Ballers (TV Series 2015– ) Poster

(2015– )

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
It's pretty good actually and VERY realistic !
Sergio20 July 2015
I really enjoy this series, i truly do ! Why ? Not because i want in-depth scripts and complex personalities and such but genuine laid-back real-life drama. A TV series that you can get into from the first episode and by the end you know what's up. No need to watch the first 5 episodes before it all starts making sense. It's realistic and therefore it appeals to a lot of people even though most people haven't lived that sort of life or know celebrities for that matter. We know enough through the tabloids, TV, news, internet, etc etc. to know how some people can't carry the weight of success and they end up on the wrong side of history. We've seen many examples and of course we have also seen people that handle it pretty well too.

Whether they are athletes, actors or singers or whatever, they are all subjected to all sorts of seductions, schemes, paparazzi, and of course freeloading people around them. In that respect the series is very realistic. It is of course laced with predictable outcomes by that's all fine as they still make it all very enjoyable and easy to watch.

The actors they picked are very good for the roles they play so i don't see the negativism that some people have. Maybe they expected Grammy award plots, i don't know ...

It's just great entertainment, beautiful people & cars, good music, tight dresses and tailored suits and no psychic bloating.

My only point of criticism is that each episode is too short. It should be twice as long (50 instead of just 25 minutes).
30 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It's a Good Show Worth Watching & Love The Actors
aaronrseahawks25 June 2015
This is a show that deserves at least a 7.5 - 8.0. There's no show out there like it really right now. The actors are good, im not just talking about Dwayne Johnson but everyone else. They just go good with this show & what its about.

I like shows like The League & I do like football so this does interest me but I do truthfully think even if you're not totally into football you would still like this for what it has to offer. It does obviously take a certain taste but its pretty common comedy so a lot would like it. Its not amazing or a Must Watch!!! but its worth it in my opinion. They cancelled a show that I did like the pilot of which was The Rebels which is also about football & its funny. It's good to see another one come along & hopefully it can remain around.
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent Show!
tremice5 August 2015
This is show is a fast-paced romp that clearly draws from it's Entourage roots both in styling and format. While it may not be ground-breaking TV it is extremely enjoyable with Dwayne Johnson being a superb choice for the lead. The supporting cast is also well chosen with strong performances by John David Washington, Omar Benson Miller and Donovan W. Carter II. Really, the show is very well cast all around. While it will be interesting to see how all the characters evolve, I'm particularly curious to see how Dwayne's character develops and understand what motivates his financial choices. For the complainers, lets try and remember this is entertainment, not nuclear fission. I personally look forward to watching this show evolve and mature over time.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Doesn't work for me
grantss6 October 2015
Doesn't work for me.

A retired NFL player, Spencer Strasmore (played by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson) now works as a financial adviser / business development manager / client manager at an advice firm, Anderson Financial. His aim is to use his contacts in the football world to get players as clients. The series looks as his life, and the lives of the players.

Maybe you really have to be into the private lives of football players to like this series. To me it just seems mediocre. As a drama, not edgy or gritty enough. As a comedy, not funny enough. While some attempt is given to give the characters some depth, its not enough - I never really felt engaged.

Ultimately, not compelling viewing.
30 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Ballers ended up being boring
fibilove31 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Ballers started off great with some interesting conflicts that you couldn't wait to see how they turned out. In the end, all the conflicts were solved to easily and made it feel like a real let down. For example, when the Vernon Littlefield blackmail situation came up in the show, what would have made it interesting was if Vernon's best friend was behind it. In the end it was Spencer Strasmore's ex and all he had to do was talk to her to resolve it...... really. The created lots of interesting story-lines only to just disappoint in the end. The Rock was great though, Rob Corddry did a good job, he was funny. Troy Garity and Dulé Hill also did a good job and fit their roles well.

This show has potential to be really great. The writers just need to amp up the drama with some surprises and don't let a situation hang around for three episodes if the resolution is going to be simple.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great Show
offsmith13 January 2018
Great show with some great dialogue and characters. The show is entertaining from start to finish. Character relationships and dialogue are hilarious at times while still maintaining the seriousness with one another.

The continually growing plot and development of all the characters keeps you invested and wanting to watch more. Cameos from big stars and athletes is a bonus for the show.

I recommend this show to anyone.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Good show
dannyolivercampbell23 June 2015
I honestly think this is a good show. I know it's on HBO and shows like True Detective and Game of Thrones have writing, directing and acting that are all on point and set at such a high level. So everyone expects almost perfection from an HBO show. Let me just say that this show is a good show and better than most shows on the air right now. It's not quite on the level of production as the best HBO shows. But I would say it's a higher quality show than Entourage, which was also an HBO show.

The driving force of the show is Dwayne Johnson. And it seems like he was always just out of reach of greatness and his true potential. But he gives a strong performance in this show. Probably the best acting he has done. Although he gave good performances in Pain and Gain, and Snitch (even if the movies themselves weren't the best). Some of his other roles have been just okay or decent. But he definitely is in a new level of acting for this role.

It's a good mix of drama and comedy. I really like the intensely serious shows on HBO, but it's nice to have something a little lighter, but not be a joke either. It has a good balance. This show does feel more like a showtime or starz show than HBO. But I'm not going to deduct points from it just because it's on HBO instead of another channel. It's a good show, regardless of where or how I watch it.
19 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Flat view into fantasy land
gregkut24 July 2016
Ballers is a view into the fantasy land of being an NFL player, but not everything is champagne and caviar in the mean and nasty pro sports landscape. The show is flat for me because a) the Rock is not believable as a financial adviser. Did he go into this line of work just because his name is Spencer Strasmore, and it sounds like a 200 year old blue blood investment bank? b) the guys on this show, no matter if they throw in some adversity, always get what they want in the end. Like Entourage.. Oh, a magic phone call came in from Dallas, they want to offer you asking price plus $10M. all is fine in the world again! oh you had unprotected sex with that random club girl? your STD test came back negative! no worries! c.) the actors don't seem to care that much. Rob Cordroy is OK, the boss is half decent, but the Jewish/Italian agent looks at the camera half the time, the Rock is playing himself yet again, and the famous guys they get on the show are always brutal.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
It's not actually a spoiler if nothing happens
sakiververis3 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This strong ensemble cast suffers from a whitewashed plot line. I can only assume the producers are wary of offending the NFL, but it's like they cut away right when something crazy should happen.

For instance in the last episode, one of the main characters is interviewing with the Nola Saints. He gets to the Big Easy, and spoiler alert, falls asleep in his hotel room. Crazy right. Same episode, a football player wants to buy shitty property and Dwayne Johnson convinces him he shouldn't. Sorry, should have said spoiler alert before revealing that big plot twist.

The players on any given Sunday, or The replacements seem way more real. This feels like it has potential, but backs way off when it comes to controversy. It makes the Miami high-life look like a PBS kids show...with a spackling of F-bombs and a naked girl now and again. Edgy stuff...
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Works for Now, but Higher Expectations for Future Episodes
Tommy Tran22 June 2015
I was fairly neutral going into "Ballers," but the idea of seeing fast cars, flashy lifestyles, and of course, the Rock intrigued me. However halfway into the pilot, a few things became painfully obvious. The writing is passable. It is by no means bad, but being an HBO show, I expected sharp writing akin to "Game of Thrones," "Girls," or "Silicon Valley." Nevertheless the dialogue wasn't bad, it was just... not what I would have liked. Possibly sharper humor and more insights into the financial world of the rich. Even better would be a new take on professional sports that we haven't seen already. The acting is good though. The Rock is charismatic as ever, and the supporting cast hold their roles well. The only thing is seeing Dule Hill go from playing the hilariously nonathletic and effeminate Gus from "Psych" to a player for the Miami Dolphins. That was a bit jarring. Either way it's nice to see him in another role. The most troubling thing is really the pacing. As soon as the show starts, we are thrown into the opening credits which move dizzyingly fast and leave your head spinning. From there the show makes a breakneck pace in its story progression. I really wish they would've taken their time and made it an hour long show instead of a half hour. It would have given them time to flesh out character development and let scenes play out naturally. In its current state it feels like someone is standing behind the actors with a cattle prod telling them to hurry up. Just like the writing itself, the pacing could learn lessons from "Game of Thrones" or "Girls," each of whom takes its time in the delivery of the narrative. Let the characters really be characters. Advancing the plot doesn't have to happen every few seconds. To be fair it is only the first episode. Maybe they were going quickly to make the first episode a big one, and things will slow down and progress more naturally in later episodes. We will see next week.
13 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Racist Writing???
Tim Kelly20 July 2015
In reply to Nathaniel Bellamy's critique of the writing on this show....You thought this was racist writing? What a joke. Superficial? Heck yes this show is superficial. It is as superficial as a Lil Wayne or Cash Money album. Do you think that Cash Money makes good music? I bet a lot of the people who do like this show. And guess what....that was the demographic that they were trying to impress. So long story short...if shiny things and dollar signs are enough to captivate you....then you will also like this show. That is not racist. That is capturing a very unintelligent market niche. They succeeded. Your black America comment was stupid and you are a disgrace to intelligent black people.
11 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
OK if you don't mind stiff acting
fanita001 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is an HBO show on its second season. The show premise is about a retired and injured football player who decides to be an agent and help other players, in a sense, so they do not end up like he did. There is one thing about TV shows like these that try too hard to authenticate their story. It's when real- life people are hired to perform jobs they are not qualified to do such as acting. Each time a real-life footballer or coach shares the screen with someone like Andy Garcia, you can tell immediately the error of the producers or casting people. It is a huge mistake to put people on a show just because they are the real deal unless they can act. Watching this show can be painful especially for people that do not know about football players but like to watch a fun show. It made me cringe so bad today that I wanted to warn other viewers. I was watching S02-E03 today, and it was the big guy who hurt his Achilles heel that made me stop the show.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Enjoyable, but disappointing because it had potential.
iversonro23 August 2015
Almost finished watching the series. I would say it is somewhat entertaining for sure, but don't expect a great series. Actually i feel disappointed, because to be honest, i really think that this show (or the idea of it) had potential. It lacks substance, we need more stories - it should have had that "Any Given Sunday" vibe and if they wanted some comedy a bit of "Jerry Maguire" also. Make an episode at least 45 min - 25 min for this kind of show will just present some shallow stories, with no real substance. It's really a shame, i actually enjoyed The Rock in the show and if they would've made the series seriously, it would've a lot of room to grow.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Worth watching. Some great characters
xfaaf27 August 2015
I would probably give this a 7.5 if I could. Not quite an 8!

This is a very unusual choice of TV show for me when I look back at all the other shows I have watched and the ones I didn't. I gave this a chance, more as a random encounter and now I find myself including it in my weekly TV selection.

I'm not a fan of American Football but this doesn't really go into the game that much.

I would recommend for anyone that likes a little bit of a comedy drama if you can spare less than half an hour a week.

I've not been laughing out loud at this show but it has made me chuckle a couple of times, which to me is more than I expected from it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The downward turn of an otherwise perfect show?
Angelus1117 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
For those that haven't yet started Ballers, well then you're seriously missing out. Season 1 & 2 just couldn't be any more fun. Primarily based in a world of 'tit's & ass (and who doesn't love that?!),' it's a wonderful 'no brainer' show with some interesting subplots...second of course to the T&A and general over-indulgence. Great performances from Dwayne Johnson and a number of the supporting cast, however prepare yourself the likes of Donavon Carter (Vernon) and others who'll make your question if the Casting Director has a substance abuse issue..

10/10, I can't get enough of this show! ...however..

Before you fall in love too quickly, beware of Season 3. I'm not sure if we've seen a switch in writers but for what was already a pretty basic/simple show, the writing now feels terribly lazy. What was at first a show routed in entertainment; cheap thrills and a structured plot, somehow loses its way completely. You'll find yourself re-watching everything you saw in 1 & 2, only with a slightly different spin - Spencer again has a medical condition to contend with (which will later be discarded and never mentioned again), they need to take on another rich businessman (who knew 'Mahoney' couldn't act?!), and so on. Far worse is the show seems to lose its identity focusing less on fantasy lifestyles and switching to tackling 'corporate greed' - be prepared to endure the "You sound like a rich white guy" line more than once. Season 3 feels less like Ballers, and more like an afternoon with The Walton's installing solid family and moral values. I've already purchased the first two seasons, I'm starting to question if this was a mistake..

So, Ballers is a great show. Just don't start investing your money until we've seen Season 4 and know if 3 was just a blip!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing actors and actresses, story and directing.
mpcs-6936112 September 2017
Just for record I'm 33yo male lifelong fan of cinema, to name a few I've watched several hundred times:

Original SNL, Indiana Jones, Beverly Hills Cop, Predators, Aliens, Simpsons, Seinfeld, Futurama, Family Guy, Cowboy Bebop, My Name is Earl, Breaking Bad, BCS, Rick & Morty, Aqua Teen Hunger Force, South Park, DBZ, Marvel series, Battlestar Galactica, Star Trek (Enterprise, DS9, Voyager and all movies), Deadwood, Firefly, Flight of the Concords, Frasier... and many more I'm sure most of you know as well.

I just found Ballers a few weeks ago and I literally just finished binge-watching it up to current, and I'm already foaming at the mouth waiting for more. I really hope they make this 10 seasons or more. The cast, the writers, the directing: it can't be any better, I love this show! It's not often a show really makes me LOL.

I'm not about to give any spoilers, but the best I can describe it is a realistic comedy / drama, and that's a rare thing!

Honestly, I would subscribe to HBO specifically for this one show, it's that good, and that's saying something. If you're a fan of Dwayne The Rock Johnson and Rob Cordroy like I am, you'll love it. I'm still waiting for Dwayne to do his patented eyebrow move :)

I was hooked after the first episode. If you haven't seen it, give it a try, even if you're not a big football fan, honestly I'm not and I still love this show. This opinion comes from a educated fan of cinema, I hope this inspires someone to try Ballers out, you won't be sorry.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Nothing original or remotely enjoyable to watch
Jupiter Cadence30 June 2015
It basically exploits the airwaves to bring you every unimaginative, unoriginal, stereotypical male fantasy cliché in existence.

It follows the same formula that has been recycled ad nauseam:

1. Flashy men strutting around, boasting "bling," fancy cars, young blonde girls on their arms.

2. Limit women's speaking roles mainly to young s/x objects or angry wives and limit their screen time to degrading positions. Give these roles to very young, pretty women with slender physiques. Fill the rest of the background with decorative artifacts in the form of 19 year old extras.

3. Reinforce over and over again that a man must be rich to be admirable. Make sure there's no question of what makes a man a man: material items and unlimited women.

4. Make sure that it's obvious that being a faithful partner who makes an honest living is totally uncool.

5. Repeat module over and over again for at least 60 years.

This garbage pushes an agenda of keeping society so incredibly in the dark about financial responsibility and a decent, upstanding lifestyle. Brought to you by wealthy Beverly Hills execs who know how to keep a STEADY flow of money, assets and resources in their pocket and who for the most part have a wife and children. They have a healthy, full life and continually make money by exploiting YOUR boyhood fantasies of womanizing and frivolous extravagance. I'm sure they are forever indebted to you for your immaturity and naivety. For the rest of us who grew up somewhere between age 11 and 14: we're not drawn in by this crap.

Funny thing is, it won't show you where these players end up: broke and alone. Let's watch that series.
18 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not a Bad premise, but the direction of Peter Berg (in the pilot) ruins it.
Dr_Sagan22 June 2015
This is a sport's drama which tries to have a couple of funny (sort of) moments.

It's about the not-so-glamorous-underneath lives of professional athletes of American football.

With a premise like that you know what to expect. Lots of money, mansions, expensive cars, lots of skunks (!) (they said it not me), but also dreams that falling, lost opportunities, lies and deceits.

Dwayne Johnson is rather sympathetic but his role is uneven. He has lots of problems (and monetary) but he has to keep his cool and transmit to the others.

Peter Berg's direction of the pilot was a misfire though. Like he doesn't know what he was doing. And his acting as the strict "coach" was bad.

Although the pilot ran for 30 whole minutes, the lack of substance and not getting anywhere, made it feel as short as a 2' commercial. When it ended I was like "what?". Felt more like a trailer or something.

Anyway, I will keep watching, and will see.
17 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good Start but nothing Extraordinary...
Ronak Modi25 June 2015
Dwayne Johnson is the only reason I watched the pilot of show. I think he is going to be the man around whom the story will revolve.

Story depicts post retirement life of players of an American Football team. Things which I could understand was that Dwayne had very huge talent and potential as a player but somehow he could not achieve stardom or get respect that he should have got during his playing days. So now he is trying to come to terms with life after football which seems to be very difficult for him.

This is first time I can see Dwayne has a chance to showcase acting skills which were surprisingly good. Rest of the cast is bearable and I have got nothing much to say about them. Direction has to improve a lot as first episode was not up to HBO standards for example "Game of Thrones" and "True Detective".

My final take will be its a passable show but you can give it a try to decide if you want to continue.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
When I get sad after an episode ends, it's gotta be good!
WING MAN23 August 2016
I must admit being from the UK I know nothing about American Football accept for the fact that it'd be better game if the players wore less padding! However that being said I love this series. It's injected with some great dry humor, realistic sets and locations, sharp colorful photography, great scripts, and I must say top class and very fluid acting. It seems the actors are actually having some fun with their roles and have been given an element of freedom to develop their characters. I'd like to think Ballers is a realistic insight into the world of American Football but to be honest I don't know, and I'm not sure I even care. What matters is Ballers works for me, is believable and in a nutshell makes for great entertainment and is a pleasure to watch each week!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Entourage anyone?
NielaC29 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This show is about basketball (at least that's what I understood, even though I didn't hear any reference to the sport on the first 20 something minutes). Let me correct myself, this show is about watching "the Rock" doing some retired player in a re-writing of Entourage. Why do you keep doing this kind of series? You had a decent one like Entourage, you should stop! The cast is amazing, good actors, not so good actors (talking about Jazmyn Simon, among others - don't you think you look better in comedy movies?) and they all look very attained to make this a good series. Except that this isn't. Poor script, poor organization of scenes and mostly, lack of originality. For those reasons, I really hope this ends soon and stop waisting TV time.
9 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Alright show!
Joey Ro21 July 2017
This isn't for everyone but if if you like Dwayne Johnson you will find this enjoyable enough. The show isn't as good as the rocks other productions but it is better than all shows on hbo now! The characters are likable enough and you have some sympathy for them(at least most characters). As a football fan I understand this enough,and Johnson is likable enough. There are many flaws but overall a good enough show!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Series Review - Nontourage
hollywoodvapingco5 October 2016
I was excited to see the latest offering from Steven Levinson, with input from Mark Wahlberg.The success of Entourage and the character arcs were interesting, and each episode felt complete, almost like mini-movies. So why not apply this winning formula to the Football world? Well it seems they tried and in my opinion, failed. Standing by itself it's an OK show at best, but I feel cheated after the end of Season 2. It's almost as if 2 seasons have passed and NOTHING has been resolved, or happened. Spencer's arc is boring and feels like it's going nowhere. I don't see any other arcs going anywhere and the season ended on a dull 'nothing' note.

So, comparatively to entourage it falls short, is OK on it's own, but ultimately, is mildly entertaining and has some insight into the corporate world of football. Disappointed in the team though.....
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not Bad!!
legra6615 August 2017
I felt I could predict what was to come seeing we see ballers lives play out in real life anyways but, some surprises. As with all HBO programs, seems there always has to be the gratuitous sex scenes in every episode which is getting a tad annoying and putting me off HBO shows altogether. Besides that, not a bad show and worth watching!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Entertaining at best
ianstark-958822 August 2017
With a relatively good rating, and good reviews I thought the show was going to better than it actually was. The show's comedy is very one dimensional and somewhat stereotypical, it's similar to what you will find in the movies 'war dogs', 21/22 jump street, superbad, etc. So don't expect any comedic gold to come out of this show, for me it was a giggle every now and then. As far as the story goes, it's once again pretty plain, you can see what's going to happen next from a mile away and you always know that everything is going to go okay for our protagonists. The show was underwhelming to say the least, but it was still an in all entertaining, if you're looking for a show that isn't serious and might make you crack a smile here and there, go ahead and watch it, the episodes are short so you won't get bored, I wouldn't call it a bad show, but it's not as good as it could be either.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews