Supergirl (TV Series 2015– ) Poster

(2015– )

User Reviews

Review this title
598 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Becoming more like a soap
ken-127314 October 2017
Season 1 was quite good and held well to the superhero genre. Season 2 started well but drifted deeply into interpersonal drama. Season 3 started the way season 2 ended, with less emphasis on the superhero and deeply into character emotions/relationships and social issues. These are important discussions, to be sure, but I watch superhero shows to see action and fun, not for deep emotion or for a critical societal exposé.

Frankly I don't care who's straight, gay, engaged, in love, depressed, happy or psychotic unless it directly relates to the villain:heroine story line. Supergirl has, seemingly, fallen to influences (pressures?) far from the original comic book universe. It has become a soap opera.
101 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
SHOW, don't tell!
SteelTrapMind19 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
In elementary school, part of our creative writing class was to SHOW, not tell. It seems that Supergirl's writers can't meet the standards of an elementary school writing class.

As a woman, I'm not just profoundly disappointed in this show, I'm deeply embarrassed. This IS why men don't take women seriously. Finally, there's a super hero TV show with a female lead...and it's just so bad.

It's like in Whisky Tango Foxtrot when the first woman to drive a car crashes it. It sucks for women everywhere.

Wonder Woman was good because she DEMONSTRATED that she could handle herself. She being a woman was only mentioned, because of the era the movie took place in.

If this show had a male lead, people still wouldn't like it. It really is just poorly done. Oliver Queen fights with strong women all the time and their gender isn't brought up once. Even Felicity is more badass and she sits behind a screen most of the time. I enjoy Arrow much more because of this. Supergirl feels very whiny and preachy.

Men are people too. Feminism shouldn't be about taking men down a notch or being better than men. It should just be about raising women up to the same level as men. Not all men are physically stronger than women and not all women are physically stronger than men. Ronda Rousey is stronger than Michael Cera, but John Cena is stronger than Ronda Rousey. You can't paint an entire gender with a single brush. Some men will be smarter and stronger than some women. Some women will be smarter and stronger than some men. There is a difference between fairness and equality.

I wish the show focused more on SHOWING Supergirl's competency than it did on finger wagging at men and telling everyone how great she is. I couldn't believe in the first season there's this huge build up to a city wide crisis, they're completely out of options, they've tried everything, they've thought of everything, and then all of the sudden all their problems are solved because of HOPE and believing in people. Supergirl's hope was so strong it overpowered the enemy that Superman couldn't beat. I nearly sprained my eye sockets from rolling my eyes so hard. I repeat: THIS is why women aren't taken seriously.

Why can't she just fight crime and save the day like the rest of them? Why turn it into a political Trojan horse? If I wanted politics, I'd watch C-SPAN. I half expect Supergirl to whip out a talking stick most of the time.
82 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Bad writers
wsl730 November 2016
Okay, I've read the reviews too.. My main complaint is that the writers seem to never have read any of the comics. Apparently unfamiliar with what the title "Super" refers to, they put an otherwise promising character into the most absurd situations. Supergirl is very nearly as strong as Superman, yes, but she is also just s fast. That means super- speed. Does "faster than a speeding bullet" ring a a bell? I watched as Suppergirl just stood by and watched a switch thrown in this last episode, the one used to activate the killing weapon. Just stood there as if she couldn't move. This is just bad writing, you writers. Super- speed, get it? She could have been there before that switch was thrown easily. Think of how the Kryptonians moved in "Man of Steel," or "Smallville." That's how Supergirl should move. Her reflexes match that. It's almost impossible to take any Earth-resident Kryptonian by surprise. So get with it. There are other plot devices which would be infinitely more interesting if writers just dealt with the character's powers instead of hobbling her this way. And, yes, this is written immaturely and unprofessionally. You don't have to write down to kids in the audience. They appreciate the mote intelligent story lines, so give it to 'em and save everybody the pain of watching these episodes.
101 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
From bad to worse
brileearch28 February 2017
Why do I watch the show? I thought it was about superheroes and super villains. But no, I'm not sure what it is about anymore. This show continues to go downhill. The plot lines are simple and easy to determine within a couple minutes of the start of the show. I find myself shaking my head at the ridiculousness of the story line. The show has become all about relationship interactions that are on again and off again within a matter of minutes. The show used to be funny but now has turned into a lame drama. I don't usually write reviews but I have been very disappointed about where the show has gone. I don't think I'll be watching anymore.
154 out of 222 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I'm done...
mama-stuhr26 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Well that's it, I'm done. This show has become nothing more than a poorly acted, horribly written spring board for Greg Berlanti's political views. Beyond ridiculous.

******Spoiler Alert***** But the idiotic episode where the DEO was going to stop using guns took the cake. For real, this show is just circling the drain at this point. I sincerely hope it is cancelled so that Berlanti learns his lesson before The Flash and Arrow suffer the same fate. We want to watch cool, fun shows about super heroes, not have someone's personal political views shoved down our throats.
64 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unispiring with Terrible, Inconsistent Writing
DcTvGiRl200030 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Ugh...where to begin? I liked Season 1 of Supergirl. Given its cheesy moments at times, Kara was an empowering character as she was coming into her own as a superhero. And Alex..Alex was actually my favorite female character. What was great about Season 1, for me, was that there were so many amazing, strong female characters, which is rare for television these days. Then Season 2 came around. I don't even want to get into how awful that season was with Kara taking a back seat to Mon El's story while having to watch her eventually hook up with him and become a side character in her own show. Plenty of other reviews have voiced their disdain for that disrespectful frat boy better than I ever could. I did love the addition of Lena Luthor and Alex's coming out story line.

Fast forward to what we've endured so far in Season 3...Mon El is still somehow mentioned in every episode even though he's gone. Tech genius and all around bad ass Lena Luthor has given up LCorp so she can run CatCo...a company she knows nothing about and let's be honest...is a step down from being a female CEO at a tech company...an industry consisting mostly of men. Maggie is still only "Alex's girlfriend" and now Alex is suddenly obsessed with having children, (And has been grossly OOC this season) which is going to be the demise of Sanvers...one of the few healthy, positive w/w relationships on screen right now. Not to mention the writers can't even remember their own story lines and are making it up as they go along so they can get in as many jabs at Trump as they possibly can. (They're building a wall?) Really, because last time I checked, in the Supergirl world, Trump wasn't president.

The only thing worth sticking around for at this point is the Sam/Reign story line. But I don't think it's worth enduring the rest of the dumpster fire writing that is continuing to plague this show. Sorry to say, I'm done with Supergirl. Which is sad, because I love the SG comics. And I was hoping we'd finally get great representation in a female superhero. Well, I was wrong. Guess I'm going to have to look elsewhere.
67 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Supergirl sucks harder than my Kirby
nicholscody24 May 2018
If your interested in watching a super hero show that's more interested in pushing political crap than super hero adventure this shows for you.
67 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Reality Check
ckennow23 March 2017
I only watch for the crossovers from Flash, Arrow and DCLoT. Glad they moved it to the CW to try and work more in...but the writers in all of the DCTVU seem to be whiny liberal idiots with an agenda and lack of self-worth. Blatant insertion of LGBTQAIWXYZ propaganda that doesn't have ANYTHING to do with the story. The whole remake of the Jimmy Olsen character would be laughable if it wasn't so sad. Someone with a crap ton of money should just buy the rights for DC Comics from the WB and do it right. This really isn't that hard.
134 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish I didn't hate it
okjake-433514 October 2017
I am not one to go out of my way to write a bad review; I'd generally prefer not to spend any more time than necessary on a terrible terrible show. For Supergirl I make an exception for two reasons: I am too disappointed not to, and I simply can't help but feel obligated to echo the sentiments of many other disappointed comic book fans. I'll explain...

Although I like the actors for Supergirl, Kat, and Winn, I am less than thrilled with pretty much every other. Mechad Brooks is a badass and absolutely cut out for a killer role in a super hero movie but that is exactly why he should not be Jimmy Olsen... Jimmy is a scrawny nerd and that's the way I like him. The rest of the characters just seem too contrived with the exception of a few cameo characters I could love in anything. Yet, admittedly, I'm not convinced that the issues are because of the characters they cast or because of the incompetence of the writers and directing team.

My most severe problems with Supergirl are the story lines and scripts. Riddled with political agenda topics, whiny and jealous main characters, and childish fights, the show has left me cringing so bad for three whole seasons that I'm ashamed to admit I've watched as much as I have. The only reason I've made it this far is because of a deep- rooted loyalty to DC and a misguided hope that the writers would figure out what isn't working. I've given up hope. I will not be continuing on past he third season with anything short of replacement of the writing team and/or director. I truly hope that happens...
70 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Its a Bird, Its a Plane, Its Feminist Propaganda Girl.
aamerkastoff1 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Minor spoilers (just some dialogue and show agenda).

I really wanted to enjoy this show, my daughter really wanted to enjoy this show, my son really wanted to enjoy this show, my wife really wanted to enjoy this show...

The good: Characters had the right names, special effects were pretty good, the actors were all competent.

The bad: Everything else, from the feminist and SJW (social justice warrior) propaganda and agenda constantly invading the story to the text book racist move of replacing a 75+ year beloved white nerdy teen character with a handsome suave 35 year old Black man.

The show also was rampant with misandry and sexism aimed at men. My daughter and wife were offended by the show constantly shoving feminist lies down the viewers throats. Men who did not love/worship Supergirl were constantly downing women. My daughter flat out said she had never heard anyone ever say to her or another girl at school "You can't because your just a girl" or any thing remotely like it, let alone this gem from the show "Women bow to men" that's a direct line from one of the men on the show. My young son wondered why all the men were bad guys except for the two main male characters who basically worship the main character (serious feminist feminist wish fulfillment).

The show broke men down in to two categories: 1.) Men who worship the female (Supergirl) are good (jimmy Olsen and Supergirl's work friend) 2.) Men who did not worship the female were psychotic killers or violent military men. There are no other types on the show. It reeks of the uber feminist CBS Entertainment Chairman Nina Tassler's feminist ideology which makes since, the show is her baby.

Its hard to enjoy a show that is openly racist, sexist, and has an obvious political agenda all while sending the message "If you don't agree with us YOUR the racist, sexist problem," apparently CBS thinks its OK to be racist to white people and sexist towards men because their feminist Chairmen says so. Whats worse is this show is aimed at young adults, teens and kids, meaning your kids are purposely being fed an hour of pure propaganda in the guise of a Superhero show.
373 out of 613 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Trash trash, trash, trash
manusuazo16 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
First of all i would like to say that i have watched 19 episodes of this show and i am entitled to my opinion (unlike people who saw the pilot and left it) and i have to say that this show is just not good.Are there episodes that are sort of good? Of course,but it says something that your best episode is a collaboration with another studio. to keep in that mindset the biggest problem with the show is its writing. the dialogue is so bad with quips and one liners that are cringeworthy, a story that is propaganda in on itself (which i will touch later), characters that i just don't care about, and love triangles that are just unnecessary.

this show is a mess starting with a big plot that involves "saving the world because of global warming, and the fact we don't care for the environment". GIVE ME A BREAK. why do you think this story is interesting? the market is so filled with propaganda about saving the world that this just does not help, what it does is it uses a stupid pretext of a story in a show that is already filled with feminist propaganda. As i said the writing on this show is just terrible.

so yes you have a show with a female lead, do you need to push all this feminist trash on us every chance you get? like "if god existed SHE would not let this happen", like it genuinely pains me that the show tries so hard to push this bullshit to us, and does not focus on being a having a good story or good characters or at least decent action.

to finish, the thing that bothers me the most is how much potential a female superman has to a good story, but all of that is wasted with stupid lines and stupid propaganda that all it does is bring down the show. so, would i recommend you watch it? NO.
111 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Recapturing our youth
verdantnightingale7 November 2015
After all the harsh reviews I've seen, I decided to actually sign up for this site just to give a more balanced review.

First, I won't lie. I'm a big time superhero lover. Truth be told, Wonder Woman was my true inspiration when I was younger. I could relate to her and admired her strength and courage. I felt like if she could do anything, so could I. Sure, I was just a kid, but that kind of thing is great for kids.

With that said, I feel like this will bring up a new generation of superhero lovers. Everyone basically keeps saying this show is too tropey. But who started those tropes? The classics, of course. Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman. These were our go-to since comics existed. Supergirl was later created so that girls could have a feminine figure to admire as well.

I feel like so many people are missing the point of this show because they think it's too silly, the writing is too immature, or the plot seems too on-the-nose. But look at it from a new perspective: Can parents see themselves watching this with their children? Arrow shows some rather steamy scenes when that sweet lovin' is going on. What are parents doing? "No, sorry kids, can't watch this." But Kara is cute, dorky, and the Everygirl. She wants her boss to be more understanding, she wants to help people, and she always has an encouraging word to say. The most important thing -- she values her friends. What better lesson to teach your kids in a modern age? And for those who are kids at heart, it's still an enjoyable show. There's a great cast with lots of people we recognize (at least I recognize several). It reminds me of my youth and why I loved superheroes to begin with. She's a *clothed* feminine figure who isn't relying on the size of her chest or butt to show how capable she is. Wasn't that the biggest complaint of all scifi and fantasy? Now, anyone who remembers the classic Disney movie, Hercules, and loved it regardless of what age they are, I feel like that's the movie that best describes this show. I was young enough to appreciate it, and I've even re-watched it out of nostalgia a few times. The more I think of a dorky person who didn't know their own abilities, including that inner heroic capability, the more I see a parallel between that movie and Supergirl 2015. Both wanted to be more. Both wanted to find a purpose in life. Both found it by being a hero and saving others.

For people who missed that 90s happy campy nature, I feel like this show brings it back, but without feeling like an entire "camping" trip. Having also seen Arrow, Flash, and Gotham, Supergirl show is worthy of all ages. I just believe people need to give Supergirl a chance. Like any show, it will find that "groove" and improve. We've barley even started.
314 out of 519 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What once had potential has become predictable and lazy
jp75702 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I have watched Supergirl since its inception, when it started on CBS. It started out as a promising new series (with some forgivable port casting choices, notably Calista Flockhart). But once the show relocated to the CW, and moved to Canada to save production costs, things seem to have gone downhill.

Many of Greg Berlanti's shows have a formula, that principally includes "teams" - Team Flash, Team Arrow, even "Team Supergirl" (counting the DEO). That automatically reduces the reliance on the central character. The team approach exceeds "suspension of disbelief" with such items as Winn being the DEO's "Wesley Crusher" (and apparently the smartest computer whiz on the planet), but also someone that can assemble super-suits together. And James (not Jimmy) Olsen, who instead of being a young, inexperienced geeky kid is now the COO of a worldwide media corporation (and a buff adult too). This gets harder to buy every week.

There are also some ridiculous creative choices by Mr. Berlanti. Brainiac now looks more like a cute member of a blue boy band, not the super villain he was supposed to be. And Mr. Mxyzptlk as a suave British suitor for Kara? Really?!? Even the addition of Superman doesn't look so, sorry, "super".

Then there's the title character of Kara. Instead of growing and becoming a better hero, she seems to devolve into self-pity and "no one can understand what I go through". Mellisa Benoist is a likable enough actress - don't make her a spoiled child. If she is going to take on something called a "world killer", don't you think her cousin might want to help too?

There are too many obvious cost-cutting measures in the post-CBS productions. In each 44-minute episode (1 hour minus commercials), at least half that time is spent talking about the feelings of some secondary character. That means less flying, less fighting, and less CGI production expenses.

So what does work? It was a nice touch when Kara would text Clark for advice and communication. But that hasn't been seen in a long time. Also, Kara needs to be allowed to mature as both a hero and a person (which has not happened yet). The crossovers between Berlanti's universe have been kind of interesting, especially with Flash/Supergirl storylines. But that can get tired really, really fast if they are not careful.

Post-CBS, the series has been on the downslide and may continue if cost savings are the principle concern.
36 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shark, meet Jumped.
gahvno1 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
As so many others here, I really wanted to like this series. Sadly, it's become nothing more than a millennial vehicle for the religion of AGW, rabid, yet sometimes stealthily introduced third-wave feminism, case- studies for the New Castrati metro-boyz, over-the-top cheesy-puppy dialogue, and overt lesbianism that has absolutely nothing to do with any workable story-line and serves only to push the identity politics and agendas of a studio management that dreams of a world comprised of diverse-for-diversity's-sake nightmare Enterprise bridge crews. We watched every episode, overlooking the mediocre acting and PC-ness as a simple act of escape-ism. But, we saw that as the second season unfolded, this silly show wasn't going to make it, alas and alack. When the producers and check-signers decided to actively use what could have been a really fun show to promote their own, tiny-fringe beliefs onto the rest of us - you know, the people who watch the adverts and spend the coin - it was time to switch it off and look elsewhere. So-called "progressive" propaganda and latent sexual identity issues indoctrination has no place in what is purportedly pushed as a prime- time kids and young-adult TV show. But, then again, that is how the left gets things done, isn't it?

As the title infers, for us and many other people I've talked to, Supergirl jumped the shark in season 2, starting at episode 5.

Too bad. It really could have been a fun ride.
84 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Isn't there a 0 star rating?
irakliskosso28 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Supergirl is soooooooo bad that made me wanna write about it! I hate all that cheesy and girly stuff! I don't care much about the awful acting but the lack of imagination and that terrible script are off the limits! I get that they can't have Superman in every single episode but where is he now when an evil Kryptonian is around? Especially when supergirl failed and almost died... And how was she beaten by reign? I mean she just now got her powers... And how do these powers aren't affected by the blue sun on that solar system they went in the last episode. I don't remember the name of that solar system and I don't even want to bother searching it. That awful this series is! And so awful that makes me want to lose time of my life writing about it's awfulness!!!!!! And again about Kara's powers.. She has beaten Superman and he admitted that she is stronger than him?! (Ok let's not talk about that) And yet she can't beat that trash of a villain... Booooooo!!!! Martian manhunter is one of the most op characters of DC and yet we don't get to see him in action, not even when he could actually be helpful. Nope he's good just for impersonating Kara and talking for Lena's sex life. Other characters are so bad looking that even halloween costumes are way better than theirs. And even a little girl playing with her mom's make up could probably get a more realistic look. (guardian, livewire, that alien winn used to date, now braniac 5 and the list goes on...) Speaking of braniac 5, how excactly did he manage to not know the answer twice in an episode? And especially that Kara's subconsciousness wanted to show her something? I mean he seemed like he knew what he was doing and he was the one explaining kara about the hole situation with her subconsciousness choosing her apartment just to feel comfortable. I feel sorry for the Arrowverse and I'm pretty sure that the actors of the other shows feel the same way.. Once again booooooooooo
43 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
James Olsen.... really?
jimsboatworks26 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
OK... I gave this show a fair chance. The casting is poorly executed and lazy. Supervisor is not blonde, but I can overlook that... I'm sorry, but JIMMY Olsen is supposed to be red haired, freckled and geeky. Several stories in the comics were based on this. Now we zoom into the future, regardless of his color, suddenly Jimmy Olsen turns into a physically cut confident manly man that insists on being called James. This is just too big of departure from the roots of the story. Making characters another race is expected in this age of TV diversity, but you need to keep their essence. They didn't and ruined the story for me. I can't take this adaptation serious.... Jimmy Olsen is a geek and us comic fans are geeks, he is one of our own, not a cut gym rat. It gets a 1 star in my book. Killing a story in a poor attempt to be diverse.
276 out of 472 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not a great show
ScypherB16 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I really like super hero stuff and wanted to like this show. I love when they do those cross over episodes and so decided to give the rest of this show a try...

Finished the second season and can say with utter surety that this is the worst written show I have ever watched. This show makes Sense 8 look smart and well put together.

There are some decent characters and performances, but the writers can't seem to decide who they want the characters to be. Every single character seems to wildly fluctuate between being though as nails, take no prisoners war machine, then suddenly a weak little kitten unsure of their place in the world.

The plot lines are completely over the top lacking any subtlety or nuance. They beat you over the head with it. The alien invaders saying they're going to "make Earth great again" for example. It's not even done intentionally bad, like Legends of Tomorrow will sometimes do, self deprecating humor...no, they think they're actually being witty with these lines of dialogue and stories.

The president turns out to be an alien who assumed the identity of the president, but it's OK because she's still a Democrat and wants to help. I'm not making this up. The entire team even agrees to join a conspiracy to help cover up this alien's crime, not treating it like a major breach of security, democracy, and the entire security of the planet...no...it's no biggie.

Saying this show's writing lacks talent is an understatement.
43 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't bother. It had potential but it keeps getting worse and worse - SPOILERS
meneermalik-127 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I went into this series hoping that it would be another Smallville or something similar but was pretty disappointed with season 1. It did seem like there was potential so I decided to give season 2 a try and have been more and more disappointed with each episode I watch.

My biggest problem is Supergirl's attitude. She behaves like a spoiled, self-entitled, super arrogant, super bitchy - dick. As Jimmy and Wynn set up for Guardian she knocks them down every chance she has and refuses to let someone else do what they want. She behaves like this with Mon-El and pretty much everyone else. This goes on and on throughout all of season two (up to episode 14 so far).

The fights are really badly edited. There are so many instances where you see the punch or kick fly by the opponent and missing them by a good foot (f not more) and that takes you out of the moment. It looks more like they were filming the rehearsals rather than the actual sequences. Some fights are just unbareable to watch because of that. It's a shame because the stunts and fights for the most part are well done so it's a shame to ruin good work by poorly placed cameras and bad editing.

Supergirl is an idiot. Over and over again she knocks down the bad guy, then turns around for whatever reason and just stands there. Meanwhile the bad guy gets up and kicks her ass. Happens over and over. Just not believable and it makes the character seem like they're pretty incompetent and shouldn't be fighting in the first place. For being someone that has super speed she sure can let herself get her ass kicked left, right and center by just regular humans with the odd gadget.

Plot line in season two is almost non existent. There's a vague story arch going on in the background but the episodes are filled with melodrama and bad acting. Please, tell me for the next 5 minutes why your feelings are hurt, why I disappointed you, why you don't like me, etc, etc. This should be called - Supergirl - The soap opera.

My last point which made me say OK, I'm not watching this anymore was episode 14 of season two. Apart from almost nothing going on (the plot line/story could have been advanced in less than 5 minutes, the rest was fluffer). Kara and Alex get their father back (was rescued) who has been working for Cadmus for 14 years, they reinstate him in the DEO with full access and no questions asked? WHAT?? Common, what sort of morons write sh*t like this? The season is full of moments like this where you just scratch your head and say "UH, WTF?!"

I will say that the acting has gotten better over time. Somewhat normal I'd say for the actors to take some time to fall into their roles but that's definitely not enough to save the series.

Final thoughts - don't waste your time unless you like Days of Our Lives and enjoy seeing the plot/storyline advance about as fast as a daytime soap opera and also enjoy all the melodrama that comes with it. In order for this show to survive you'd have to get a whole new writing crew in and reinvent the show. Not impossible but is it going to happen? Likely not. No wonder it has a low rating.
47 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Season 3 has turned into full ideological propaganda
eodeod2 November 2017
It was an okay TV show, but season 3 is such vile ideological, brainless propaganda it deserves to be canceled yesterday.

I love superheroes and it saddens me that Supergirl is hijacked by the leftist ideologues. Kids need someone to look up to teach them good values and proper behavior like courage, truth and selflessness. They don't need to brainwashed into group think and identity politics, scared to even question that and think that silencing anyone they disagree with for whatever reason is acceptable in a democracy.

I wish producers and writers publicly apologize. Fat chance of that happening, but you can not watch the show. Which is what I'd recommend and what I'm doing. Vote with your wallet and your attention. You do have a voice and a choice.
54 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad writing meets bad acting
matthiasn-13 July 2017
The second season is even worse than the first one.

Unfortunately the series doesn't manage to make any connection with the characters, the writing is really bad. Unlogical plots, undeveloped character arcs and no meaningful story at all, just pathetic dialogues.

At least some of the fighting scenes are quite OK.
48 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
awkward awkward awkward...
ochakor19 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
out of all the superhero TV shows lately, this one has got to be the cheapest. And i don't necessarily mean that in terms of budget, but in terms of effects, screenplay, dialogue, and acting... i guess a lot of us were expecting something in the continuity of Arrow and The Flash, and even if these TV shows also have major flaws (like bad guys shooting assault rifles with stormtrooper accuracy for example),and though Supergirl predicted a more light-hearted feel to it, it could have been entertaining. But it's not. It's painful. It looks like someone slapped up this show in the 90s, and it's just coming out now. The effects are poor, the story is just rushed with no explanation or development. Things just happen really fast and with sometimes borderline acting (Supergirl has these weird grimaces... is it voluntary?), and people just do what they do, and we're supposed to be like "oh, OK, no time to explain". Like "SPOILERS!!!!!!

This dude who we find out is her best friend, to whom she tells her secret just like that BAAM! and who's also in love with her who also just hacks into police surveillance for her and also makes her a suit with "polymer" blabla high tech stuff although he's just a normal office worker like her. And all that in about 2 minutes. Convenient much?

SPOILER ENDS HERE

AND STEREOTYPES!! so many stereotypes that have been going on since EVERY TV SHOW EVER! Even Smallville delivered better content then this. You'd think they would move on to new things. It just makes you cringe, you know? It's possible you might like this show... if you don't ask questions and just pretend everything makes sense, or if you think the actress is cute, but don't go looking for a "good" TV show. Just try to get past the pilot if you can! But with so many "fails" in one episode, it's too disappointing to carry on.
223 out of 397 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You need to give an opportunity...
ahmetkozan11 April 2016
Keep in mind that some shows take a while to find themselves. Arrow had the same problem during its first season. Just give the show some time before making any drastic judgements.

If there's one things that the pilot has shown us, it's that the CW should handle all DC related TV. They clearly know what they're doing, what with Arrow, Flash and iZombie. CBS already failed with the 1990 version of the Flash, and if they don't do something they're going to kill Supergirl before the show gets a chance to get off the ground.

The pilot is cheesy, and ya there are plenty of screw ups, but the overall feel for the show is good. Again, just give the show some time. It may get better, it may get worse. The only way to find out is to watch and hope for the best. And at the end of the day, this still wasn't as bad as Man of Steel.

I know this is a rare female lead in a superhero show; but does female empowerment need to be referenced continually? Why can we not have a Ripley or a Sarah Connor where gender is secondary to a character fulfilling a role? 6/10
48 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful !!!
abrahamyan-armen21 December 2017
All the cliches in the world are in this show. Stories are very bad, there are some serious doubts about Melissa Benoist's acting abilities, especially when it comes to simulating acting with special effects, like firing laser with eyes. Show has no sense, no meaning, lots of unintuitive characters are brought forward to stretch each episode by fulfilling it about their personal life issues. Well if creators are doing it at least do it a little deeper, so that it will be more thoughtful and can have some impact. The only positive thing in the show is Katie McGrath. Without her acting, this show is lost.
44 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I tried so hard
mparchami29 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
i don't wanna be harsh but the only word that can describe this show is "bullshit". after watching 15min of pilot i was literary sleeping. act was so bad, poor effects . wtf was those punches. even i skipped this recent cross over episode with flash. i think they should start over with new crew
40 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Super Ridiculous
caxuxo28 April 2018
A Super hero that keeps being beaten by everyone...
42 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed