Captain Marvel (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
5,979 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Did I Watch a Different Movie than Everyone Else?
ariahdixon8 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Just got home from seeing the movie and immediately told all my fellow MCU fans they need to see it. Then I hop on here and see negative review after negative review and I disagree with most of them! Feels like I was in a different movie! Only thing I will agree with was bad is the fact that we don't know of a Captain Marvel weakness. She's insanely overpowered. But I mean, so is Scarlet Witch if you think about it. Scarlet Witch could take down any of the Avengers if she wanted to. And she sorta did, in Ultron when she was making all of them see their worst fears. (By the way why has she not done that since that movie? But that's besides the point) The only weakness Scarlet Witch has/had was her love for Vision. But that wasn't introduced until later in her story. So I don't think it's bad that we don't know Captain Marvel's weakness yet. This is the MCU, she will have more storyline, this was just setting up for more to come. I actually think Brie Larson's acting was great. We learn very early in the movie that her character's being trained to control her emotions and impulses. That's the only thing she knows as she has no prior memories. Of course she's a little flat because of that. But then I find her character builds and develops as now she has the powers to match her confidence and ambition which gives her even more purpose. She starts regaining her memories and you can see her unfold as she feels love her old friend and the daughter. She stands up against the Kree people who she used to trust and shows them she's better off without them. She gives the Skrulls a chance and ends up fighting for them, and giving up her renewed life on earth for them. I find her to be a very different character towards the end than she is in the beginning. Do people keep forgetting that this movie takes place in the 90's? This was an early beginning story for both Fury and Coulson. Neither of them have gone through any of the crap they soon will so I think it's well done that their characters were quite different. They will develop with time. If you watch this movie, then all the other Marvel movies in chronological order, it'd be more clear. They also joke that Coulson is the "new guy", which to me explains his slightly timid attitude. I went into this movie trying to not let the politics affect my opinion. If you go into the movie already with a bad taste in your mouth, you might be disappointed. And I in no way support some of the things Brie Larson has said and done. But I don't find that any of that was brought into the movie and I am capable of letting those two instances be separate. I don't have to love and support every actor/actress in a movie in order to love the movie. I am a female in my mid-20's and I felt very empowered by this movie. My 29-year-old brother felt empowered. I feel like this movie is intended to be motivational for all audiences and doesn't try to tear anyone down. Goose was amazing and adorable up until he eats the bad guys. That was weird and uncomfortable to me but ok. Still love Goose! Is it the best Marvel has done? No. But I am overall very pleased with the movie and will be seeing it again and again. I just wish it gave us more teasers towards the rest of the Avengers and Endgame but I guess I can wait another month for that! If I have to!
2,517 out of 4,330 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst Marvel Film
neo55008 April 2019
I feel like this movie could have been a better one with a better writers team and the main actor. It seems like Brie Larson was not the best choice to play the role of captain marvel with the lackluster acting as well as the simply dull storyline that this movie followed through. It may also have been the hype that has been built for this movie but regardless, very disappointed in the movie overall.
46 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not a great film
lbinks20009 April 2019
I'm confused at the 7.2 star rating... it was just a bland movie overall
90 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bire Larson. Ugh.
walk_wild77724 March 2019
I've been a big fan of the Marvel films long before Iron Man, but this is the worst movie Marvel Studios has put out.

Besides being just plain out bland, I lay most blame on Brie Larson's utter lack of personality. At no point was I remotely emotionally invested in her character. She's easily right up there with Kristen Stewart and Hayden Christiansen for utterly lacking in any ability to emote.

If this is the character they're going to base he MCU around going forward, good luck to them.
85 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Meh
stevefisher-8461316 March 2019
Meh: sums up this movie. Luckily you can miss this movie and I doubt it will cause any disadvantage to watching end game. Empty enotionless lead character.
130 out of 209 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor film
ajtownsend-2598622 March 2019
Went and watched this film with a open mind and without watching the trailer and i am wondering weather i should have. i understood nothing and eventually ended up walking out with less of the knowledge as when i went in poor poor performance and little or no character description
83 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Slow and pathetic
premiumsrapidshares6 April 2019
Probably the worst movie from Marvel. Very slow pace and doesn't do justice to any of the characters both new and old. Feels like a random movie released by Marvel just to keep the attention from the audience. Very disappointed.
74 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
First review, just can't stop thinking how BAD it was...
jc-cardozo13517 March 2019
When you see most of the people staring at their phones half way through the movie it just shows how extremely BAD this movie is.
45 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible, just horrible (+Lowkey SJW propaganda)
vagkopf15 March 2019
Everything that has been going on with this movie before the release and all the negativity that Brie Larson has spread towards certain types of groups and genders just ruined all expectation for this movie.

And lo and behold, i was right. This movie tries so hard to present Captain Marvel as this near-perfect heroine without any glaring weakness at all, that is just makes me sick.

Boring SJW trash
45 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Best worst movie ever
lomasjackson14 March 2019
Seriously it's so bad that it's funny! Like the room could have competition that's how bad it is lol.
45 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another hollywood female lead flop
garyloader12 March 2019
So poor. So very poor. Soon they will be dressing up men as women.
45 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst MU movie, boring
pilon-3471926 March 2019
I had low expectations going into this movie and still found it slow and boring. This movie tries hard to reach woman and girls, so much so that it changed the Captain Marvel story and made it boring. Very slow pace and does not get better as the movie unfolds. Too bad, the Captain Marvel story line was a good one the way it was.
109 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Has cool moments, but poor main character writing.
deztron7 March 2019
I've liked Brie Larson in other films, but she showed ZERO range in this. When your main character in a superhero movie is unwatchable, you already have a problem. In addition, Captain Marvel has no weaknesses, which kills the tension immediately. There is no point at which you feel she is in any danger of losing, or any danger at all for that matter.

It's an OK origin story, but it makes no sense as to WHY she's supposedly so powerful.

The cat was good.
3,066 out of 5,427 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
do not watch
bilgenureren25 March 2019
Do not watch this film its a waste of time how can marvel make this film , it is almost worst marvel film even if you give me money i cannot watch it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
100 out of 159 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible Acting, Cheesy Mary Sue feminist character and mediocre CGI
codytf-190902 April 2019
This is by far one of the weakest and most boring MCU movies since the black panther. And what bothers me is movies such as this and black panther are only praised not because of actual talent from production/actors but because they uphold "social justice". Not only was this an SJW ridden crapfest its also very boring the lead female actress is TERRIBLE, monotone and immature. Jude Law would have been FAR superior as the main character. Waste of time and money.
110 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Crap!!!
chiuzoetue28 March 2019
Political BS Crap!!! Horrible acting, just not it for me. This is so painful and annoying.
84 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just finished watching Captain Marvel
eric_kosecki18 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Watched Captain Marvel. The things I liked first: 1. Talos, Ben Mendelson was really entertaining as the "villain". 2. Samuel L Jackson was good. 3. The cat, except for that.

What I didn't like: 1. Everything about Brie Larsons performance. She was wooden, delivered her dialogue like she was reading off cards. No charm, no charisma, no emotion. Whenever she showed emotion it felt massively forced and disingenuous. She is just incredibly unlikeable and I can't believe they got the casting THIS wrong. I hope they kill her off and an adult Monica Rambeau takes her place (fun fact: Monica was Captain Marvel in the 80s, before Carol Danvers was even Ms Marvel)

2. The Writing. Good lord this film was lazily written. Not only was the dialogue garbage, but come on, did EVERY SINGLE MAN IN HER LIFE HAVE TO BE A HORRIBLE MISOGINIST?!?! And the super thin feminist message, the Kree (patriarchy) were holding her back (the inhibitor chip) and once they stopped she was unstoppable. Really?!

3. They ruined several characters. Mar Vell had one of the best arcs ever in the comics, but nope she's just shot in the chest (what a waste of Annette Benings talent). The Skrulls, one of the best villains in marvel comics and the entire set up for the awesome story Secret Invasion, nope they're the good guys because we need an analogy for refugees. And we already discussed Monica Rambeau.

4. THATS HOW FURY LOST HIS EYE?!?!?! SCREW YOU MOVIE.

5. Boy howdy they messed up the Marvel timeline. So they were SHIELD in the 90s? I thought Coulson didn't have that name until 2008? She's the inspiration for the Avengers? Nah man that is Cap. So Fury knew about Aliens already? Why was he so shocked by the Chitauri and the Asgardians? Ugh! This movie was so lazy! It was like they've never seen a marvel movie.

In conclusion this movie was terrible. It did real damage to the MCU and will continue to if she's the face going forward. I thought to myself while watching this, "you know, if you guys hadn't run off Joss Whedon, he could have made this movie amazing." NO ONE does strong female characters as well as Joss. Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Dollhouse, And the women of Firefly. Not to mention how good he wrote Black Widow in Avengers 1 to being a 3 dimensional character and not just eye candy. This movie proved that Marvel still doesn't know how to make strong female characters as the focus of a movie. Sure they can be side kicks, but can't carry a movie. Compare that to DC. For all their flaws DC makes killer female characters. Wonder Woman? amazing. Suicide Squad May have been a train wreck but they nailed Harley Quinn (how she uses overt sexuality to her advantage and she can throw down in a fight, plus she is an actual 3d character) and they nailed Amanda Waller being a cold hearted b**ch but you have to respect her. Mera was probably more capable than Aquaman until the end.

If you want to watch a superhero with a feminist message, Supergirl on CW. She is also the strongest by far in the Arrow verse, but unlike Brie she is charismatic, likeable, flawed, and still badass when she throws down.

This movie was trash and I Hope Thanos kills her.

End Of Rant.
436 out of 743 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painfully Dull And Annoyingly Over-Hyped. Brute force does not a superhero make.
frisco200711 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I actually fell asleep in the movie theater at one point! And I'm a big fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe films, and went into watching this with the usual great anticipation and hope. This one disappoints. It, unlike most of the MCU (or X-Men or even Fantastic 4) movies, lacks the "magic" that makes a superhero movie work (an interesting character, intelligent writing, humor, joy, an interesting, original story). It starts off with the main character on an alien planet with her powers already - before we even know who she is, have any relationship with her, and should care why she is there. There is no character development, she is just dropped in our laps, and as the person I was with said - who is new to this character - she thought there was a big backstory available somewhere else. The desperately needed plot that proceeds is uninteresting, and ends up suddenly being centered around aliens on Earth we know even less about. There is no emotional center to the movie, no sense of a character arc or drama or stakes that matters. Just a lot of POW WHAM moments, that then get bigger, and we are expected to accept that as drama and "the story". The jokes are infantile, Jude Law's character is a cardboard villain, and Brie Larsen was poorly cast in this Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel role as she exhibits no characterization; she takes no joy in being Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel, her Carol Danvers is painfully dull and seems to have no significant personal character herself, to genuinely be a dull person, who then becomes a dull superhero, but that she can glow and punch the movie makers force on the audience as the reason we are supposed to gormless-ly cheer her. Brute force does not a superhero make. This is why I actually momentarily fell asleep in the movie theater at one point. Unlike Iron Man, Black Widow, Black Panther, Bruce Banner, she has no * character story *. She is cardboard superhero that one would expect from someone who did not know how to make superhero movies, certainly not the gateway character to the next Phase in the MCU franchise. A further issue is that this character - never famous like the Hulk, etc from the comics because she isn't as originally interesting a character (not a dramatic character, not a scientist, not funny, not a strong personal character, not a person with a dramatic story or backstory, etc) - still had a character that was well fleshed out in the comic books. And could have been made with her existing material into something even better for the movie. Instead, the 5 (!) writers on the movie went with cliches, dropped the comic book base content and origin story and made a convoluted plot that just crashes and flops worse than the place crash in the movie. I have never been so disappointed in an MCU film. It's a shame, because this character certainly could have been great if handled by a better writer(s). It bodes badly for the MCU next Phase. What. a. dull, mindless, weak, lackluster, incompetent, over hyped, mis-made junk pile of a movie. : /
35 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Truly terrible movie.. self indulgence and nothing else now!
Truly shocking.. I've enjoyed every marvel film and then.. I don't know what. It was just a mess from the start. Couldn't care.. scene after scene seemed just joined together and made zero sense. I have only ever walked out once in my life from the cinema..I tried so hard not to.. But in the end.. This was the 2nd time. Truly it was terrible. :(
147 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Comic movie I've ever seen
allen_alzawity10 March 2019
So bored I don't know how I spent 2 hours of my life watching this movie
25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bland at taste with no substance
yethiy10 March 2019
Awful experience yo the say the least. A politically driven movie with no real essence to the the plot to.
25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lazy Storytelling
jmichaelcritzer9 March 2019
The retcons of not only the comics, but the already established Marvel Cinematic Universe are staggering. The tesseract, the nature and evolution of S.H.I.E.L.D., the history of Nick Fury, and so on. Carol Danvers has no story arc. She simply shakes off oppressive systems and shows how "amazing and powerful" she's been from the start. The pacing is off, the jokes don't land, and it's shocking to see such a poor offering from what has to this point been the tried and true MCU.
25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total waste of time!
cmendiola-656269 March 2019
Honestly my expectations were high for this film but It was a complete disappointment in my opinion. Bad story bad acting and very little action scenes. Save your money! Go watch something worth your time.
25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another Marvel movie(so we supposed to believe everythiny that they show is good?)
thesahilbhagat9 March 2019
I think after age of ultron. All the movie were not about storytelling as they more focus on charming the audience with characters and there badassness which is just getting more and more stereotype. So marvel is just making a same stuf every movie. Its never a tale of adventure or a story for a cause. They declare bad guys who want to destroy the world and a superhero will rise to stop them. Which is a One Directional approach. I feel this formula is making people sick just a money making scam
25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed
doggunner29 March 2019
I was expecting an origin story of the Marvel version of this character, but instead I got a bad second hand attempt at covering an almost Frankensteined go at it. I think it would have been better if they had gone with the true origin and not whatever this was.
92 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed