The Commuter (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
238 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Liam Neeson played by Liam Neeson. You've seen it before. But, it's still entertaining.
MickandRorty12 January 2018
There are certain actors in Hollywood that are so one-dimensional, but they play that one-dimension spot on. Liam Neeson is one of those guys. Another example is Jason Statham. Their roles are all the same, scripts slightly tweaked, yet the movie passes of as decent-to-good almost every time (except for the Taken sequels, but that isn't on Liam).

Bottom line is, it's basically the movie non-stop, but on a commute instead of a plane. Liam Neeson plasy his same old self and plays his usual one-dimensional badass role. He did his job once again. This movie will bring in okay-enough numbers, and we will be presented with Liam Neeson's next challenge in about another year.

Same old, decent-enough action movie.

6/10
90 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Never ask someone to do something that you could do yourself.
sunintended28 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Yes!! I can hear you Clem Fandango!!

Good detectives should never get into insurance sales.

Hit men are much better than people who are forced to kill.

Trains will smash on impact but windows will always stay intact.

Liam Neeson will do any film.

Every train user is a Wing Chun expert.

Guitars do not hurt that bad when smashed into your face.

You can jump in slo mo much further than in real time.

Black men always die in films to maintain the natural balance of life.
43 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Nothing new from Neeson, in a good way (and a bad way).
liamhorsfall13 January 2018
If you've seen one Neeson film, you've probably seen them all. Despite having already mastered the art of playing the grizzled, independant tough-guy, Neeson is back with The Commuter, in which he plays an unsuspecting ... well ... commuter, who is drawn into a criminal conspiracy which could kill everyone on-board.

It's a familiar sounding plot, but it's one that Neeson excels in, in fact, he may be too good at it by now. With all that said, The Commuter, much like Taken, Taken 2, Taken 3, Non-Stop, A Walk Among the Tombstones, Run All Night and Schindlers List, is another fun Neeson film which you'll probably enjoy much more than you'd be willing to admit.
56 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fun movie, worth seeing on a big screen with big sound
Dan Phillips12 January 2018
Neeson creates a likable, sympathetic character. This is necessary for the heightening of tension, which screws on inexorably until you just don't see any way out for him.

The camera-work was particularly masterful - creative, meticulous, thought out to a granular level. There are two particular action-pieces towards the climax that are breathtaking, at least one of which looks like (but surely isn't) a single, extended take. The camera defines space and gravity, and is part of the expeience.

Yes, there are some credibility straining factors. But it is after all a movie, not a procedural. On the other hand, there are some very neat surprises.

Glad we saw it!
63 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
"This train is freaking me out".
bob-the-movie-man20 January 2018
"The Commuter" is not a good film. You know that I'm not a prude about action films: "Die Hard" is one of my all time favourites and I even gave this actor/director combo's previous outing - "Non-Stop" - a rather generous three Fads. But like many of my commutes, this is a hundred minutes of life that I won't get back again.

Liam Neeson ("A Monster Calls", "Taken 3") plays Michael MacCauley an insurance salesman (no, I'm not making it up) who of course used to be a police officer with a certain set of skills. With advancing years, a couple of mortgages to keep up and a son about to go to college, he is financially rather exposed.

When a bad day turns worse, the commuting MacCauley is approached by a mysterious woman (Vera Farmiga, "The Judge", "Up In The Air") who offers him a financial bail-out for doing "just one small thing". No, it's not for sex in the toilet... it's to use his familiarity with the train and its normal passengers to find the person that 'doesn't fit there'. For there is a lot at stake and MacCauley is drawn into a perilous game where his own life and the lives of his son and wife Karen (Elizabeth McGovern, "Downton Abbey") are put at risk.

What the inexperienced writers (Byron Willinger, Philip de Blasi and Ryan Engle ("Non-stop")) were clearly shooting for was a Hitchcockian "ordinary man in deep-water" style flick of the James Stewart "North by Northwest" variety.... but they really miss this by a mile. With the 65 year old Liam Neeson - here playing 60 - performing acrobatics on, under and across an express train, belief is not just suspended - it is hung drawn and quartered! The action is just ludicrously unrealistic.

The plot also has more holes than a moth-eaten jumper. Omnipotence of the villains is evident, but never explained, and while they are fiendishly clever in some aspects they are face-palmingly stupid about others. (No spoilers, but the threat to MacCauley's family is mind-numbingly foilable).

A 'major event' at the end of reel two (if you've seen the spoilerish trailer you'll know what this is) leads - notably without any 'consequence' - into a completely ridiculous final reel that beggars belief. It also includes a "twist" so obvious that the writers must have assumed an IQ of sub-50.

This is a film that melds "Taken", "Non-stop", "Unstoppable", "Strangers on a Train" and - most bizarrely and cringe-worthily - "Spartacus" to create a cinematic mess of supreme proportions. I put director Jaume Collet-Serra's last film - "The Shallows" - into my Top 10 films of 2016. He'll be lucky if this one doesn't make my "Turkeys of the Year" list for 2018.

Avoid!
82 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Decent Thriller Derailed by Ridiculous Third Act
Fletcher Conner15 January 2018
The Commuter delivers what it promises, a Liam Neeson action movie that relies on tension and a little bit of mystery to fill out its runtime. It begins very well with minimal exposition for the set up, using images or short conversations to explain what most movies would carve out five minutes of dialogue for. From there it evolves more like a mystery with an ordinary man in an extraordinary situation searching for someone on the train. As it enters the third act, it goes full action movie with explosions, fight scenes, and massive stakes. While this was to be expected from Jaume Collet-Serra, it undermines what had been a more contained thriller up to that point.

It is shot well enough and uses an ensemble cast well, but no one besides Liam Neeson really has too much to do. Vera Farmiga and Jonathan Banks are both talented actors that are really underutilized. All in all, The Commuter is another Liam Neeson action movie that could be best described as "Nonstop on a train."
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Spoilers
hummam19 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I would say that liam's acting is at it's best as usual but and here comes the spoilers! if these criminal minds that pushed liam to do what he did! can kill an FBI agent on board and an old man -that was on board- in the streets because thay know that liam wrote something of an SOS for him in the newspaper he was reading. How come they couldn't kill the 16 years old witness girl!! guess there would be no movie then :)
37 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
great action movie
Beth DeMatteo14 January 2018
Like the movie, usually like anything he is in. It was fast paced and kept you thinking but it always annoys the **** out of me when the staff does not do their homework on a movie. I always love places where they show errors that are not picked up in scenes before the movie is finally printed. My gripe here was the ending where the standoff occurred in Beacon NY with NYPD police in charge. Did noone tell them that NYPD has no standing in that area? Where were the NY state troopers?? Just knitpicking I realize but that is someone's job..
42 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
"Non Stop" on rails: thoroughly familiar yet thoroughly enjoyable
Paul Allaer12 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
"The Commuter" (2018 release; 103 min.) brings the story of Michael McCauley. As the movie opens, we get to know Micheal as he goes about his daily routine of waking up at 6 am and getting ready to take the commuter train in Manhattan, where he works at an insurance company. Then one day, out of the blue, Michael is fired from his job, for no apparent reason and just as he needs the money to pay for his son's expensive college. Afterwards he commiserates with a buddy (and that's when we find out Michael used to be a NYC cop). On his commute train ride home, Michael gets approached by a mysterious woman who makes him an offer: identify the person who doesn't belong on the train, and get $100,000 in return. She tells him there is a $25,000 upfront payment in the bathroom. When Michael goes to check there, he can't believe it but yes, there's the money. He decides to take it. It's not long before strange things start to happen... At this point we're less than 15 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is, if I'm counting right, the 4th collaboration between Spanish director Jaume Collet-Serra and lead actor Liam Neeson, after "Unknown", "Non Stop", and "Run All Night". (Collet-Serra also directed the excellent shark-drama "The Shallows".) Just looking at these prior films, you know EXACTLY what you are signing up for if you decide to check out "The Commuter". In fact, this movie could be called "Non Stop on Rails". Just like that earlier movie playing out on the one air flight, much of "The Commuter" plays out on the one commuter train ride back to suburban NYC. If this sounds like like a negative, you might be wrong, as I was on the edge of my seat trying to figure out what the heck was going on (in the best possible way). One-time 'serious' actor Liam Neeson's transformation into one of the best and most reliable action movie stars is absolutely remarkable. He brings a certain weight and charisma into these roles that not a lot of action movie stars have. Keep an eye out for an all-too-rare sighting of Elizabeth McGovern (as Neeson'swife). Sam Neil has a small role as the Police Captain. Vera Farmiga is her usual great in the small role of the mysterious woman. But in the end, this is of course the Liam Neeson show all the way.

"The Commuter" opened wide this weekend. The Friday early evening screening where I saw this at was not attended very well, and surely the inclement weather here in Cincinnati was a large factor in that. I was in the mood for something to entertain me, and "The Commuter" was just what the doctor ordered: thoroughly familiar, yet thoroughly enjoyable too. If you are a fan of Liam Neeson's action movies, you cannot go wrong with this one. "The Commuter" is a WINNER.
31 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Strangers on a Train
rbrb11 January 2018
This is a decent action-thriller movie.

A long time train commuter is surprised by a stranger on a train with an enticing offer; after a bad day at the office the commuter is dragged into an ever spiraling dangerous ride.

There is danger, suspense and intrigue.

Ok so parts of the story may be far fetched but all the players give first rate convincing performances and aided by a distinct feel of realism during the train journey, these factors convinces me the movie deserves a solid:

7/10.
28 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Partly quite good and partly extremely bad...
EskeRahn10 January 2018
Basically a good plot, good acting, a good bit of suspense, action and good effects, so how can this go wrong?

Well parts of it is so ridiculous and stupid that it is hard to believe no one stopped it at the script level.. And parts are just 'over the top', sort of "OK we have paid for effects, so now give us a truck load full" - I was VERY close to leaving the theatre a couple of times....

And this is really sad, as it could have been a good action thriller, as the ideas were good.

I believe that cutting away the bad stuff that sums up to less than half an hour and replace a few minutes, and it could have been great in the genre!
37 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Although Neeson's films r more like a déjà vu, he is definitely d new king of action films.
Fella_shibby31 March 2018
The character development scene showing Neeson's humdrum existence is very well done. Also noteworthy is the amount of tension created. I found the twist predictable but there r lots of other twists and turns. It is a solid entertainment n Neeson's fans like me will not b disappointed. I hav become a fan of this director. Jaume Collet-Serra has given some solid thrillers: House of Wax, Orphan, Unknown, Non-Stop, Run All Night and The Shallows. And as far as Neeson is concerned he is d new king of action films. Although he has turned into a deja vu, but it is always solid fun to c him in action n thriller films. I missed seeing this on a big screen. Saw this on a pirated hd dvd copy.
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
A horrible movie - avoid at all costs
Dave Archer14 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This is a horrible movie.

There is nothing about it that makes any sense at all. Having to suspend disbelief is common for many movies, but The Commuter asks that you also suspend your common sense and any understanding you might also have of human nature or physics. From the moment Liam Neeson boards the train, there is no decision, action or technical detail which makes any sense at all.

The movie's vertiginous opening sequence is meant to convey that Neeson's life is stuck in a rut, while the next few scenes convey how desperate he might be. Keep in mind, however, that we're talking Liam Neeson, who's a former cop who now sells life insurance. (What?)

Once aboard the train, he's approached by Vega Farmiga. Neeson and Farmiga? Ah, I think, life doesn't get better that this. Foolish boy.

Farmiga makes him an offer he can't refuse. And one which we can't understand: He has about an hour to find one particular passenger - on a crowded commuter train - carrying a bag and using "Prynne" as an alias. No problem. Faced with that task, the movie slowly devolves into a mashup of "Clue" and "Murder on the Orient Express" as Neeson tries to find the passenger. Much hilarity does not ensue.

Although the plot makes no sense, at least, I thought, I could look forward to Neeson's "Popeye" moment: "That's all I can stands, I can't stands no more." In The Commuter, however, even that moment is disappointing as it's both watered down and of his own making.

The one redeeming facet of the movie is the excellent cast. While Neeson appears in almost every scene, Farmiga unfortunately appears in person only briefly. Other cast members include Patrick Wilson, Jonathan Banks, Sam Neill and Elizabeth McGovern, along with lots of great actors playing passengers. Notable among those with bit parts is Florence Pugh, fresh off her award-winning star-turn in Lady Macbeth.

Do not see this movie in a theater, do not stream the movie or rent the DVD, and consider cancelling your cable, Internet and cell services to minimize the chance that you might accidentally encounter it.
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
This was a stupid movie
zsiga-5320126 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Being a big Liam Neeson fan took the girl to watch this in the theater on big screen wow the action scenes will look awesome! .. well sort of. The script is so stupid and contorted that even Neeson and Vera Farmiga's legs can't save it.

Our hero is old and tired, trapped on a train, just got fired so desperate for the money, his adversaries know everything, can tap into phones, can kill everyone but they need to play this game with the hero. What a bs.

I'm really surprised why Neeson took the contract he shouldn't go down the same path with Bruce Willis playing in B- movies. It was like watching a mild version of Steven Segal: Under Siege 2 without the action scenes.
37 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
You know the drill, but it still is a fun ride.
jdesando10 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
"You have no idea who you're up against." Typical dialogue from a typical thriller typically starring Liam Neeson.

If you think The Commuter is another cheesy Neeson thriller following the same weary plotline with his character saving the day, you'd be right. Yet, you'd be wrong if you didn't think this ersatz Hitchcockian thriller was a guilty pleasure because it is. In the spirit of Strangers on the Train and Speed, this whodunit travels at the speed of a runaway train and makes Murder on the Orient Express look like a sleeper car.

Mike McCauley (Neeson) gets drawn into a murder plot by femme fatale Joanna (Vera Farmiga) on a phallic train north out of Grand Central Station (North by Northwest anyone?) with a tight time frame, of course, and his family endangered if he doesn't help . He sells insurance and is ill-prepared for this dangerous ride.

The rest is boilerplate B movie thriller porn as it showcases a few bodies and many motives like a Golden Corral smorgasbord. As trite as it is, and you don't need to have seen Neeson's Taken or Non-Stop to figure what will happen, it moves like a, well, runaway train.

One fight sequence is a barn burner using everything available in the car from a guitar to an ax, seeming to compete with the memorable upstairs-downstairs fight sequence in Atomic Blonde. Both supposedly used one take, but that is arguable, yet even with heavy help from CGI, both seem seamless and get your blood speeding from your heart like, well, a high speed train.

Next time you think you'll enjoy the surprise company of a lovely blonde, get off at the next exit and take the bus. Or just enjoy this clichéd thriller that still manages to thrill.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Just a one way ticket please
Grumphy18 January 2018
The Commuter

Story is a bit. Well. What do you expect? It's a full on action flick. Though it has some redeeming moments, a few clever twists or turns can't save it from the banality that it promises (and delivers). To clarify, there are more not-quite-so-clever twists.

Acting is okay. Though as of late, Liam seems to be doing mostly more action oriented projects for some reason, he has skills that he's acquired over a decently long career and know how to use them. Even if he has to play roles as inane as principled ex cop with money troubles on a train. His co stars, or co passengers, pull something around their own weight. They play their parts as they are, they're not really playing characters, with little time (or need) for development. The jerk is a jerk, the teenage girl is a teenage girl, the random friend is a random friend etc.

Visually the film is laughable at times. It's not Scorpion King level bad, but the CGI is terrible. On the plus side, those moments add to fun. I guess. Also the camerawork tends to go overboard for no reason other than... I don't know. It looks cool? It might've if they wouldn't have mixed it with bad CGI. These sort of things tends to happen when you've got nothing to show. Fight screens are decent(ish).

Sound or music wise I'm trying to remember if there is anything to comment. I can't think of anything so I'm putting it on the plus side. Emotions and atmosphere seem written, not to say forced.

The director Jaume Collet-Serra was either offered a lot of money to do this or he is also very principled and does not negotiate with terrorists. He should, however, make an exception and try to negotiate with the producers, because this could've been a totally different kind of film. But everybody likes fireworks I guess. Even if they don't mean anything. Because they mostly don't. So you forget them soon after.
19 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Oh Liam Liam Liam.........!!!
matty-j-11 April 2018
Ok, so this is garbage. Confusing, bizarre storyline, coupled with a never-ending commute, strange character encounters and the worst stunts and CGI this side of WWE.

Utterly appalling nonsense. Non of the gritty action that you'd be used to with Liam Neeson. Just a half-baked storyline, some cobbled together action and not much else.

Avoid like the plague.
26 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Waste of time
fbvgdfbdgfngfgf1 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
OK we have a train and a guy who searches for something. How to make it interesting? Let's take his wife hostage. Still boring? Let's put some conspiracy. Sucks? Add train crash. What do we have? Rubbish Rubbish Rubbish
24 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Part Hitchcockian whodunnit and part white-knuckle thrills, 'The Commuter' overcomes what it lacks in logic with well-executed suspense and action
moviexclusive10 January 2018
Hard to believe that it has been 10 years since Liam Neeson became an unexpected action star with the lean, spare but brutally effective thriller 'Taken', and in the decade that's passed cemented his late renaissance with well-executed B-movie fare like 'The A-Team', 'The Grey', 'Unknown', 'Non-Stop' and 'Run All Night'. The last three were also notable for being collaborations with director Jaume Collet-Serra, and the now 65-year-old has extended their team-up with 'The Commuter', which sees Serra further lay claim to a modern-day Alfred Hitchcock with a couple of high-wire scenes that would certainly make the latter proud.

As with before, there is a high-concept scenario at the heart of this deliberately old-fashioned thriller: an everyday insurance salesman Michael McCauley (Neeson) finds his routine evening commute back home from work disrupted by the enigmatic stranger Joanna (Vera Farmiga), who sits opposite him on the Metro-North train and offers him a hefty financial reward if he is able to spot someone on the train who isn't a familiar face. In order for Michael to be tempted in the first place, first-time screenwriters Byron Willinger and Philip de Blasi set him up to lose his job on that same day, leaving him floundering over his two mortgages as well as tuition fees for his college-bound son - although because this is Neeson we're talking about, you know Michael will eventually do the right, honorable and even heroic thing.

To up the ante, Michael is only given slightly more than half an hour before the train reaches Cold Spring to find the individual he is told later on goes by the name of Prynne; and to raise the stakes, it turns out that Joanna has also held his wife and son hostage, both of whom she threatens to kill if Michael fails to complete his mission. True to his Hitchcockian ambition, Serra spins an intriguing web of mystery over most of the middle act, and there are at least three riveting questions that are teased. Who is Prynne? Who is Joanna and/or the people she is working with or for? And finally, what does Joanna want with Prynne? These in turn translate into solid character work for the proverbial strangers on the train whom Michael probes to locate his mark - among them a feisty college student (Florence Pugh), an arrogant Wall Street banker (Shazad Latif), an emotionally distraught nurse (Clara Lago), a tattooed bruiser (Roland Moller) and a taciturn teenager (Ella-Rae Smith).

Yet Serra is all too aware that a whodunnit in and of itself is unlikely to satiate a good proportion of his audience, who are here to watch Neeson engage in the sort of close-quarter fisticuffs a la 'Taken'. So in between playing detective, Michael also gets a couple of well-choregraphed brawls - one of them takes place in the confines between carriages, while another that is impressively done in a single take plays out over an entire carriage with everything from a gun, an ax, a guitar and seat cushions used as weapons. There is visibly concerted effort to keep these fight sequences real, so even though Neeson's character is revealed earlier on to be an ex-cop, the film doesn't (thankfully) use that as an excuse to gift him with "a very particular set of skills" to take down his opponents too easily, skilfully or neatly.

Like other locomotive-set thrillers, this one doesn't escape without the train in question going out of control and then literally off the rails. That it is well-staged is undeniable - not even some subpar CGI in some shots can detract from the sheer white-knuckle tension of seeing almost the whole train flip into the air - but this spectacle-fuelled conclusion arguably strains the credibility of the high-concept movie even further, and is therefore both better and worse off for it. Notwithstanding, Neeson remains through and through the film's emotional centre, conveying the frustration, helplessness and resolve of a regular guy who is trying to get his life back in control from those that have snatched it away from him. Lest we forget, this is a role that the thespian can easily do in his sleep, but Neeson still brings his considerable gravitas to bear.

Mind you, not all the gaps in the narrative will be filled in by the end (which seems to set up the possibility of a sequel) nor will some of the explanations pass muster under closer scrutiny. Still, a film like this isn't meant to be held up under such examination or intended to offer any more than solid B-movie guilty pleasures; on the latter count though, it does succeed brilliantly and beautifully by mixing classic Hitchcockian tension with adrenaline-pumping action. We dare say that it ranks among one of Neeson's best in his action oeuvre, and if you're in the mood for some pulpy thrills and suspense, then you'll definitely want to get on this train.
22 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Dead title dead storyline felt rushed and unbelievable
Bajyohface21 January 2018
They tried to do too much and it didnt work, not believable enough like taken unknown run all night non stop. Neeson is playing an old man in the movie. We don't realise but hes actually quite old for an action hero. Its like they took good scenes from different movies and put it all together...Mixed it up...blended it...added liam neeson...overpromoted it and voila u got a dead movie. And im a neeson fan! Its got the same directors as non stop and run all night which were enjoyable movies. Although even in non stop, the last 20 minutes was rushed and solved too quickly and unbelievably. Sorry Liam. U r still the man but just not in this mpvie. I hate it when good actors do dry movies getting washed up in the process. Like Bruce willis
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Scrambled Mess
rioplaydrum24 January 2018
Fifteen minutes in and I had no idea what was going. Seriously.

Convoluted plot, impossible dialog, very cliché CGI effects.

Too many details and highly unlikely developments that over-pack a story which intends to impress and only achieves the opposite.

The 'Mystery Woman' really got on my nerves. Her disembodied ubiquitous presence pops in and out on smartphones through out the train ride just to let you know she sees and hears all every second of the day and night.

Right.

Shortest review I've ever written.

Pointless and unredeemable.
18 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Completely worthless
frenchpublichealth2 April 2018
This movie is garbage. I will not dignify it with a review, as it has no redeeming qualities. Wait, it has one - Neeson trashes Goldman Sachs, which I appreciated...
25 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Wow, this died fast
kuarinofu19 April 2018
The movie started off good, showing the daily routine, introducing the characters and setting up the mystery. The editing was interesting and even a little artsy, yet it got me hooked. I really enjoyed the first 30 minutes.

It was setting itself up to look like an intelligent mystery action. Having Neeson in this kind of movie spoils a lot, yet I thought this would be something different from his typical movies since he's getting older. I haven't seen the trailer though, just went to see the movie straight away.

After everything is set up, it just turns into a totally divorced from reality generic conspiracy action. The premise was indeed as silly as it gets. The ending was as unsurprising as possible. Omnipresent supervillains who can plan and predict everything by the smallest detail, control the situation without even being close yet fail at the most obvious things. The plot just plays itself, at times Neeson is not even doing anything to change the situation, it just changes by itself to adapt to his needs. This is not a well written movie. The ending had me saying "oh, no, you're not doing this...oh God".

Seeing Neeson perform ridiculous stunts was also a little confusing. No one should see an old man getting beaten like that. This just looks wrong.

Overall, next time I'll want to see a cop/witness drama routine, I'd better go re-watch 16 Blocks. At least it had characters instead of comic book villains.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Moving train
kosmasp24 March 2018
Well it could have been stopped and waiting at a station. But of course it is way more interesting this way. Not that it makes much sense or anything, but Action (Grand) Hero of the moment Liam Neeson is at it again. And he can carry this movie as he did with some of the other movies he did. If you don't mind the gaps (no pun intended), then you will have fun with this.

Still the end is way over the top and you may shut off any regards to reality or whatever. Other than that, this is also quite predictable and the "what would I do" some may have at the beginning, may go away pretty quickly. Coincidences and other stuff happen randomly, but due to the stunts and because it somehow works overall, this is quite entertaining
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Fun, but unspectacular
bankofmarquis19 January 2018
If it's January, then it must be time for another Liam Neeson action flick.

Enjoying a career renaissance as a tough guy action star, Neeson, again, teams with Director Jaume Collet-Sara to bring an above average action/adventure film that puts Neeson "on his own" against a group of bad guys. This time around, he's an ex-cop (of course) on a commuter train heading home. When a mysterious woman (Vera Farmiga) stops him and offers him $100,000 to identify a person on the train, Neeson must dust off all of his "particular" skills to identify the mystery person.

I won't spoil the rest of the plot for you (what there is of it) for there IS some fun and unexpectedness to it. What is also unexpected is the sparse amount of action there is in this action flick. We spend a long amount of time wandering up and down the aisle of the commuter train while Neeson tries to deduce who this mystery person is. This it too bad, for Director Collet-Sara has shown in other Neeson action flicks like UNKNOWN, RUN ALL NIGHT and my personal favorite NON-STOP, he can do action well. So when the action happens in this film, it is fun to watch, there just isn't enough of it, for my tastes.

The acting in these sorts of films is a secondary function, but everyone involved fill their roles professionally - starting with Neeson. He has this sort of tough guy action film star thing down by now and he does not disappoint here. You know what to expect from Neeson in these films - and he delivers exactly that. Joining in are such fun "oh that person" actors like Farmigia as the mysterious woman, Patrick Wilson as Neeson's ex-partner, Jonathan Banks as a fellow Commuter and Sam Neil as a Police Captain who might (or might not) be involved.

All things considered, this is a fun, if unspectacular, action flick. Enjoyable enough to pass the time. Certainly one that if you run across it while channel surfing on your couch you should check out. Or...if you are looking for a few hours of escape during these dark days of January, you are in capable, competent hands with Neeson and co.

THE COMMUTER is a "B" movie - and I'll knock it down a partial grade for not being "action-y" enough.

Letter Grade: B-

6 (out of 10) stars and you can take that to the Bank(OfMarquis)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews