Captain Marvel (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
6,631 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Flat and uninspiring
tommykrw-471799 June 2019
I was bored throughout the movie. So predictable. This is a waste of time.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lame
princepharaonelnur11 June 2019
Worst MCU movie to date. Will never see it again, even as part of a marathon.
23 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just a girl who won the "over power" lottery without any character depth.
htutmaung5 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
CGI and over power doesn't make a good film. It was like Marvel version of justice league. She could just fly through whatever she wants to destory. There wasn't any display of fight IQ or heart, something you see in Captain America or Iron Man. Just a girl who won the "over power" lottery without any character depth.
555 out of 884 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
7.1????
aikenkatie1 May 2019
Someone's been monkeying with the real numbers, IMBD....you got some splainin to do! Terrible movie all the way around, and Disney? You may want to rethink the man the man bashing approach, as around half of all movie goers are, well, men. ( I'm a woman, btw, just one who won't put others down in order to feel better about myself) Seriously would like to go to a movie for some real entertainment instead of watching someone's else's political agenda garbage push. No need to say anything more about this huge waste of time, money and potential as others have already said it better. Such a shame all the way around.
661 out of 1,086 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How 7.1/10
usmansaleem54225 April 2019
I scrolled reviews more than 500 and almost all of them were below 3. I am wondering how this movie got 7.1/10 rating...
545 out of 905 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Captain Marvel was the least interesting character
mikeystar-8837810 June 2019
You would think when the title of a movie is the lead character's name, she would at least be an interesting character - that was not the case. Captain Marvel didn't deliver, in my opinion, at all and was the least interesting character in the movie.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Practically nothing good about it besides the Kree commando team
mtlabfall25 March 2019
This film
  • ruins MCU continuity
  • fails to inspire a single goosebump
  • bores
  • exasperates
  • is far too glib
  • tries too hard to be a feminist PSA (*show*, don't preach plz)
  • has a horribly miscast lead hero who is also poorly written
  • made me groan when Nick Fury's eye injury was revealed
  • shows a ridiculously happy-go-lucky Nick Fury that doesn't mesh with his MCU personality AT ALL
  • is possibly the worst MCU film (Ant Man and the Wasp anyone?)
  • doesn't deserve a 7 on IMDB (especially if Wonder Woman, a far superior film, is only .4 ahead)
  • can and should be criticized without political insinuations (i.e, I want female superhero films, just not crappy ones like this).
  • has mediocre at best fight scenes
  • has a sidekick character that - given the circumstances - makes an insanely poor decision to "come along"
  • has a weak character arc, the hero doesn't struggle enough to discover her powers and then has totally OP powers and THEN doesn't fully use them against a certain person (who won't be named, Spoilers)
  • deflated the possibility of having Skrulls as villains for upcoming films
  • made me revise my opinion of Brie Larson as a good actress
  • is regrettably diminishing my interest in the next Avengers movie
  • is regrettably making me wonder if this movie is what we'll look back on and say "Marvel jumped the shark"
835 out of 1,423 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't bother
leyikal17 May 2019
Written by small children sitting in separate rooms and not allowed to speak to each other. This was the worst Avengers movie. We are led to believe that we will see a cohesive story and it just didn't happen. So many pieces missing, that I'll bet show up upon digital release, that we couldn't see where it was going or enjoy it once we got there.
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why .
aviramtennis10 March 2019
The movie started well, then went downhill. Nick fury character was turned into a joke. I'm not sure if the actress didn't fit the role or the movie was badly directed. Terrible and useless. If she ends thanos it will also be a end to many supporters of marvel.
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
You don't need to watch this before Endgame
duongvietlinh7 May 2019
Captain marvel doesn't have any impact in the Endgame movie. With or without her it won't change a bit. So... And it's not a good movie anyway.
361 out of 608 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Has cool moments, but poor main character writing.
deztron7 March 2019
I've liked Brie Larson in other films, but she showed ZERO range in this. When your main character in a superhero movie is unwatchable, you already have a problem. In addition, Captain Marvel has no weaknesses, which kills the tension immediately. There is no point at which you feel she is in any danger of losing, or any danger at all for that matter.

It's an OK origin story, but it makes no sense as to WHY she's supposedly so powerful.

The cat was good.
3,514 out of 6,241 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No Depth or Emotion
stevcoll3 June 2019
This is the first Marvel movie I can think of where it wasn't memorable, interesting, or funny. Samuel L Jackson couldn't save it. Brie Larson's character had zero depth.

The whole thing kind of reminds me of a Transformers movie. Lots of action and fancy visuals but I could fall asleep during most of it.
35 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
At least I got out of the house for a little bit!
jpandian819 March 2019
Worst of the Marvel movies. Sorry. My wife loves the actress and she also said it was horrible. I didn't know there was any political points in the movie, probably because it never even got my attention, but knowing there is now, I would give it a solid Zero! Oh well we got away from the kids for a couple hours. So glad I didn't waste the extra money and take all the kids. Sadly to say I know they are going to hate it also.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Writing was not that great
thefallenones1179 March 2019
I tried to enjoy it but the writing was a bit off.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst MCU movie...
joaonunocampos8 March 2019
So boring, poor story, bad casting, not because is a female, A Alita battle Angel is awesome female character, Captain Marvel isn't!
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe the overall number of stars.
When you read the reviews and do a little math it's pretty overwhelmingly obvious that the score has been rigged.
400 out of 686 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The movie itself is a dull 4/10. But the media narrative ruined it.
konrad-40-20591513 March 2019
What's silly is people like Clark Gregg genuinly believe people are getting bent out of shape because she's a woman. Many of those same people who grew up on strong female action heroes like Ripley, Buffy, Xena, etc ... and who love modern day female heroes like Black Widow, (she really should have had her own movie by now) Scarlet Witch, Wasp, (loved Ant Man 1 and 2) etc ... Wonder Woman especially was well received by everyone, including those who are now being branded sexists . Many of those same people are currently loving Alita Battle Angle ... Weird huh? So sick and tired of these petty identity politics and the typical transparant respons we've seen on Ghostbusters, the new Star Wars movies, and now this. Grow the hell up and stop being so condescending towards the people who pay your bills. Not to mention many of these same people grew up on the very comic books that spawned this whole genre in the first place. One of my favorite comic books was Witchblade, which had a female lead. Noone cares.
271 out of 459 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Over-rated
raymj77716 March 2019
They were so busy trying to make a feminist manifesto, they forgot to make a good movie. The forced humor and weak CGI didn't help matters.
671 out of 1,182 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing and just "Meh"
shnicky-774979 March 2019
Over-hyped and very underwhelming and sadly ranks alongside "the Incredible Hulk" in the otherwise incredible MCU. Does not bode well for Avengers: Endgame and Phase 4 if this is the path Marvel is going down
140 out of 233 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is my review
This is my review. I was disappointed and I hated this film, I just did ok?! God told me too and they don't call me Captain Obvious for nothing!
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
SO bad!
natashabrianez19 March 2019
Bad acting, bad script, bad directing, just bad overall... seemed like I was watching some cliche movie made by a freshman in college with way too much money but not enough skills to pull it off.
334 out of 589 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Warning: Waste of money!!
aletheiaxxxx14 March 2019
I REALLY, REALLY wanted to love this movie, but it just didn't do it for me at all. I don't want to run it for others, but WHAT THE HELL was in the studios/producer/writers/ and casting directors Kool Aid? First Ant Man and the Wasp and now you lay this poop on us? I watched it because I'm a Marvel Fan and didn't want to miss any juicy details leading up to End Game, but no, just no. You're better off streaming it online and saving your money. Maybe then Disney will get their act together.
313 out of 552 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
1 star coz can't give less than that.....
rathorenikheelesh5 June 2019
Such a terrible movie....can't believe it comes from marvel studio......
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very vad movie
mahedihasantwilight13 June 2019
Very very very bad movie. Present any marvel movie has no story and bad dialogue . Please don't see this film.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Let's just be honest
Red_Hardigan12 March 2019
I am a Marvel fan. I go see all the movies, then buy the blu-rays. I have character statues, posters and have read the comics including Captain Marvel. There is a reason people become fans of certain things, and those things done well over time generate more fans until it becomes a "Juggernaut" like the MCU has. I fear that it's not unstoppable however, as the sub-par Captain Marvel has painfully illustrated. The movie is a pastiche of poorly written scenes with a bit of uninspired action sprinkled here and there with barely any plot at all. Carol Danvers has no character development whatsoever, no adversity to overcome besides amnesia and no villain to fight. I know there are people saying they like this movie, but I feel like they either aren't being honest or they like it for personal reasons that are not present in the movie. Objectively speaking, in terms of the technical aspects of storytelling, Captain Marvel just isn't effective. Subjectively, I was bored the entire time and the nostalgia parts made me feel as though JJ Abrams was poking me in the ribs asking me if I 'member the 90's. Yes. Yes I do. And for the record, people are criticizing this movie because it was bad, not because they "haaaate the wooomans!" Dismissing legitimate criticisms using this tactic will not produce better films, which is the only thing most people want. The problem is that they built the movie around the idea of "strong woman" and promoted it as an identity film, so when the movie ends up being bad some people rush to defend it because they don't want the IDEA to fail. The movie itself is secondary - just a vehicle to slap their bumper stickers on, which is a real shame because this could have been a great addition to the MCU. I hope they learn something from this, but from what I've heard it appears that Marvel actually plans to escalate the identity politics in the next phase which would be an absolute disaster for them. When pointing to the box office as a defense for how "good" Captain Marvel was, just remember that tons of paying customers didn't like it at all.
749 out of 1,363 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed