The Commuter (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Add a Review
74 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
"Non Stop" on rails: thoroughly familiar yet thoroughly enjoyable
Paul Allaer12 January 2018
"The Commuter" (2018 release; 103 min.) brings the story of Michael McCauley. As the movie opens, we get to know Micheal as he goes about his daily routine of waking up at 6 am and getting ready to take the commuter train in Manhattan, where he works at an insurance company. Then one day, out of the blue, Michael is fired from his job, for no apparent reason and just as he needs the money to pay for his son's expensive college. Afterwards he commiserates with a buddy (and that's when we find out Michael used to be a NYC cop). On his commute train ride home, Michael gets approached by a mysterious woman who makes him an offer: identify the person who doesn't belong on the train, and get $100,000 in return. She tells him there is a $25,000 upfront payment in the bathroom. When Michael goes to check there, he can't believe it but yes, there's the money. He decides to take it. It's not long before strange things start to happen... At this point we're less than 15 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is, if I'm counting right, the 4th collaboration between Spanish director Jaume Collet-Serra and lead actor Liam Neeson, after "Unknown", "Non Stop", and "Run All Night". (Collet-Serra also directed the excellent shark-drama "The Shallows".) Just looking at these prior films, you know EXACTLY what you are signing up for if you decide to check out "The Commuter". In fact, this movie could be called "Non Stop on Rails". Just like that earlier movie playing out on the one air flight, much of "The Commuter" plays out on the one commuter train ride back to suburban NYC. If this sounds like like a negative, you might be wrong, as I was on the edge of my seat trying to figure out what the heck was going on (in the best possible way). One-time 'serious' actor Liam Neeson's transformation into one of the best and most reliable action movie stars is absolutely remarkable. He brings a certain weight and charisma into these roles that not a lot of action movie stars have. Keep an eye out for an all-too-rare sighting of Elizabeth McGovern (as Neeson'swife). Sam Neil has a small role as the Police Captain. Vera Farmiga is her usual great in the small role of the mysterious woman. But in the end, this is of course the Liam Neeson show all the way.

"The Commuter" opened wide this weekend. The Friday early evening screening where I saw this at was not attended very well, and surely the inclement weather here in Cincinnati was a large factor in that. I was in the mood for something to entertain me, and "The Commuter" was just what the doctor ordered: thoroughly familiar, yet thoroughly enjoyable too. If you are a fan of Liam Neeson's action movies, you cannot go wrong with this one. "The Commuter" is a WINNER.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Liam Neeson played by Liam Neeson. You've seen it before. But, it's still entertaining.
MickandRorty12 January 2018
There are certain actors in Hollywood that are so one-dimensional, but they play that one-dimension spot on. Liam Neeson is one of those guys. Another example is Jason Statham. Their roles are all the same, scripts slightly tweaked, yet the movie passes of as decent-to-good almost every time (except for the Taken sequels, but that isn't on Liam).

Bottom line is, it's basically the movie non-stop, but on a commute instead of a plane. Liam Neeson plasy his same old self and plays his usual one-dimensional badass role. He did his job once again. This movie will bring in okay-enough numbers, and we will be presented with Liam Neeson's next challenge in about another year.

Same old, decent-enough action movie.

6/10
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
great action movie
Beth DeMatteo14 January 2018
Like the movie, usually like anything he is in. It was fast paced and kept you thinking but it always annoys the **** out of me when the staff does not do their homework on a movie. I always love places where they show errors that are not picked up in scenes before the movie is finally printed. My gripe here was the ending where the standoff occurred in Beacon NY with NYPD police in charge. Did noone tell them that NYPD has no standing in that area? Where were the NY state troopers?? Just knitpicking I realize but that is someone's job..
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
You know the drill, but it still is a fun ride.
jdesando10 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
"You have no idea who you're up against." Typical dialogue from a typical thriller typically starring Liam Neeson.

If you think The Commuter is another cheesy Neeson thriller following the same weary plotline with his character saving the day, you'd be right. Yet, you'd be wrong if you didn't think this ersatz Hitchcockian thriller was a guilty pleasure because it is. In the spirit of Strangers on the Train and Speed, this whodunit travels at the speed of a runaway train and makes Murder on the Orient Express look like a sleeper car.

Mike McCauley (Neeson) gets drawn into a murder plot by femme fatale Joanna (Vera Farmiga) on a phallic train north out of Grand Central Station (North by Northwest anyone?) with a tight time frame, of course, and his family endangered if he doesn't help . He sells insurance and is ill-prepared for this dangerous ride.

The rest is boilerplate B movie thriller porn as it showcases a few bodies and many motives like a Golden Corral smorgasbord. As trite as it is, and you don't need to have seen Neeson's Taken or Non-Stop to figure what will happen, it moves like a, well, runaway train.

One fight sequence is a barn burner using everything available in the car from a guitar to an ax, seeming to compete with the memorable upstairs-downstairs fight sequence in Atomic Blonde. Both supposedly used one take, but that is arguable, yet even with heavy help from CGI, both seem seamless and get your blood speeding from your heart like, well, a high speed train.

Next time you think you'll enjoy the surprise company of a lovely blonde, get off at the next exit and take the bus. Or just enjoy this clichéd thriller that still manages to thrill.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fun movie, worth seeing on a big screen with big sound
Dan Phillips12 January 2018
Neeson creates a likable, sympathetic character. This is necessary for the heightening of tension, which screws on inexorably until you just don't see any way out for him.

The camera-work was particularly masterful - creative, meticulous, thought out to a granular level. There are two particular action-pieces towards the climax that are breathtaking, at least one of which looks like (but surely isn't) a single, extended take. The camera defines space and gravity, and is part of the expeience.

Yes, there are some credibility straining factors. But it is after all a movie, not a procedural. On the other hand, there are some very neat surprises.

Glad we saw it!
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Decent Thriller Derailed by Ridiculous Third Act
Fletcher Conner15 January 2018
The Commuter delivers what it promises, a Liam Neeson action movie that relies on tension and a little bit of mystery to fill out its runtime. It begins very well with minimal exposition for the set up, using images or short conversations to explain what most movies would carve out five minutes of dialogue for. From there it evolves more like a mystery with an ordinary man in an extraordinary situation searching for someone on the train. As it enters the third act, it goes full action movie with explosions, fight scenes, and massive stakes. While this was to be expected from Jaume Collet-Serra, it undermines what had been a more contained thriller up to that point.

It is shot well enough and uses an ensemble cast well, but no one besides Liam Neeson really has too much to do. Vera Farmiga and Jonathan Banks are both talented actors that are really underutilized. All in all, The Commuter is another Liam Neeson action movie that could be best described as "Nonstop on a train."
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Part Hitchcockian whodunnit and part white-knuckle thrills, 'The Commuter' overcomes what it lacks in logic with well-executed suspense and action
moviexclusive10 January 2018
Hard to believe that it has been 10 years since Liam Neeson became an unexpected action star with the lean, spare but brutally effective thriller 'Taken', and in the decade that's passed cemented his late renaissance with well-executed B-movie fare like 'The A-Team', 'The Grey', 'Unknown', 'Non-Stop' and 'Run All Night'. The last three were also notable for being collaborations with director Jaume Collet-Serra, and the now 65-year-old has extended their team-up with 'The Commuter', which sees Serra further lay claim to a modern-day Alfred Hitchcock with a couple of high-wire scenes that would certainly make the latter proud.

As with before, there is a high-concept scenario at the heart of this deliberately old-fashioned thriller: an everyday insurance salesman Michael McCauley (Neeson) finds his routine evening commute back home from work disrupted by the enigmatic stranger Joanna (Vera Farmiga), who sits opposite him on the Metro-North train and offers him a hefty financial reward if he is able to spot someone on the train who isn't a familiar face. In order for Michael to be tempted in the first place, first-time screenwriters Byron Willinger and Philip de Blasi set him up to lose his job on that same day, leaving him floundering over his two mortgages as well as tuition fees for his college-bound son - although because this is Neeson we're talking about, you know Michael will eventually do the right, honorable and even heroic thing.

To up the ante, Michael is only given slightly more than half an hour before the train reaches Cold Spring to find the individual he is told later on goes by the name of Prynne; and to raise the stakes, it turns out that Joanna has also held his wife and son hostage, both of whom she threatens to kill if Michael fails to complete his mission. True to his Hitchcockian ambition, Serra spins an intriguing web of mystery over most of the middle act, and there are at least three riveting questions that are teased. Who is Prynne? Who is Joanna and/or the people she is working with or for? And finally, what does Joanna want with Prynne? These in turn translate into solid character work for the proverbial strangers on the train whom Michael probes to locate his mark - among them a feisty college student (Florence Pugh), an arrogant Wall Street banker (Shazad Latif), an emotionally distraught nurse (Clara Lago), a tattooed bruiser (Roland Moller) and a taciturn teenager (Ella-Rae Smith).

Yet Serra is all too aware that a whodunnit in and of itself is unlikely to satiate a good proportion of his audience, who are here to watch Neeson engage in the sort of close-quarter fisticuffs a la 'Taken'. So in between playing detective, Michael also gets a couple of well-choregraphed brawls - one of them takes place in the confines between carriages, while another that is impressively done in a single take plays out over an entire carriage with everything from a gun, an ax, a guitar and seat cushions used as weapons. There is visibly concerted effort to keep these fight sequences real, so even though Neeson's character is revealed earlier on to be an ex-cop, the film doesn't (thankfully) use that as an excuse to gift him with "a very particular set of skills" to take down his opponents too easily, skilfully or neatly.

Like other locomotive-set thrillers, this one doesn't escape without the train in question going out of control and then literally off the rails. That it is well-staged is undeniable - not even some subpar CGI in some shots can detract from the sheer white-knuckle tension of seeing almost the whole train flip into the air - but this spectacle-fuelled conclusion arguably strains the credibility of the high-concept movie even further, and is therefore both better and worse off for it. Notwithstanding, Neeson remains through and through the film's emotional centre, conveying the frustration, helplessness and resolve of a regular guy who is trying to get his life back in control from those that have snatched it away from him. Lest we forget, this is a role that the thespian can easily do in his sleep, but Neeson still brings his considerable gravitas to bear.

Mind you, not all the gaps in the narrative will be filled in by the end (which seems to set up the possibility of a sequel) nor will some of the explanations pass muster under closer scrutiny. Still, a film like this isn't meant to be held up under such examination or intended to offer any more than solid B-movie guilty pleasures; on the latter count though, it does succeed brilliantly and beautifully by mixing classic Hitchcockian tension with adrenaline-pumping action. We dare say that it ranks among one of Neeson's best in his action oeuvre, and if you're in the mood for some pulpy thrills and suspense, then you'll definitely want to get on this train.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Strangers on a Train
rbrb11 January 2018
This is a decent action-thriller movie.

A long time train commuter is surprised by a stranger on a train with an enticing offer; after a bad day at the office the commuter is dragged into an ever spiraling dangerous ride.

There is danger, suspense and intrigue.

Ok so parts of the story may be far fetched but all the players give first rate convincing performances and aided by a distinct feel of realism during the train journey, these factors convinces me the movie deserves a solid:

7/10.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Get on the train for THIS movie!
melliemulch86715 January 2018
I'm not a gifted movie reviewer like many on here (LOL), but I can tell you that my husband and I really enjoyed this movie! It's fantastic! Plenty of action and twists and turns. Great acting job by the cast and fantastic directing. This movie had me on the edge of my seat and grabbing my husband's hand. If you like suspense/action movies then you'll love this movie!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Partly quite good and partly extremely bad...
EskeRahn10 January 2018
Basically a good plot, good acting, a good bit of suspense, action and good effects, so how can this go wrong?

Well parts of it is so ridiculous and stupid that it is hard to believe no one stopped it at the script level.. And parts are just 'over the top', sort of "OK we have paid for effects, so now give us a truck load full" - I was VERY close to leaving the theatre a couple of times....

And this is really sad, as it could have been a good action thriller, as the ideas were good.

I believe that cutting away the bad stuff that sums up to less than half an hour and replace a few minutes, and it could have been great in the genre!
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Nothing new from Neeson, in a good way (and a bad way).
liamhorsfall13 January 2018
If you've seen one Neeson film, you've probably seen them all. Despite having already mastered the art of playing the grizzled, independant tough-guy, Neeson is back with The Commuter, in which he plays an unsuspecting ... well ... commuter, who is drawn into a criminal conspiracy which could kill everyone on-board.

It's a familiar sounding plot, but it's one that Neeson excels in, in fact, he may be too good at it by now. With all that said, The Commuter, much like Taken, Taken 2, Taken 3, Non-Stop, A Walk Among the Tombstones, Run All Night and Schindlers List, is another fun Neeson film which you'll probably enjoy much more than you'd be willing to admit.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Better than expected
nahas-marwan-453-33890314 January 2018
The movies is a suspense thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Nothing very new or original, yet liam neeson sticks to his tried and tested formula which actually works. It's a fun movies don't over think it and you will enjoy.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Typical Liam Neeson movie!
allankaaber15 January 2018
Great action/suspense thriller with Liam Neeson. So if you like movies like Taken and Non-Stop, you should definitely watch this one. You Will be sitting on the edge of your seat, while trying to guess what is going on and who are the people on the train. Liam is badass as ALWAYS! I was surprised to see danish actor Roland Møller (under sandet) in this movie too.. He is onde of our best actors, and it's nice to see, that he has taken on the big screen in Hollywood. Roland Møller Plays Jackson in the movie. A very entertaining movie..
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
One Stop Ride
Thomas Drufke15 January 2018
I enjoy Liam Neeson action flicks as much as the next guy, but I also prefer say a Taken, The Grey, or Unknown over such films as Taken 2 or 3. In other words, it's as simple as saying I enjoy his action outings when they are a nice mix of fun thrills with serious overtones. To me, that's when he succeeds the most. The Commuter, which is supposedly his last action film, is a less than stellar film that revolves around another unbelievably silly (but plausible for a Neeson film) situation in which the 65 year old action star can flex his abilities.

The problem I had with The Commuter was that it lacks the fun that some of Neeson's previous outings had. In large part, it mirrors another train thriller from a few months ago, Murder on the Orient Express. The mystery has some interesting twists and turns, but there just isn't enough action pizazz to keep it from being forgettable within days. In fact, I saw the movie yesterday, and I'm having some trouble remembering certain plot elements.

There are some solid performances among some not so good ones. Neeson, Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Sam Neil, and Jonathan Banks do their best with a serviceable script to provide intriguing characters and plot developments that are nothing more than B-movie material. I guess that's probably the best way to describe this film, it's something that you could enjoy on a night home and scrolling through channel guide. But there's nothing nuanced or special about The Commuter. It's the prototypical January release.

5.2/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Another Frenetic Neeson Flick
3xHCCH11 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Michael McCauley is a 60-year old insurance salesman who was just laid off from his job. On his way home on the train (the same train he had been taking everyday going to work for the past ten years), a mysterious woman named Joanna (Vera Farmiga) offered him $100,000 if he could use his skills as an ex-NYPD cop to seek out a specific passenger with a bag and put a GPS device on him before gets off at the Cold Spring station. If McCauley failed at this task, his family will be killed.

With a synopsis like that, you can already imagine how tense and claustrophobic this action-thriller was going to be. The travel time from Grand Central Station in the heart of NYC to the Cold Spring station (a distance of 85 km) on the Metro North Railroad via the Hudson line is about an hour and 20 minutes only in real life.

I liked the opening montage showing the day-to-day domestic life of Michael McCauley, his wife Karen (Elizabeth McGovern) and son Danny (Dean-Charles Chapman) and his daily train ride into the city. I thought this sequence so eloquently conveyed their routine with the passage of time and seasons. I liked that Michael read the classic books Danny needed to read for school -- something I also do with my kids. Oftentimes, we pay no mind to the scenes with the opening credits, but this one certainly grabbed my attention from the start.

Despite the sheer impossibility of what was being asked of him, you know that Liam Neeson will do whatever it takes to save his family. Of course, his trademark invincibility and other super-human abilities will come in pretty handy, like they conveniently did in his previous action flicks. Honestly, he had to look for a needle in a veritable haystack in this one. No one can do that crazy task given the nebulous clues, extreme time limits and the hundreds of people on that train. But hey, he's Liam Neeson.

We suspend our disbelief as we go with the quick pacing of the action. No matter how contrived the situations may be, we are sucked into the flow of the story all the way to its slam-bang super-explosive climax. Tightly shot, bone-crunching fight scenes between McCauley and various suspects escalate the excitement along the way. Astute viewers may be able to guess how things are going to wind up at the end, but director Jaume Collet-Serra (who had directed Neeson twice before) knew exactly how to keep us hooked. 7/10.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A satisfactory thriller with a few distractions..........
kashidomar10 January 2018
The movie is quite a good movie and i really think movie lovers should go at it . It is a thrill spiced movie with many suspenses and hidden turns in the story . The movie flows around a commuter train and builds all the potential actions and dramas around it. Nice to see Liam Neeson in the central role . He has done extremely well and he has delivered these stuffs to us for many times. Actions are pretty new and mindblowing. Action lovers will like it certainly. The only draw back is the monotonous story but the pace of actions and suspenses has overcome it at last . So my opinion is 8/10.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Enjoyable ride
phd_travel11 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This thriller is different enough to be interesting. Set on a commuter train from Grand Central up the Hudson Valley, a man is given a mysterious task. I wasn't bored, didn't get too confused, and was into it till the satisfactory and satisfying ending. What more can you wan't from an action thriller with Liam Neeson?

Likeable supporting cast including the enigmatic looking Vera Farmiga as a mystery lady who gives him a task. And her often on screen co-star Patrick Wilson plays a cop who is an ex partner of Liam. Jonathan Banks of Better Call Saul and Breaking Bad has a small role as a fellow commuter.

There are a few faults. Although the story is understandable and does come together there are a few things about the conspiracy and the villains at the end I didn't get even though I was concentrating as much as ought to be required for entertainment. The twist is acceptable if a little implausible. In fact if these people are so all seeing and smart why don't they just do it themselves? But these kinds of movies aren't meant to be analysed or they would all fall apart.

Worth watching. A nice start to the year thriller wise.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Just for Laughs...
astleydavid19 January 2018
Has to be one of the most stupid movies I've seen in recent history. I gave it one star for the belly laughs, because it's just that stupid! It just got worse as the movie moved on, totally confusing plot, I was as confused as Liam Neeson was when he was given his 'instructions'. He had the shit beaten out of him so many times he would have looked good served up on a bun with all the fixins. I came out of the theatre shaking my head and feeling robbed of $8.50.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Liam Neeson Awesome as Always... but...
dantharpe16 January 2018
You are never disappointed with Liam Neeson... here's another great movie with an awesome storyline that keeps you on the edge. The most frustrating thing about this movie is the beginning. The editing at the beginning creates entirely too much confusion and very hard to follow making it most unenjoyable to the point you think you've wasted money on a movie ticket. However, once the poor editing settles down and the storyline begins to flow it grabs you and takes you on a "train" ride you will never forget!

For new viewers, at the beginning hang in there... it gets better!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
30% Taken, 30% Non-stop and 40% "16 Blocks"
sdharmav15 January 2018
Just another Liam Neeson movie. It's like watching Taken, non-stop and 16 blocks all together. There is nothing new in story.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Classic Neeson, passable entertainment
richardjehrenberg14 January 2018
Convoluted plot, nonsensical and illogical in ways.Loaded with technical faux pas. Would have been better if the writers or producer had resisted the temptation to inject a kiddie-oriented "disaster movie" type scene and not strayed from to the plot basics.

Final scene must have been an afterthought, it was terrible.I will skip the details to avoid spoiling. No explanation or real conclusion - 'nuf said.

If there's nothing else to watch....
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
VIEWS ON FILM review of The Commuter
viewsonfilm.com13 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It's January at the movie theaters and you know what that means. It means that it's Neeson time. Liam Neeson that is. He's the 65-year-old badass. He's the Buddha everyman. He's the AARP butt-kicker. He's well, the most reliable actor on the planet.

Neeson is perfectly cast in The Commuter despite the negative review I'm about to give it. He's an expert at playing the nice guy, retired cop whom the bad dudes choose to mess with. "Commuter" is also Liam's umpteenth showcase pic and his fourth collaboration with Spanish helmer, Jaume Collet-Serra. Neeson is Collet-Serra's unquieted muse and I liked their films Run All Night and Non-Stop. With The Commuter, they've unfortunately run into a misstep. This is an expendable, far-fetched redux that fumbles its way to a formidable "destination".

I will say this though. If you ride the Metra train to work (like my best friend does in Chi-Town), you might still think twice after getting a whiff of The Commuter's ransack, persecution complex.

"Commuter", which is distributed by the long running production company StudioCanal, is almost identical to Collet-Serra's 2014 vehicle, Non-Stop (mentioned in the last paragraph). The only difference is that The Commuter takes place on a fast-moving train as opposed to the nominal, friendly skies. In truth, you could call "Commuter" mindlessly Hitchcockian (as some critics have). For me, it could only be labeled Hitchcockian if it was channeled on the veritable Redbox tip.

Anyway, Jaume Collet-Serra is one of the most efficient, thriller directors out there. He knows how to produce beautiful, streamlined camerawork and his flicks are always tension-filled and twisty. With "Commuter" however, the execution is sloppy this time around. The obligatory tension is there but the editing and plausibility factor are hackwork at best. Also, "Commuter's" fistfight scenes are badly choreographed and its conclusion feels anti-climatic with the makings of a Hollywood cop out.

In retrospect, you should see The Commuter for Neeson alone but know that Oskar Schindler and Collet-Serra have had better days. "Commuter" thanklessly adds co-stars Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson. Sadly, their roles as villain and would-be villain (spoiler) are too vague to examine. Rating: 2 stars.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Spoilers
hummam19 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I would say that liam's acting is at it's best as usual but and here comes the spoilers! if these criminal minds that pushed liam to do what he did! can kill an FBI agent on board and an old man -that was on board- in the streets because thay know that liam wrote something of an SOS for him in the newspaper he was reading. How come they couldn't kill the 16 years old witness girl!! guess there would be no movie then :)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Derails off the tracks
Corey James19 January 2018
This review of The Commuter is spoiler free

*** (3/5)

LIAM NEESON COMES with baggage, that's inevitable after years of being caught in action thrillers that have both earned him a spotty track record but it's also given him a particular set of skills, these he can use to pull punches, kick a few people and even pull out a gun or two. Granted this may lead you to quote that infamous line from the first Taken - go ahead then, but it also means that he's never really boring even though some of his movies certainly are. Though his track record isn't all bad or all boring as he has, on occasion between franchises stepped over a few high peaks (The Grey, A Walk Among the Tombstones are worth the mention), but also in that time he's also stepped into a puddle of deep, deep mud (Battleship, Taken 2 and 3) and often it seemed that he would never really get away from that plot. So, yes this particular set of skills can get him out of some heavy sh*t, but sometimes that can be hard to get out of if indeed it's anything like Battleship. Still, he manages to stay entertaining and it's his many collaborations with director Jaume Collet-Serra that make him an entertaining asset to action. Firstly, Unknown (nobody knew him), next Non-Stop (he killed on a plane), and lastly in Run All Night (he saves his family from danger). However their fourth time as a duo The Commuter is indeed their best yet. Plot-wise it's like it is the sequel to Non-Stop, however his acting chops carry the film and he proves that he can play his way around some Hitchcockian twists. Here he has to chase a stranger on a train, in an effort to get information and the hitch is that he has to do it while on the train. Granted the plotting doesn't make much sense and the logic bomb detonates before the train leaves the station, but it's the dedication of Collet-Serra to work in small spaces and Neeson's will to raise the tension while finding this person. Also the murder mystery plotting sounds like an Agatha Christie adaptation, and sure in small doses it can be, though the train isn't as lavish as The Orient Express also the supporting players are nothing like that. Still what there is on offer for the supporters is another team-up with Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson except here they don't share any screen time together. In short, The Commuter isn't exactly a thoughtful thriller thanks to the workmanlike scripting but it is surprisingly entertaining and that is worth the watch.

VERDICT Neeson is thrilling to watch in this surprisingly enjoyable if a little forgettable crowd-pleaser that takes you on a thrill ride - in more than just one way.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Just a one way ticket please
Grumphy18 January 2018
The Commuter

Story is a bit. Well. What do you expect? It's a full on action flick. Though it has some redeeming moments, a few clever twists or turns can't save it from the banality that it promises (and delivers). To clarify, there are more not-quite-so-clever twists.

Acting is okay. Though as of late, Liam seems to be doing mostly more action oriented projects for some reason, he has skills that he's acquired over a decently long career and know how to use them. Even if he has to play roles as inane as principled ex cop with money troubles on a train. His co stars, or co passengers, pull something around their own weight. They play their parts as they are, they're not really playing characters, with little time (or need) for development. The jerk is a jerk, the teenage girl is a teenage girl, the random friend is a random friend etc.

Visually the film is laughable at times. It's not Scorpion King level bad, but the CGI is terrible. On the plus side, those moments add to fun. I guess. Also the camerawork tends to go overboard for no reason other than... I don't know. It looks cool? It might've if they wouldn't have mixed it with bad CGI. These sort of things tends to happen when you've got nothing to show. Fight screens are decent(ish).

Sound or music wise I'm trying to remember if there is anything to comment. I can't think of anything so I'm putting it on the plus side. Emotions and atmosphere seem written, not to say forced.

The director Jaume Collet-Serra was either offered a lot of money to do this or he is also very principled and does not negotiate with terrorists. He should, however, make an exception and try to negotiate with the producers, because this could've been a totally different kind of film. But everybody likes fireworks I guess. Even if they don't mean anything. Because they mostly don't. So you forget them soon after.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews