on audio tape - both simultaneously weeping, moved by the beauty of the spoken words; their mirrored responses reflect their enduring affection. And suddenly the mood is shattered and we see the other side of their relationship - a mother who works double shifts as a psychiatric nurse to supplement the family income so that her daughter can go to a private Catholic school; the burden of monetary expenses weighs heavily on her shoulders. The ever-present resentment that comes with sacrifice is often unleashed on her oblivious daughter in a torrent of sarcasm, humiliation, and disparagement.

Greta Gerwig is at her best in the scenes between mother/father and daughter. A lovely tenderness exists which is often choked and stifled by the exigencies of financial straits.The underpinnings are there for a truly fine movie, but in the rush to cast a wide net, Gerwig compromises her subjects' humanity, placing a veil of bromides over what could have been profound interactions. Maybe next time. I hope so.
115 out of 169 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This is a story of a girl
heromngmnt28 February 2018
This is a story almost every girl can relate to. A story about growing up, love, mum-dramas and friendships. And putting it all together, it made a film of finding yourself and lessons life teaches.

With this delicate touch of humour and very likeable characters it is a dreamy piece of cinema, performed by very young director who proudly represents women in this year's directing category. Crossed fingers for Greta although my heart belongs to del Toro (The Shape of Water in next part). She is also responsible for the screenplay, which is based on her own adolescence, according to what I've read somewhere.

Anyway, Lady Bird is a smartass, who is brave enough to dream outside her small world of Sacramento. She fights for her future even when the whole world doesn't believe she could win. This is a film of finding values in life and searching for a place. Furthermore, it is not so heavy like other Best Pictures. It is fun to watch, to breath a little and maybe just remind yourself about your own high school. The humour here is situational and very subtle.

What brings a lot to this film are also actors. Saoirse Ronan is expectional, which is a great compliment from me (The Host was lame). However this category is very strong this year, she did deserved her nomination. The background is very strong, too, though. Laurie Metcalf is a mom having all these mother values and flaws. She is a strong woman who fights her best for her children. It is a year for mums, right?

Some good small characters played by Timothee Chalamet (nominated for Call Me By Your Name) or Lucas Hedges (also in Three Billboards) are also noticeable. Everyone has a personality, everyone has a meaning. It is not just empty background to fill up the film. Sacramento is living on its own.

My sort of favourite is Beanie Feldstein (picture below). She didn't have such glamorous acting past but I enjoyed Julie very much. I wish her luck and more good roles in the future.
35 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Saoirse Ronan shines
phd_travel4 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Saoirse Ronan has the ability to get the viewer's sympathy like no other actress. Her sweetness just makes all she is going through so much more involving and moving. The subject matter is a young girl in high school discovering relationships with boys and struggling with her very strange mother played by the excellent Laurie Metcalf. Things like this have been done before but never quite so lucidly. Watching her deal with her gay boy friend then the douche bag boy friend then her difficult mother are played out in such a spontaneous manner with very well written natural sounding dialog. Makes you want a part 2.
51 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Saoirse Ronan shines as Lady Bird
manders_steve25 February 2018
This is a coming of age story about Lady Bird (Christine) McPherson, a final year high school student in Sacramento, California. The strength of the film is the depth of character and relationships between of Lady Bird, her mother Marion (Laurie Metcalf) and father Larry (Tracy Letts).

There are lots of coming of age movies, and this is one of the few I've seen in recent times that really did seem to have something new and interesting to say and show. Maybe some of these related to 'first world problems' or perhaps more accurately 'poor people's problems when looking at rich people' but the complexity and reality I found in the issues raised and the way they were addressed did not detract.

There are many commentaries about relationships, social settings and societal change relevant to the 2002 setting in this film, which I recall clearly as our elder daughter was in the transition from primary to high school around that time.

At times, it isn't easy watching; at times it's really funny and mostly it's encouraging and uplifting. If you have been through that transition from high school to university, employment, or whatever came next for you, I think you'll find something that resonates in this fine film.
39 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Sweet coming of age story with quirks
gortx4 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Greta Gerwig has been an "it" girl on the indie scene for several years. It may be a bit ironic that her most acclaimed movie would come when she stepped behind the camera with LADY BIRD (she previously co-directed NIGHTS & WEEKENDS, and co-starred as well). Here, Saorise Ronan is the stand-in Gerwig as a character named Christine, who like the real Gerwig, is a rebellious teen in Sacramento California who dreams of New York City.

Christine has re-dubbed herself "Lady Bird" and is going to a Catholic High School and is going through all the usual growing pains. Grewig has made a name for herself with her quirky characters and there's more than a bit of that to wade through here. It takes some time to get past the notion that Ronan is giving her own performance here and not just doing a Greta act (similar to many a Woody Allen lead performance by 'substitute' Woodys). As fiercely individualistic as Gerwig is as an actress, Ronan gives Lady Bird a bit of a softer and more vulnerable side that is more effective than if Gerwig had performed it herself. Kudos to her for embracing it.

Most importantly, Gerwig does an excellent job at keeping the movie rolling along at a brisk 93 minutes, with some scenes being literally seconds long - nothing self-indulgent here (although there is a scene or two that could have been allowed to breathe a bit). The cast, including several young actors is uniformly fine. Laurie Metcalf as her tough mother could have used a little leavening. As written and performed, she comes off a bigger harridan than is what was likely intended. Some of the offbeat mumblecore touches stick out as unnecessary, but, what separates LADY BIRD from so many of them (including, frankly, a number of Gerwig's movies), is that there is genuine heart and compassion here, not just ironic detachment. Further grounding things is a keen appreciation of middle class life with the scenes of shopping at thrift stores, window browsing for homes they can't afford etc. - or, as Lady Bird sardonically refers to it: "Coming from the wrong side of the tracks." Credit, too, for not ending in the conventionally expected way. Just a warm sigh.
41 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Coming of Age Drama
kz917-119 March 2018
Lady Bird delves into the perilously fraught relationship between mother and daughter. Couple that with the coming of age story of Lady Bird a senior at a Catholic High School wending her way through relationships both romantic and friend with sometimes disastrous results.

Fantastic movie. Well done acting. Not to be missed.
28 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A heartwarming movie that will touch any good parents of teenage children.
markgorman18 February 2018
Although this movie explores much trodden territory - a Catholic schoolgirl's coming of age movie - it's one for parents of around my age (50's) rather than the teen lead it features. In that role Saiorse Ronan deservedly nets another Oscar nomination (sadly for her she is up against the imperious Frances McDormand and therefore cannot win) in a performance that is as real and as raw as any you'll see this year.

But it's not just Ronan's performance that makes this the movie it is. It's the triangular relationship between her (a disillusioned small town girl from Sacramento who dreams of the creativity and urban rawness of East Coast New York) her driven, ambitious (for her daughter) and seemingly hard-hearted, unemotional mother (Laurie Metcalfe) and her long-suffering, delightful father (Tracy Letts).

How the three deal with one another and how those relationships play out are at the heart of a movie that touches the heart-strings many times.

Take a hankie.

It's not damning Greta Gerwig's directorial debut with faint praise by describing it as nice because it really is, in the finest tradition of the word, a truly nice cinematic experience. It has grit, humour and emotion, but the overwhelming take out is just how 'nice' it is.

The first act is hilarious in which 'Lady Bird', the given name (given to herself) of Christine, her best friend Julie and her first boyfriends enact small time life, love and prom-going.

The setting, in an all girls' Catholic High School, lends itself to much hilarity, with some excellently original rebellion. My favourite scene is where 'Lady Bird' and Julie scoff a tub of communion wafers whilst talking about sex. ("It's OK. They're not consecrated.")

Although the gradual sexual fulfilment that Lady Bird experiences is nothing new Ronan's performance keeps you interested, and when the consequences lead to confrontations and discussions between her and her parents - rarely acted out as a three hander because Mum and Dad lead separate (although still loving) lives - the movie reveals its depth.

It's the relationship between mother and daughter that is the real dramatic grit in thi particular oyster. Here Gerwig teases out brilliance by both actors and it's the result of this difficult 'ambitious-mom' tension that drives the movie.

As the film reaches its climax how that plays out is what results in the handkerchief moments and leaves you emotionally satisfied in a movie that is greater than the sum of its parts.
40 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
love and attention
SnoopyStyle13 March 2018
It's 2002 Sacramento. Christine MacPherson (Saoirse Ronan) demands to be called Lady Bird. She has a combative love hate relationship with her hard-working mother Marion (Laurie Metcalf). Her father (Tracy Letts) is struggling. Lady Bird is desperate to go to college in New York despite her mother's money concerns. She has a crush on Danny who is surprised that she actually lives on the other side of the tracks. She abandons her best friend Julie to get close to rich girl Jeanna and rich slacker musician Kyle.

Greta Gerwig brings a personal touch to the mother-daughter relationship and her home town of Sacramento. There is a warmth to their verbal combat. There is real heart to their portrayal. There is biting humor and quirky gentleness. There are real insights into the mother daughter connection. Only one scene troubled me. Saoirse dials up the "Please talk to me" scene to eleven when a nine would be more heart-breaking. I see the emotional push but it gets too manufactured in that one scene. Overall, this is an outstanding film with some great laughs.
32 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fantastic directorial debut by actress Greta Gerwig.
Anurag-Shetty6 March 2018
Lady Bird tells the story of Christine 'Lady Bird' McPherson(Saorise Ronan). Lady Bird is in her final year of high school. Christine's daily life is chronicled, in her hometown of Sacramento, California.

Lady Bird is an amazing film. Director Greta Gerwig has given us a simple yet highly entertaining movie, of a headstrong girl who will stop at nothing to achieve her dreams. Gerwig expertly balances the comedic & dramatic moments. The performances are the highlight of the movie. Saorise Ronan is spectacular as Lady Bird McPherson. Ronan is becoming one of the finest young actresses in Hollywood, after similar performances in The Grand Budapest Hotel(2014) & Brooklyn(2015). Laurie Metcalf is outstanding as Marion McPherson. The dynamic between Ronan & Metcalf's characters makes this film, unforgettable. Tracy Letts is brilliant as Larry McPherson. Lucas Hedges is superb as Danny O'Neill. Timothee Chalamet is awesome as Kyle Scheible. Beanie Feldstein is excellent as Julie Steffans. Lois Smith & Stephen Henderson are good as Sister Sarah Joan & Father Leviatch, respectively. Odeya Rush, Jordan Rodriguez & Marielle Scott are impressive as Jenna Walton, Miguel McPherson & Shelly Yuhan, respectively. Lady Bird is a must watch. Go, relive your rebellious teenage years again.
32 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just one more "artsy" try hard movie about "real" teenagehood
zoaki-770294 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Never in my life have I left a movie so disappointed, someone is honestly paying these people ro write good reviews.The plot was tremendously bleak and pretty much non existent, i got no sort of emotional effect? and mind you im a person that is easily moved. The characters were just some hollywoodsy stereotypical tropes of teeenagers, the edgy and extremely angsty white pretty and skinny female protagonist, chubby friend thats always left behind and walked over like a doormat bc of her "good" heart, handsome but eventually gay boyfriend, "deep" edgy hot hipster second boyfriend and the gorgeous popular girl, the adopted(?) asian brother just for th sake of having a "diverse" cast and the overly anxious hard working mom. Wow truly astonishing! Never been done before! The whole movie was extremely cringy, dialogue was painfully unrealistic and nothing close to how real teenagers act or speak but rather a stupid glorification of some sort of silly YA book character from a book probably written by a 35 year old depicting how they WISH their teenagehood was like. A movie bleak like no other. Would recommend to no one , left me with so many unanswered questions.
51 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A sweet, heartwarming coming-of-age tale.
breheneyjames3 March 2018
'Lady Bird' is written and directed by Greta Gerwig and stars Saoirse Ronan as Christine "Lady Bird" McPherson. "Lady Bird" is name she gave herself as a rebellious act against her mother Marion played wonderfully by Laurie Metcalf. Lady Bird even remarks near the end film that 'some people won't believe in God but they'll just accept a name given to them by their parents'. Ronan's title character is one of the most rebellious and defiant lead characters of the year topped only by Frances McDormand's Mildred Hayes in 'Three Billboards'. It's very entertaining and at times poignant to watch her verbally spar with her mother over something as tedious as straightening a bed cover in a hotel room. This is testament to both the cast and Gerwig's script which keeps things feeling fresh and new in every scene.

Although I do like this film I don't quite love it like most people do and all the enormous praise it has received over the past few months as lead to being considered one of if not the best film of the year. For me it's not quite up there although it was very pleasant and entertaining to watch. There is a great sense of place present in the movie and it's clear that Gerwig and her title character really do actually love Sacramento as the latter begins to realize when speaking with a nun (Lois Smith) at her school towards the end of the film.

The movie has a great ensemble cast including Tracy Letts, Lucas Hedges and Timothee Chalamet who all give decent turns as their respective vital characters. However, it really is carried by Ronan and Metcalf and the best moments are when they are sharing scenes together. It is crazy to think that Ronan who is good in literally everything is on her third Oscar nomination with this film. But then again considering the talent she has maybe it's not crazy at all but expected. So all in all, 'Lady Bird' is a sweet, heartwarming coming-of-age tale that pulls you in with its intriguing script and keeps you their with its magnetic performances.
35 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed