Gone Girl (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
1,234 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Dark And Twisted, Full Of Great Visual Storytelling
CalRhys8 October 2014
Dark and twisted, David Fincher's stylish new mystery thriller was derived from Gillian Flynn's intriguingly slick tale from her complex and suspenseful novel. By far one of the best acting performances to have come from Ben Affleck, 'Gone Girl' boasts some strong yet disturbing portrayals from Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris, Tyler Perry and Affleck. Fincher has garnered fame and recognition as a mainstream director, that is not only able to engulf the audience within the picture, but actually make them part of the scenario. Fincher exercises upon his trademarks with the swift and stunning cinematography, the chilling score and tight editing, all of which makes 'Gone Girl' a movie full of great visual storytelling.
432 out of 690 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Astonishingly bad plot
bmcdannell3 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
If this had been written and played as a straight-out dark comedy - and if it had been at least half an hour shorter - perhaps it would have passed as a run of the mill movie. But since it has been presented as a serious mystery, it has committed the cardinal sin of filmmaking - that of disrespecting the intelligence and/or perspicacity of the audience. For us, the film represents a significant achievement in that it contains more and larger plot holes than any other movie we have ever seen - and we've seen many! This was even worse than Babel! That said - and a warning that reading further will take you deep into spoiler territory - the following is by no means a comprehensive list of the major holes in the plot. So ladies and gentlemen, start your engines and drive your semis straight through an impressive array of plot stupidity: 1. Amy buys a car listed on Craigslist for cash so there's no record of the purchase. How about title and license? Where does she keep the car until she needs it? How does she get to it when she needs it without being seen? 2. Amy buys lots of tech toys and crams her sister-in-law's shed with them. How does she get into and out of the shed without her sister-in-law (who doesn't like her) noticing? 3. The shed is where her husband sometimes has liaisons with another woman. They don't notice the accumulating gadgets? 4. The gadgets are bought online. Who is signing for them? 5. When the gadgets are investigated, whose fingerprints will be all over them - if there are any? 6. Desi is supposed to have broken into the house, beat her bloody and kidnapped her. There's blood all over the kitchen, but none where she would have been dragged out of the house? 7. As he supposedly leaves the house with an at best barely conscious Amy, Desi picks up her diary, takes it to her father-in-law's place and attempts to burn it in the furnace. Why? 8. How does Desi know where Amy's father-in-law lives? 9. Several days elapse from the time of the supposed kidnapping until Amy winds up at Desi's lake house. Can nobody attest to Desi's being at home during the time he was supposed to be kidnapping Amy? 10. What will be made of the video cameras at the lake house not showing anyone there for the first several days? 11. Desi was supposed to be holding her prisoner. Did nobody at the casino notice them there - including the man who thought she looked familiar? 12. Where does Amy's car wind up? 13. Phone records I: Amy makes the anonymous phone call tipping the police off to the contents of the shed. No record of that? 14. Amy scores a hole in one at miniature golf and jumps up and down for joy - which causes her money belt to fall off. This apparently was an Acme money belt on loan from Wile E. Coyote. 15. A couple robs Amy of all her money. Being the psycho she is, are we to believe that she is going to let them get away with it? 16. Phone records II. What is going to be made of Amy's phone call to Desi? Sure it was from a pay phone, but isn't it going to raise any flags? 17. Amy self-inflicts wounds - supposedly in the bathroom out of sight of cameras - to make it seem as though she has been bound and raped. Yet wouldn't the cameras show her entering the bathroom without wounds and emerging with wounds? 18. Amy winds up in the hospital upon her return. They put wristbands on her and one guesses they examine her - but they don't bother to wash the blood off of her. 19. Do they also fail to notice that there is no evidence of the injuries that would have occurred had she lost copious amounts of blood at the initial kidnapping? 20. Nick knows that Amy tried to set him up for her murder, thus opening him up to a possible death sentence. He also knows that when her plan blows up, she elects to murder someone who has never wronged her (other than being male) in order to cover up her actions which, until that point, may have been criminal - but not capital - offenses. Why does Nick elect to live in the same county as this woman, let alone in the same house? I could go on, but I realized before the movie was halfway over that I had already wasted too much of my life on it.
534 out of 865 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If Fincher was looking to UNDO himself...he has succeeded.
marrich200914 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I'm only writing this review because I noticed this appears in the top 3 of IMDb's "Top Movies of 2014" at the time of writing. This in itself was enough to make me p*ss my trousers, but I then went on to read some of the reviews, after which I completely soiled myself.

I'm all for suspension of disbelief, especially when watching Hollywood fare, but how is anyone buying this bullsh*t - and people are making comparisons with Alfred Hitchcock!?

It's as if the second half of the movie forgets the first half had happened. Let's look at what unfolds:

Psycho woman fakes own murder and plants enough clues around to implicate her husband. All the clues are so contrived that, for a short while, even the detective suspects all is not what it seems.

Meanwhile psycho wife has skipped out of town and disguised herself by dying her hair slightly less blonde and smacking herself in the cheek with a hammer, presumably to look like some trailer trash victim of domestic abuse and consequently giving her an excuse to wear Jackie Onasis sunglasses. All of this is keenly noted by the perceptive woman she moves next door to, yet despite watching her story on the news every day, her actual identity completely illudes the observant neighbour.

Despite psycho woman's meticulous planning and care, everything unravels when she accidentally drops a money belt (how does this happen?) with all of her cash in it, whilst, wait for it, playing crazy golf thus tempting said woman next door to rob her, which she does with the aid of her hick boyfriend. Calculating psycho woman sits by and does nothing at this stage. Instead choosing to call up an ex boyfriend and potentially throwing her entire plan to the wall. Luckily (phew!) her ex boyfriend is so obsessed with her (no-one knows why at this stage, or even cares) that he puts her up in his lake house with security cameras everywhere for her safety. He is quite happy for an innocent man to be sentenced to death it appears, despite having a visit from the guy in which he implies that there may be more to his wife than meets the eye. He does have very expensive sheets though.

Meanwhile, despite their best efforts, animators fail to make the Ben Affleck model appear in any way emotional or human. Not even CGI has any effect, so they just give up an go home. By now, no-one in the audience cares and Ben is replaced with a peace of plasticine that was left over when Tony Heart created Morph. Nobody, not even the supporting actors, notice.

Just when you think things couldn't become more contrived, psycho wife ties a ribbon round her ankle and throws some wine down her top to emulate the fact that she has been raped (?), or had a miscarriage, or just, I don't know, "Was that her favourite top she threw wine over, because she looks very upset in front of the porch camera."

She then has what clearly appears to be (for the sake of the cameras), consensual sex with her ex, before cutting his throat with a box cutter and making a dramatic return to her husband, without so much as a call to the police. Falling into her play-doh spouses arms, she is then rushed to hospital, where she convinces local detectives and the FBI that she was abducted and held as a prisoner, by her ex, this whole time. Detectives and FBI suddenly suffer from complete amnesia and forget entirely about the murder set up. If she was abducted by her ex storming into the house and whacking her with a club, why does she have no injuries, is she some kind of self healing salamander. She'd only been gone for just over a week. Why did no'one notice this altercation, or the ex-boyfriend appearing in the middle of the day - after all, the neighbour noticed the door was open? Where did the several pints of blood come from on the kitchen floor? Why was the lounge area staged? Did the ex-boyfriend leave a slightly charred copy of her diary in her husband's father's oven? Even window-putty Nick has the sense to ask "Erm, how did she cut his throat if she was tied up all the time as she claims?" "To which the uninquisitive police response is, wait for it, "Can't you just be happy your wife is home?"

"Yes, of course, we should invite Bundy, Manson and the Wests around and celebrate"

It's good to know that all you need to do, to hoodwink the FBI is act like a damsel in distress, wrap some rope around your wrists too tightly, and re-enact a scene from Big Brother using a champagne bottle for them to forget any evidence that may implicate you in murder or conspiracy to pervert the course of justice.

I'm sorry but even as some sort of metaphor about domestic bliss or mass media, this film fails on so many levels.

Total sh*t.
206 out of 330 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Shock and Awe
LiamCullen625 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
How on earth is this film attracting so much criticism?! This is one of the best films of 2014 and people are labelling it "utter tripe", "an enormous heap of illogic and nonsense", "wish I had missed it". Are these people serious? Can we no longer appreciate - or even identify - a great film?!

Gone Girl is a peerless plot-driven story about a wife who goes missing. Seems pretty ordinary, right? Well it's not. And it doesn't take very long at all for any sane viewer to recognise this.

You start watching and - as you do with any mystery - you start collecting the clues and piecing together an explanation for the events which have taken place. But no sooner than you have formed the perfect explanation in your mind is it immediately swept away in the most overwhelming twist of the year.

And it only gets better from there.

Gone Girl is a roller-coaster; only you're riding it in the dark. You don't know where the next turn is, you can't see where you're headed, and you have no idea how many more ups and downs you're going to experience before it's all over.

It's a film that keeps you guessing and just as you're beginning to (once again) think you've got it all figured out, the game changes and it's all up in the air once more.

The diary-exposition format is also very clever and was executed perfectly. Many films fall victim to losing the viewer when jumping back and forth between past and present, yet Gone Girl - you guessed it - does it just right.

This film ranks high in the mystery/thriller genre. It is just as compelling and perplexing as Shutter Island - if not then moreso.

And let's not forget: the acting. Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike do a phenomenal job in their roles as husband and wife. Not a line feels out of place and both seem as though they were born to play Nick and Amy Dunne. By the end of the film I felt so immersed in their story that I found it hard to believe it was just a film.

All in all, I for one am thoroughly pleased with Gone Girl. I knew from watching the trailer it would be something I would like, I just never imagined it could thrill me this much.

A very underrated and overwhelming story that should be enjoyed by all.
209 out of 340 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Maybe, maybe not
harrypaulson-1117 January 2015
David Fincher is a phenomenal craftsman. His visual style dominates every inch of the frame but why is it that I left the theater so untouched, so unscathed. I told the story to someone over dinner and I couldn't do it without laughing. This is no comedy, or is it? So, what is it about David Fincher's movies that include some shocking stuff without shocking me. I can observe without participating. Cold, maybe that's it. The passionate story is told without passion but with a feverish attention to the cosmetic veil that covers or masks the real story. I wasn't bored, just impatient and a bit put off. I admired the performances and wondered about the casting of Neil Patrick Harris and Tyler Perry. I suspect is code for something but I can't imagine what. After all said and done, goo see it.
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What a terrible lump of trash. I am baffled by the good reviews.
antonius877 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I really cannot figure out why this movie is so highly reviewed. Everything it sells itself as is a lie. For starters, it is portrayed as this suspenseful thriller where there are constant twists and turns and you never really know what is truly happening. Well, that is a total lie. There is no suspense, there are no serious or intelligent twists, just a litany of idiotic contrived absurdities.

Spoilers below:

You clearly see what is happening in very beginning with Nick (Ben Affleck) and you pretty much know he did not kill his wife 30 minutes in. Your initial sense is that she is not dead and he did not kill her, and you are right. There are no more "twists. "The "twist" is that she is insane, and the movie descends into 2 more hours of ever increasing idiocy and farcical garbage. Amy (Rosamund Pike) goes off into a series of illogical and irrational behaviors, including consorting with some random trash at a trailer park, despite having faked her own death and being the subject of a massive manhunt. The story just gets more and more absurd, with more illogical stupidity and unbelievable actions by other characters, which include police getting a search warrant on a house based on an "anonymous tip," Nick and his sister being apparently the dumbest people on Earth who would not move any of the loot out of the shed before the cops find it, the police engaging in the largest manhunt ever for a missing person after about 6 hours, etc. The movie starts out decent but gets continually worse as it goes on, and just starts getting worse and worse at a faster rate as it continues.

The acting is decent to middling, with Affleck probably giving one of the better performances overall, and Tyler Perry actually being an enjoyable aside. The other characters are largely unlikeable, unbelievable or just stilted caricatures.

The last 30 minutes are, as others have noted, unbelievably ridiculous and moronic. The woman who so carefully plans out her own death with a massive amount of preplanning, somehow commits a savage crime of passion, which is a story FILLED with holes, but somehow is supposed to have gotten away with it. Also, apparently even though she plotted all along to have her husband executed, she somehow had the presence of mind to save the sperm sample, keep it, then AFTER he is exonerated and she has to alter her plans to return to him last minute after murdering someone else, has the means to get it successfully implanted in herself. Oh, she is an absolute psychic apparently.

The ending is ludicrous, the characters are unrealistic farces that only someone who desperately wants to love this movie would believe, the story is overrun with artificial plot devices and deus ex machinas that serve only to advance nonsensical story lines, and the movie is in no way a twisting, changing thriller. Its just a predictable drama where the only "unexpected" things are unexpected because they are absolute nonsense that are make about as much sense as random dog running on stage and relieving itself. One of the worst movies I have seen in years.
310 out of 515 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Slow burner with a twist for the ages. Fincher does it again.
BoxOfficeKid21 December 2014
The first act of the movie is the run-of-the-mill wife gone missing, the husband accused of killing her plot. This is clearly established in the theatrical trailer and may have thrown off some potential viewers. To the people who are familiar with David Fincher's work, this is not the case with Gone Girl.

Yes, the first act is very ordinary, but the second act uproots whatever ever considered dull about the movie as it takes a rapid turn into thriller stardom, resembling something taken out of a Hitchcock movie. Only a handful directors can completely enhance the movie's narrative through editing, and Fincher is one of them. I know there is a lot of praise around Rosamund Pike's performance, which makes it easy to overlook Ben Affleck. He plays the tired, oblivious and boyish really well. This may be the very reason why he is completely overlooked.

And in a time of sequels, prequels, remakes and biopics, finally a contemporary piece of work! Stellar!
173 out of 282 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An enormous junk heap of illogic and nonsense
banana-8311 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
One of the most ridiculous spectacles of bad storytelling I have ever seen in my entire life. "Gone Girl" gets its title I think, from the fact that she was supposed to be done away with (murdered and disposed of) but is really "gone" psychologically—she is a pure psychopath. The movie tries to tell you that she is highly intelligent, and meticulously plans to fake her own murder and frame her husband for it. Here's the pathetic execution of her plan: 1. he leaves the house one morning, and she springs into action. 2. she breaks the glass coffee table, pours about a half quart of her own blood in one puddle, in front of the kitchen sink. That much blood from a violent attack would be all over the room. 3. she flees, leaving the front door open. 4. A nosy neighbor notices the door ajar and calls the husband (somehow the neighbor knows exactly where he is.) But no one saw the wife leave. 5. The husband comes home. He has not a scratch on him. 6. he is totally co-operative with the police. 7. They eventually find her diary In a wood stove at the husbands father's house. The wood stove door is ajar and the diary is only partially burned; it really makes you wonder how that played out—that the husband put the diary in there to burn but just left it singed, all that work, cleaning up the blood at home, but not to burn the book, as if he needed to make a special trip to his dad's house to dispose of a stupid book. and the only thing incriminating that she wrote was on one page which he could've simply torn out. 8. When the wife runs away, she only changes her appearance slightly and then, instead of secluding herself, she makes friends with some low-lifes, with whom she sits and watches her story unfold on TV. 9. she murders the Neil Harris character in an attempt to switch the blame to him. That would then imply he was the one that drained so much blood from her back at her home, he cleaned it up and he put her diary in the wood stove (?!) His car wasn't seen at her house. He then kept her a prisoner, starved and raped her.Yet she found the opportunity and strength to kill him, but didn't call the police from his house to come rescue her. rather she jumps in his car and drives all the way home. 10. upon returning home she has no wounds consistent with the bloodletting at her original house or at the hands of her alleged kidnapper. 11. There is no visit to or investigation of the alleged kidnapping crime scene—house on the lake. 12. The hospital sends her home in a nurses uniform, underneath which she is still caked in blood. This movie is just about the lamest piece of S**** I have ever seen.
976 out of 1,686 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A total mess.
arthur_serck22 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I guess one thing this movie is really good at is getting people to just roll with whatever happens. Well, it's also beautifully shot and well-paced. But if you are intent on watching 'Gone Girl', I dare you to stay critical. Think logical. Because if you do, the plot is almost insultingly bad.

Plot: (spoilers)

Woman fakes her own murder and tries to frame her cheating, violent husband for it (a divorce wouldn't do?). In the movie you're presented with the framing plot around the 1-hour mark (or far earlier if you see it coming). So what happens for the rest of the movie? A train- wreck, is what.

-The GOAL was to have her husband killed. As soon as she loses ALL of her runaway money (what was her plan once her husband was jailed, anyway?), she flees to her obsessive, creepy high-school sweetheart (who, mind you, was already similarly framed once before). Once he turns possessive (who'd have thought!), she KILLS him rather than try to flee, and manages to drive home, fully blood-clad, without alerting anyone along the way. Home, to the husband she wanted dead... right?

-Upon arriving, she gives the police a terribly contrived story where she explains to have been kidnapped and raped day after day (doesn't really match with the security footage) until she (mercilessly!) killed her alleged captor. What she says hardly makes sense (interrupted several times by the one investigator who still has a brain), yet she is simply sent home. Still covered in blood. Yes, really.

-There appears to be no further investigation in the past scheme of framing her husband: the countless credit card purchases stored in the shed, the diary which was conveniently left only slightly burned, the POOL OF BLOOD which was cleaned up in the original murder story (her kidnapper did all that??). The other ex-boyfriend who she had charged with statutory rape, surely he could help prove her extremely manipulative and utterly insane behavior?

-Despite all this, there is apparently "no way" to come up with any concrete evidence of her crimes. No, we're not even given a remotely satisfying conclusion to this mess of a story. SURPRISE: his sperm from the fertility clinic was somehow stopped by his wife from being destroyed (even though she wanted to kill him the entire time?) and she manages to get pregnant with it (without him, her husband, being alerted of this at all).

And then the credits roll, and I'm left thinking "how come so many people actually like this movie".
105 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utter Tripe
iamchrisallan12 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Just seen the film Gone Girl.

I really struggled with the book and found it incredulous so never finished it but the film was getting good reviews so I thought I'd give it a go.

What a pile of crap!

Two and a half hours of my life wasted. The story is just unbelievable. Neither character makes you like them or hate them. They are just bland and, well, unbelievable.

By the end I just wanted someone to firebomb the house and kill the pair of them. I would have stood up and cheered. As it happened it has a really lame ending.

A waste of my life. Utter tripe!
434 out of 747 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I can not believe people like this ~~~~~contains spoilers~~~~~~
hisdroogness12 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Please do not waste your time or money on this nonsense. Oh boy where do I start. OK for me the worst thing is when she gets back and tells everyone that Neil Patrick Harris "kidnapped" her (Rosamund). He did this by bludgeoning her and she lost a large amount of blood which he cleaned up. Then he takes her diary to her husbands fathers house to burn!!!!! (how does he even know of this location)?????? But he makes such a p!$$ poor attempt to burn it which would take 5 min to do properly as opposed to the 30+ to clean the blood. and no one questions this even once!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No one even looks for any wounds or asks about her wellbeing and she is not treated for any wounds. Oh and the hospital sends her home covered I mean a copious amount blood. No flipping way, the hospital would clean her looking for wounds especially with this much blood.I could go on and on but just read the other truthful reviews they will point out most of the other glaring mistakes and downright intelligence insulting nonsense. I really wish IMDb would have a 0 or negative review number as this does not even rank a 1. I give this -5 for utter bull$h1*.
458 out of 797 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sad Commentary on Film Today
sami-923 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Thought this would be a good thriller, but ultimately it was draining and depressing. Would think any man who sees this film would never want to have sex again......it portrayed woman/women as being monstrous and men as passive, sex-crazed zombies. The story had so many loose ends and unbelievable scenes, such as where she returns home covered in blood.....then she's at the hospital - there had to be an exam, then giving an interview to detectives, then comes home still covered in blood....how much time elapsed during these scenes, and who would allow her to drive around, carry on, covered in blood for all that time? With great emphasis on crass words for women, violent sex scenes, and a score that sounded like a synthesizer importing screeches from an airport runway, this was one depressing film. The only place it was believable was in its depiction of the media and how they revel in tragedy and perversion. If this becomes our prime form of entertainment we are in big trouble. Need to watch a pre-1960 film or musical now.
249 out of 426 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible the movie was just so unrealistic that it sucked
trent-127-1986778 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
i got pulled in at the start it turned out like any other mystery, action movie all the clues and other attributes etc...

but there was so many thing that just are so IDIOTIC that it pisses me off.

I have had so much tension on this from the book thinking it will be amazing but it all went away half way through the movie.

Spoilers: The part when she actually tries to make up the part of rape and when she puts wine on her skirt and whatever was so STUPID, WHAT ABOUT THE BLOODY CAMERAS YOU IDIOTS. And if you're going to say she disabled them, the what about the actual fake rape scene. she sucked his dick and was wearing lingerie for gods sake who wears lingerie randomly. if they looked at the cameras to watch the rape then what about the dick sucking and shirt tearing and pulling him in on you, then pulling a knife out from under the pillow.

But what finished it for me was the ending. WHAT MAN LIKE HIM IN THEIR OWN MIND WOULD STAY WITH A MURDERING BITCH LIKE THAT AND STILL LOVE HER.

This was my opinion you don't have to agree but i just found it so stupid.
392 out of 691 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Too Many Loose Ends
ajaysinghjaswal-133-24450215 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I have not read the book so I cannot compare this movie with the book. But judging from the fact that Gillian Flynn has also written the screenplay of the movie I trust that the movie has done justice to the book. Which might not be a very good thing to say about the book because I wasn't very impressed with the movie.

Please don't get me wrong, I like David Fincher's works. He picks up off-the-line subjects and execute them very well. Sometimes he also leaves loose ends. Loose ends are not bad because sometimes they get the audience to think more than what the movie is trying to convey. Unfortunately, this movie has too many loose ends and turns. The movie starts as a psychological thriller then turns into a treasure hunt with well-planted clues which are easily understandable; then into a war between a smart psychopath wife and a clueless husband. In the end, the movie turns into a common hate story of a husband and a wife.

What surprises me in the movie is that the wife is a smart psychopath, the philandering husband also gets there gradually, being smart. But the general public, media and FBI are just dumb. How is it that FBI is not able to understand that a man gets enough time to go to his father's house to burn the diary but does not have enough time to burn it completely and still leave pages which can get him caught? How it is that FBI cannot find the missing wife? Now I am not a detective but I do know the general modus operandi of any detective agency - keep a tab on the previous acquaintances of a missing girl. Might not be a bad idea to pay a visit to one of her ex-boyfriends and Viola, there she is, living a good life. Found and case closed. More surprisingly, when the missing wife has decided to come back nobody even wants to re-look at the clues that she had planted against her husband. After all, everyone had started to doubt him. The list does not finish here. How come the camera at Desi's house can only catch her alone, evidently tortured. But there is no video of Desi actually torturing her. But no one wants to ask these questions to the wife. Only a few questions and FBI just lets her go. How come doctors forgot to check her so called bruises which she was supposed to have when her husband was supposedly dragging her?

So there are too many loose ends. Is it that the makers of the movie think that the general public both within the movie and out of the movie is so dumb? Within the movie, the general public thinks of the husband as bad guy when the wife is missing. But when she is found nobody is questioning her motives and now the poor-dead-ex-boyfriend is a bad guy.

On top that, there is a supposedly smart lawyer (Tyler Perry) who is of no help to the husband besides making few funny comments.

On the good side, Ben Affleck and Carrie Coon still managed to be convincing. Rosamund Pike is Okay. But that's the only good part I could see.

All in all, I am a little disappointed with David Fincher. Se7en, Fight Club and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button were really good movies and had given its audiences lot to think about. Unfortunately, this movie does not do that besides giving message that every man is a sex maniac and women are psychos. What surprises me the most, the book and the movie are getting good ratings.

These are only my opinions but if you still want to watch it please go ahead. After all it is your money. It does have few funny moments.
55 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow, and not in a good way...
amazingliz-112 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Never again will I trust the Metascore. Big fan of David Fincher, but let me tell you this movie was spectacularly bad. The score was ham handed and clashed with the film itself and I was embarrassed for the actors at some points that they had to say the ridiculous lines in the terrible script. I felt every single minute of this 149 minute movie. At one point my husband turned to me and whispered "this is really bad" and we started laughing. Then we started rewriting the story and recasting. For example, Ben Affleck could have played his own twin sister and it wouldn't have made the movie any more ridiculous. You might love it. I really, really did not.
195 out of 336 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gone, but definitely not forgotten
bowmanblue22 April 2015
Wow, actually a thriller that's pretty good. Yes, it's fair to say that 'Gone Girl' is a really engrossing film. As with almost every film, it's based on a book. And, as with most films based on a book, I haven't read the book, so I haven't got a clue how well the film relates to the source material. But then I don't care. I just enjoyed the ride.

'Gone Girl' is one of those films where you don't want to say too much about for fear of giving things away and spoiling it for people who haven't seen it. Ben Affleck plays a (reasonably) decent husband whose well-to-do wife disappears. The media circus that follows then starts to reveal that the truth is far more complicated that it first seems (not to mention the obligatory police investigation). It's fair to say that what follows is a film that twists and turns, so you only really get one chance to watch it and not know what's coming.

Many people don't really like Affleck when it comes to acting (even less now he's due to don the Batsuit!), but I think most people will relate to him as he gets pursued and hounded (unfairly? You'll have to wait and see!) by the media. Rosamund Pike plays his (gone!) wife with a flawless American accent. Again, you'll have to see whether she's found alive or dead. The story bounces around back and forth in time, making sure you're just confused enough never to put too much together before the film's ready to reveal what's happening.

If I had one complaint it's that the film is a little too long. Perhaps ten to fifteen minutes could have been edited out at around the three quarters mark, just to speed it up. But that's a minor gripe. Basically, if you like your thrillers twisty and turny (and have a couple of hours to spare on a film that you really have to concentrate on) give this one a go.
35 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Unique and darkly funny
toppin4 October 2014
Two movies for the price of one.

That's a fairly glib start to a review of a movie that I really liked, but it is true. The first half of Gone Girl is a fairly standard "did he or didn't he" mystery thriller. Then, about an hour in, the perspective shifts entirely and suddenly you realise that you're watching – perhaps – the most pitch-black comedy that you've ever seen.

Despite the abrupt shift, I still think that Gone Girl holds together extremely well as one whole movie. Ben Affleck's Nick manages to inspire sympathy without ever being truly likable while Rosamund Pike's Amy (the star of the show in my opinion) is brilliant, terrifying, hilarious and despicable in various combinations and occasionally all at the same time.

David Fincher's direction is both classy and clever (as usual) and several scenes are particularly outstanding due at least as much to his brilliance as that of the actors involved in them. My one complaint would be over the length – it really didn't need to be two and a quarter hours long. There were certainly a few moments, particularly in the first half, when I wished that the movie would hurry up and get to the point just a little more quickly.

Gone Girl is a movie unlike any that I've ever seen before and as such largely defies further description. I would recommend this movie to all (with a warning that the adult rating is well earned) but especially those with a dark sense of humour. The darker the better.
229 out of 399 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best performance of an actress for 2014!
mariontalavera83 November 2014
Having read the book, it was not an easy feat who will be able to bring to life the leading character of the book, which is Amy Dunne. Her character is so complex, that Rosamund Pike deserves all awards that will be coming to her. She was able to give Amy the mysterious vibe but likable aura of a socialite New Yorker.

The score of the film is perfect, as it builds up suspense and the tone of the story. Great supporting performance by Ben Affleck, and the actress who plays her sister. Great ensemble cast who works together to delivery the dark humor lines in the film.

This movie will definitely be an instant classic and I cant wait to watch it again!
139 out of 237 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Almost as terrible as the book.
mwburrows11 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
It's a mistake to recruit the author to do the screenplay - they are too emotionally invested, and if they aren't known for writing scripts the disparity in quality can be obvious. Take The Exorcist III for example. Or Gone Girl.

The Gone Girl novel was a lavishly praised exercise in cryptic dialogue, high school prose, and incompetent storytelling that defies conventional formula. Unfortunately, you can only defy the formula and get away with it if you are very good. Gillian Flynn just isn't.

Her characters speak with bizarre, hyperactive energy that made me feel breathless just from reading it. It's like listening to someone recall a fond memory at a party - a memory that nobody else cares about. It's inexplicably cryptic. It's not how people talk, and you can tell that on screen Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike don't really know what to make of their lines. Their sentences are too long, too wild, too verbose. They talk like stage actors fresh out of drama school. The supporting cast are also similarly lost - the two detectives especially. The female cop is just a frustrating "loose- cannon-independent-woman/symbol-of-women's-suffrage" poster girl. She talks fast and drinks coffee - black, no doubt (Yawn). Her male partner just seems to follow her around like a lost dog and nod agreeably with everything she says - three cheers for women's rights! Down with the glass ceiling!

You might as well slap a domestic violence advertisement in the credits.

The lack of tension evident in Flynn's writing translates well to the screen. Your nails will not be bitten to fleshy stubs watching Gone Girl. More likely you'll end up filing them into neat, buffed arches out of boredom. Fincher can't elevate the inherent drabness of the source material. He, like the rest of the cast, seem to misunderstand the script. They just "don't get it." Gone Girl is one of those wrongly-praised cause celebres. People are too keen to jump on the bandwagon after learning about the *gasp* "shock twist" in the final act (that is hardly shocking, original, or interesting).

Re-watch some of Fincher's better work instead. If you've already invested money in the novel, take solace in knowing it is the perfect size for a doorstop, and about as entertaining.
161 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wish I had missed it
randymor-134-73055415 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Actually a good well acted movie till the end. Ben Affleck was excellent and Rosamund Pike had me 100% convinced she was evil incarnate. Carrie Coon as Ben's twin sister and Kim Dickens as the lead detective also gave excellent performances. As for the story, I can deal with sad endings where the hero dies like Braveheart, Cool Hand Luke, and endless others. When the credits came up on Gone Girl, I could only regret spending over 2 hrs to watch a movie that left me that angry. I would have preferred she had just killed Ben Affleck and gotten away with it. Assuming the book had the same ending I would have thrown it across the room upon finishing it. I enjoyed the movie up till the end but that completely ruined it for me.
374 out of 668 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Horrors of Domesticity
Serge_Zehnder24 September 2014
The basic premise is as old as the movies.

An abduction leads to a media-circus.

Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) comes home one day to find his wife Amy (Rosamund Pike) missing. The ensuing search and all the subsequent events, which shall not be revealed here, draw the viewer closer and closer into a complex world of everyday suburban reality and everyday suburban horror.

As if it needed to be pointed out, this balance of reality and horror, or horrendous reality, is the domain of Mr. Fincher. In his clear-cut no-nonsense style he has fashioned a powerful mystery-thriller that lands somewhere between Hitchcock, Lynch, Bergman and Chabrol. Although vastly different directors, they have shared an interest in dissecting reality and human nature.

Profiting from two exceptional lead actors (doubts about Mr. Affleck's acting abilities will hopefully be dispelled), it is Ms. Pike, who reveals herself as an immensely versatile and unpredictable force in this movie. Over more than ten years Ms. Pike has played big parts in small movies, or small parts in big movies (such as „Pride & Prejudice", „Wrath of the Titans" or „Jack Reacher"). Under the guise of Mr. Fincher she excels in every aspect and if any contenders for awards are to be named so early in the season, hers would be one of the first names (next to the outstanding cast of Richard Linklaters „Boyhood") to be written down.

Visually stunning as one would expect from Fincher, with an immersive soundtrack by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross and an editing rhythm that cuts like a knife through the tissue of the story and its characters, „Gone Girl" leaves no doubt about its craft and the deceptive nature of its source novel by Gillian Flynn. The author adapted her book into a tightly wound screenplay, that adds fuel to an already burning analysis of modern marriage and human frailty.

The themes are familiar to Fincher, but he assembles them in an expertly fashion. And we are left wondering, amidst the suspense, about many of the so called estimable American values of the 20th century, that have now come crashing down under the weight of an economic, political and spiritual crisis.
264 out of 470 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Everyone has a very different opinion
extremecraigfan12 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
As I read through the reviews and view the scores given to this movie by my fellow members I wonder if there is something deeply wrong with my perception. Or if others are drawn in by the ultra hype some movies are given before release and with that expectation start off viewing with rose coloured glasses.

i.e. I saw almost everyone who acted in this movie on almost every talk show before its release. There were rave reviews in news articles both on and offline, on social media sites etc.

I enjoyed parts of the movie even if I felt some of the characters did not have a good fit with others and most scenarios were not plausible. The story was interesting enough and fast enough paced to keep the viewer wanting more, but wanting is the key word here. The full air of mystery did not exist. Many areas did not leave much to the imagination and one was able to draw conclusion long before it played out on screen.

Finally the ending failed miserably. Almost as if the writer reached a peak, ran out of thoughts and threw something together for a quick finish. I was very disappointed. I would have given a higher score if not for the movie's lack of a fulfilling end and the many unexplainable loopholes. Bottom line I was surprised after all the hype this movie turned out to be so very, very bad.
106 out of 180 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If Fincher was looking to out do himself...he has succeeded.
trublu2151 October 2014
Gone Girl marks Fincher's tenth feature film and his most mature work since Fight Club. Centering on Nick Dunne, a husband desperately trying to find his wife all while having police and media accuse him of murder. The story sounds straight out of the Scott Peterson case and the film looks unlike any film I've seen in recent years. Lead by an all star cast featuring Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Tyler Perry and Neil Patrick Harris, Gone Girl rises above the pack with smart storytelling, phenomenal pacing and perfect performances. What Gone Girl does so brilliantly is taps into the audience's psyche regarding marriage and the ideology behind a sanctioned union that is corrupt. It is really heavy stuff when the story really gets to the meat and bones of it all. With plenty of twists and turns, Gone Girl keeps you, not only second guessing the whole idea of marriage, but the intentions of every character in the film. It is truly one of the most twisted films adapted from an even sicker and twisted book that's out there right now. Gillian Flynn does wonders with her adaption from her own novel. The dialog is crisp, the characters are multi-layered, it truly is a pitch perfect script that doesn't have one false moment in it. Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike are EXCELLENT in this film. This is a different Affleck, a very human and realized Affleck. Nick Dunne is a wonderful role for him and captivates just how good he can be with a terrific director. Harris and Perry give well rounded performances as well but are nothing compared to Affleck and Pike. David Fincher and his long time collaborator and cinematographer, Jeff Cronenweth create a dreary, horrific tone for Gone Girl that makes every twist and turn that much more gut wrenching. Every shot is meticulously planned, showing each shot as if it were a still frame that spoke a thousand words. It is truly gorgeous filmmaking. And now for the score...Trent Reznor and Atticus Finch deliver a perfect score, besting their Social Network and Girl with the Dragon Tattoo score. If Reznor won for Social Network, I fully expect not only a nomination but a win for this film. Overall, this is a mesmerizing film that demands multiple viewings to truly get the full experience. It is impeccably made, beautifully acted and an all around near perfect film.
406 out of 738 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Truly terrible movie.
rafaelhjb19 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I wish I could rate this movie with a 0 Maybe the first part, is OK, before anything happens. When the action starts, you see that the acting, the plot, everything starts to go down the drain. I must say that in general the acting is very bad, and there are very stupid moments. Like when the wife returns after killing her ex-boyfriend, she is interviewed at the hospital were she arrived covered in blood, telling the story that she was raped. Well nobody cleans all the blood of her in the hospital, and she is in a room with at least 10 FBI agents that look goofy, a lot of local police, plus husband, lawyer etc etc. Then she leaves with her husband that was accused of murder and they go home together. Then I walk out, maybe 10-15 minutes before what I understand was a awful ending.

How can IMDb give such a high rating?????
143 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Just didn't care
adamhatfield9 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
After watching over the first hour of this movie I just couldn't stay interested in any of the characters or even in the plot for that matter. In fact I was kind of hoping that his wife was dead and not just missing. I really hoped he killed her because I didn't like her character and I really hoped Affleck would die too in a shoot out with cops; and I kind of hoped he would get lucky and kill them also. Well maybe not the sidekick, he was cool. I just couldn't relate to all of the pretentiousness of the wife's family or even Affleck himself. I mean, I even hoped her parents would die because they were jerks too. About the only person in that movie I found interesting was Affleck's sister, I think her name was Margo. The movie just failed to hook me in an hour and fifteen minutes. No plot twist can recover the amount of boredom I had at the one hour mark. Plus there were some very graphic scenes that didn't really add to the movie (not all, some very well expressed how disturbed individuals were). I don't need to see Affleck going down on a chick on his first date to kind of figure out they bumped uglies. Graphic scenes have their purpose but when you over-do it, you lose value.
169 out of 300 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed